It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This database offers full text including images for several African-American newspapers from the 20th century, together in a searchable interface. Coverage includes:
Atlanta Daily World
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
Los Angeles Sentinel
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
Norfolk Journal and Guide
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to black studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and reference books. It combines resources for research and teaching including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
African American Newspapers provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by or for African Americans are browseable and searchable.
Contains 340,000 pages of content from African newspapers published between 1835 and 1925. Titles from Algeria, Angola, Liberia, Madagascar, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, South Africa and Uganda offer deep and unique coverage of nearly a century of African history.