Skip to main content

COTC: Tutor Resources: Academic Search - In-Depth

Resources to assist tutors.

Using Academic Search

To reach Academic Search, start on the COTC Library website; next, select the link on the right hand side of the screen that reads: Research Databases List. 

Library website, link to Research Databases is highlighted

This will bring you to a list of OhioLINK databases.  Many of the databases on this list will have two links: one for on-campus access and another for off-campus access.  If you are working from off-campus, make sure you select the off-campus link.  

OhioLINK database list; Academic Search Complete Off-Campus Access is highlighted

Once you select the off-campus link, you will be brought to the OhioLINK sign-in screen.  Select Central Ohio Technical College from the list:

OhioLINK Institution Selection Form

After selecting the Submit button, you will enter your full name as it appears on your ID card, and your COTC ID number.  Remember to enter the letters CT before your ID number.  Exampke: CT1234567.  If you receive an error message, enter the letters CT, the number zero, and then your ID number.  Example: CT0123456.

OhioLINK Authentication form

Once inside Academic Search, select the Advanced Search option.  This will provide you with more search options.  

Academic Search Complete; advanced search link is highlighted

By using Advanced Search, you will have access to many more search options.  Selecting the "Full-Text" box will allow you to retrieve full and complete articles.  Selecting the "Peer-Reviewed" box will limit your results to those articles that have been published in scholarly journals.  You can also choose to search within the abstract of journal article.  The abstract is a short summary of a journal article; by searching within the abstract, you can limit your results to articles that deal directly with your topic.  Once you have entered your search terms, you can hit search.  

Advanced search page of Academic Search.  Full text and Scholarly/Peer-reviewed journal boxes are marked.

This will bring you to a list of results.  To see more information about an article, simply select the title.  

Results page

If you select the title of the article, you will be brought to a page with all of the citation information.  You can access the full text of the article from this page, and you can also have the database provide the citation information in the correct format by selecting the "Cite" link. 

Record for article. Link to full text article is highlighted