LibGuides: Rhodes Physical and Biological Sciences: Home

Contact Us

Hours

8am-5pm, Monday-Friday

Student Job Application

Rhodes State @ Lima Campus Library

There are many more resources available to help you excel on your research projects, and you can reach them from the Lima Campus Library website.

Resources

Below, you can access the Lima Campus Library Catalog, and the OhioLINK catalog to find titles available on library shelves. At the Lima Campus Library alone, you have 75,000 titles available to you. Through OhioLINK, you have 50 million! OhioLINK is a partnership of 90 Ohio college and university libraries, including the state library of Ohio, that work together to provide Ohio students, faculty, and researchers access to the information they need for their research, for free.

Listed below are databases that can lead you to articles from scholarly journals in the physical and biological science fields. If you want a refresher on using databases, please get in touch with us at the library.

If you are OFF CAMPUS be sure to use the off campus database link.

For a complete list of all of the OhioLINK databases, please click here.

arXiv This link opens in a new window
Open access to over 750,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology and statistics.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts and full text of articles on environmental studies.
covers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Complete contains citations for articles from 1,200 domestic and international journals, as well as 100 monographs. The database provides full text for many of the most used journals in the discipline, and for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
Environment Complete Off Campus Access This link opens in a new window
Off Campus Access
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts and full text of articles covering all aspects of human impact on the environment.
offers well-researched but accessible information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE is multidisciplinary by nature and draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
GreenFILE Off Campus Access This link opens in a new window
Off Campus Access

In addition to books and academic journal articles, you'll also be able to use some websites to find information. Below are links to a handful of websites that can help get you started, but there's a lot more out there!

In General

Science.gov

Anatomy and Physiology

Biology

Chemistry

A Cavalcade o' Chemistry
The American Chemistry Society
The Chemical Heritage Foundation
- Distillations - Free podcasts made by the Chemical Heritage Foundation
Periodic Table of Elements
How Does the Sodium - Potassium Pump work? - Socratic

Geology

Physics

Titles Available Through the Electronic Book Center:

OpenStax and other websites like it provide open textbooks for students to use online. These open educational resources (OERs) are completely free, and can be viewed by following the links below.

Chemistry - Paul Flowers, Klaus Theopold, and Richard Langley

Chemistry: Atoms First - Edward J. Neth, Paul Flowers, Klaus Theopold, and Richard Langley

General Chemistry

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and these resources are provided as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects.

APA Formatting and Style Guide - The Purdue OWL

MLA Formatting and Style Guide - The Purdue OWL

For more information, and other helpful links, please view the PDF document below.