Skip to main content

Wooster Campus Virtual Library

undefined

 

undefined

 

 

These two websites give you access to library resources and support. 

1. The OSU Libraries library.osu.edu  

This site is the main library webpage where you can access all the resources available through the libraries:

  • library databases
  • books and e-books
  • online journals
  • and much much more

2. The Wooster Campus Research Library osu.libguides.com/oardclibrary 

This site is your local library page where you can find local and curated information:

  • lists of select databases and resources for CFAES researchers
  • information about local library services
  • help guides developed for our local researchers
  • information about upcoming local library workshops and events

undefined

 

 

For more information, visit your Wooster Campus Research Library webpage.

Research & Writing Consultations

Get in-depth customized research assistance with Gwen, or have Laura review your writing with you. Meet with us virtually via Zoom. 

Workshops and Webinars

Look for upcoming library sponsored workshops, webinars, and events. Past topics include using citation managers, conducting a literature review, improving your writing, and expanding literature searches beyond Google Scholar.

Library Facilities *Currently unavailable due to COVID-19 Shutdown*

  • 24/7 Access. Get 24/7 access with our library key fob system. Contact campus security.
  • Study Carrels. Need a quiet place to work? Reserve a carrel with Laura. 
  • Conference Room (1-8 people). Practice a presentation, study with a group, or hold a meeting. 
  • Computers & Copier/Printer. Our public workstations our loaded with software like Matlab, IBM SPSS, Minitab, SAS, SigmaPlot, ArcGIS, and Photoshop. Printing costs/page are as follows: $.04/B&W and $.15/color.

Got a Question? As us! Your local librarians are here to help.

undefined

 

 

Not sure how to get started? Check out our tutorials.

The video and text tutorials below will get you started finding and using OSU Libraries resources. Click on the tab you want to view. If you watch only one video "Get Started in 60 Seconds" is a great place to begin! 

1. Sign in from Off Campus. 

This tip will solve most off campus access issues for ebooks, databases, and ejournals.
VIDEO INSTRUCTIONS
TEXT INSTRUCTIONS
  1. Go to the OSU Libraries homepage
  2. If you're not on campus, click the "Off Campus" button to sign in.
  3. Enter your OSU credentials, name.# & password
  4. Your status will change to "On Campus." You can now access electronic resources like ebooks, databases, and journals purchased by OSU Libraries
  5. Troubleshooting off campus access http://guides.osu.edu/login-help
  6. For even faster access, add the OSU Off Campus Sign-in extension to your browser. You can click the extension, sign in with your credentials, and then search away. 

        

    You are not recognized as an OSU user and do not have access to resources. Click this button to sign in.

    You are recognized as an OSU user and have access to library resources

     

     

 

2. Find ebooks

Two ways to access OSU Libraries ebooks collections
VIDEO INSTRUCTIONS

TEXT INSTRUCTIONS

Two ways to access OSU Libraries eBooks collections

1. Search the Ohio State University Libraries Catalog

2. Browse OSU Libraries' eBook Collections


Method 1: Search the Ohio State University Libraries Catalog

1. Go to library.osu.edu 

2. Under the Books and More tab, enter search terms.

3. Limit your search results to E-books using the drop down menu. 


Method 2: Browse OSU Libraries' eBook Collections

1. Go to library.osu.edu

2. Under "Recommended Links" select Research Databases List

3. Using the "Databases arranged by subject" search option, select eBook Collections

3. Find Databases

VIDEO INSTRUCTIONS

TEXT INSTRUCTIONS
Always make sure you're signed in from off campus first (See tab 1) 

1. Go to library.osu.edu  

2. Under RECOMMENDED LINKS select Research Databases List 

3. Search by Title (Find a Database, e.g. "Scopus") or Browse by Subject (Databases arranged by subject, e.g. "Agriculture, Environmental Sciences, and Horticulture")

4. Find Journals

3 Ways to find journals (and articles)
VIDEO INSTRUCTIONS
TEXT INSTRUCTIONS
Always make sure you're signed in from off campus first (See tab 1) 

1. Check the Online Journals List
For journals available online to OSU patrons, this list will provides the titles, dates of coverage and links to the journal. You can access this from the OSU Libraries' homepage or click the link above. 

2. Check the catalog
Search the OSU Libraries catalog for the journal title. The catalog shows both print and electronic access. 

3. Request via ILLiad/Article Express   Use your ILLiad account to request articles for which OSU does not have e-access. If an article you need is across campus (in print) or across the country, we'll find it and get an e-copy to you -- free!

ILLiad Tip Auto fill your ILLiad request by using the "request this article from ILLiad" link in the Find it @ OSU page.  

COVID UPDATE:  ILLiad/Article Express services are currently limited due to COVID-19 restrictions, but they still may be able to fill your request. For more information visit the Article Express information page. 

5. Find OSU Dissertations

Need to find a thesis or dissertation? The text & video tutorials below can show you how to access OSU theses & dissertations through the following two sources:

1) The OSU Libraries' Catalog. Helpful for finding theses & dissertations in both print and digital form. It is the most comprehensive source for OSU theses & dissertations.

2) The OhioLINK Electronic Theses & Dissertation Center (ETD). Contains digital theses & dissertations from Ohio Universities (since 2000). One notable feature is that you can browse theses and dissertations by university and department. 

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES not discussed in-depth include ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, which contain theses & dissertations from across the US, Canada, and other foreign universities. Still can't find the thesis you want? Request a thesis or dissertation using OSU's ILLiad service or contact your local librarians. 


VIDEO INSTRUCTIONS

TEXT INSTRUCTIONS

1. Search the Ohio State University Libraries Catalog 

2. Search or Browse the OhioLINK ETD


Option 1. Search the Ohio State University Libraries Catalog

1. Go to library.osu.edu 

2. Under the Books and More tab, enter search terms. Searching by author or title will get you the most precise search results, but you can also search by keyword

undefined

 3. Search results can include both print & electronic versions. Click here for example. 

  • For print: Click into the record to request print copies for pickup at your local library (service currently not available due to COVID 19)
  • For electronic access: Click into record, and follow link to e-thesis

Note: Not all theses & dissertations will have both print & electronic copies available. For example, some older master's theses have not been digitized (yet). 

Too many search results?  Limit to ONLY theses & dissertations

At the top of your search results page, click on the "Limit/Sort" button.

On the following page under "Material Type," choose "OSU E-Thesis" and/or OSU Thesis (Print). Click the submit button on the bottom of the page to update results. Limited search is shown below.

undefined‚Äč

Option 2. Search or Browse the OhioLINK ETD 

1. Go to library.osu.edu

2. Under "Recommended Links" select Research Databases List

3. Type "OhioLINK" into the search field (Find a Database), and then from the search results click OhioLINK Electronic Theses & Dissertation Center

3. You can search the ETD by keyword, author, or title. However, you can also browse by institution & department (see below).

undefined

undefinedundefined

Trouble finding the PDF in the ETD? Within the thesis/dissertation's record, click the "View Available File(s) button at the top of the page, or scroll down to the bottom of the page. Select View or Download.
undefined                                        undefined
 

6. Find an Article

Searching for a specific article? Here are two easy approaches. 

1. Search WorldCat@OSU by Article Title (try this first!WorldCat searches everything (or almost everything). It's similar to Google Scholar, except it's easier to connect to OSU digital resources. Search Tip: For best results, always put your article title in "quotation marks." instructions. 

2. Find the article by searching the journal. Search OSU's Online Journals List for the journal which published your article. Within the journal, search for the article you want using citation information (author, title, year, volume, page number, etc). 

 

VIDEO INSTRUCTIONS
TEXT INSTRUCTIONS

1. Search WorldCat@OSU by Title

2. Find an article by searching OSU's online journals


Option 1: Search WorldCat@OSU by Title

Make sure to sign-in from off-campus (see tab1)

1. Go to library.osu.edu

2. Under the WorldCat@OSU tab, enter the "title" of your article. For best results, place quotation marks around the title.

undefined

3. Select your article from the list of results, and click 

4. If you do NOT see the "View full text: button, follow the Find It@OSU link 
5. If the article is not available, request it through Article Express/ILLiad

TROUBLESHOOTING: No search results in WorldCat@OSU?

When using quotation marks, the title (or portion of title) must be entered exactly. Try copy and pasting or reducing the amount of text in quotations.


Option 2: Find an article by searching OSU's online journals

Make sure to sign-in from off-campus (see tab1)

1. Go to library.osu.edu

2. Under "Recommended Links" select Online Journals List

3. Enter the journal's title or ISSN in the search field

undefined

4. Follow the links. Find your journal from the results list. Choose the link to follow based on the publication date of your article. 

undefined

5. Search the journal for your article using citation information (author, title, year, volume, page number, etc).

Note: Publishers and databases will have different layouts and formats but will all typically allow you to search by title, author, keyword as well as browse a publication by date and volume.

6. No electronic access? Request the article through Article Express/ILLiad.

7. Google Scholar

Find full text and browse better
VIDEO INSTRUCTIONS
TEXT INSTRUCTIONS
Connect to OSU Library Resources via Google Scholar

Always make sure you're signed in from off campus first (See tab 1)

  1. From the main Google Scholar screen click Settings.  
  2. Choose Library Links from the left hand navigation.
  3. Enter "Ohio State" in the search box
  4. Choose The Ohio State University Libraries - Find it @ OSU
  5. Save the settings (you must have cookies enabled)
  6. Follow these steps on every browser you use regularly

     

Search Faster with the Google Scholar Button

Google Scholar Button  Google Scholar Button

How? Highlight text and search Google Scholar directly from your browser.

More information. Visit Google Scholar settings.

8. Find Full Text

Tips for finding full text when browsing in databases
VIDEO INSTRUCTIONS
TEXT INSTRUCTIONS

Check that you are connected to OSU Library resources.
When you are in a database, look for the "Find it" @OSU link.  It can be a blue link  Find it @OSU  or an image   This link should connect you to full text access or offer alternative suggestions. If you don’t see the "find it" link, it is likely that you are not connected to OSU resources. To connect from off campus follow these instructions.

Check that OSU has electronic access to the journal and article you need.
The OSU online journal list is usually the best place to check.  For journals available online to OSU patron this list will provides the titles, dates of coverage and links to the journal.

Check the catalog
Search the OSU Libraries catalog for the journal title. The catalog shows both print and electronic access. 

Request via ILLiad/Article Express   Use your ILLiad account to request articles for which OSU does not have e-access. If an article you need is across campus (in print) or across the country, we'll find it and get an e-copy to you -- free!

ILLiad Tip Auto fill your ILLiad request by using the "request this article from ILLiad" link in the Find it @ OSU page.  

COVID UPDATE:  ILLiad/Article Express services are currently limited due to COVID-19 restrictions, but they still may be able to fill your request. For more information visit the Article Express information page.