LibGuides: Ohio State Newark: History 2630 History of Modern Sexualities: Journals & Databases

Recommended Databases

JSTOR [OSU] This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Gender Studies Database [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database, produced by NISC, combines NISC’s popular Women’s Studies International and Men's Studies databases
with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.
Historical Abstracts [OSU] This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database covering the world's scholarly literature in history,
including article abstracts and bibliographical citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1550 to the present.
Humanities International Complete [OSU] This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database which includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.
Academic Search Complete [OSU] This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

Finding Articles and Using the Databases

Databases provide you with access to a wide range of articles that can be used as resources for your paper. When searching in the database, keep in mind the terms listed below. They will assist you in navigating the databases and locating resources.

"Full Text": By selecting the full text box in a database, you are ensuring that the database will only retrieve articles that are available in their complete format. If you do not select the full text box, you will still receive results, but you may only receive the citations.

Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals: Articles that are submitted to a scholarly journal must first be evaluated by an editorial team for the journal. This team reviews the article in order to verify that the research is authentic. If you know that you must use scholarly journals for your assignment, you should select this box.

Abstract: An abstract is a short summary, detailing the main idea of a journal article. Searching within the abstracts of articles can assist you in locating information that is pertinent to your topic.