Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Ohio State Newark: Archives for Research: Ohio State Archives

What are archives?

Archives are collections of primary and secondary sources held and maintained by various institutions for their current and potential value for researchers. Digital archives are collections of either scanned hard copies or materials that are "born digital" (produced and published in digital format). Archives can contain documents (such as newspapers, letters, journals, advertisements, etc.), objects, photographs, videos, and other types of materials. In general, archives contain material that is not accessible in other ways, meaning that the items they contain are unique, rare, or otherwise special.

The collections might be thematic (like an archive of women's suffrage materials), regional (specific to a geographical area), organization-based (such as the records of a company or institution), or person-based (the correspondence and documents of an individual).

Archival search requires time an patience to sift through the materials as you as the researcher are often the one crafting a story or making sense of the materials unlike scholarly research where arguments are being presented. 

Ohio State Publications

Ohio State University Libraries has digitized publications produced by the University. Click here for the collection.

  • The Lantern is the official Ohio State University student newspaper. The collection includes every issue from 1881 to 2018.
  • The Makio was a student yearbook, started in 1880 with inconsistent publication up through 2011
  • Our Choking Times was an African-American students' newspaper. It provided a forum for Black activism and creativity. The digital collection is incomplete, but includes issues from 1970 to 1997

A video tutorial for searching these collections from Dr. Ashleigh Hardin can be found here.

Contact Us:

Student sitting a table in the Warner Library.

John L & Christine Warner Library
Ohio State University
Newark Campus

newark.osu.edu/library

For help:
740-366-9307

Ask Us