The Ohio State University at Marion: Educational Studies: Philosophy of Education 4403: Home
Hours
Librarian
Reference & Instruction Librarian
105F Library/Classroom Building
1469 Mt. Vernon Avenue
Marion, Ohio 43302
Resources
To find books, you can search the library catalogs below. The local catalog will let you see what is at the Marion Campus Library as well as other libraries in the University Libraries system and allow you to search for materials available statewide through the OhioLINK catalog and request materials from them to be delivered to the library for pick-up. You will need your BuckID card to check them out.
Enter your search term below to look for books available in the OSUL system. Marion books are indicated by the location of the material in the library (example: Marion Campus Library Stacks).
Many resources are also available as web e-books. These resources are indicated by the designation WEB E-Books.
********
Enter your search term here to use the OhioLink Catalog. Remember that if you request materials to be sent to a library, you must use your Student ID number. We suggest that you have them sent to the Marion Campus Library location. Contact the library if you have problems.
These series offer many different topic possibilities. Just click on a link to see book titles in the series. If a title has the location Marion Campus Library Stacks, it can be found in our library. Otherwise, you can request the title if it shows "available."
Series
Other helpful book links:
- Google Books Search the latest index of the world's books. Find millions of great books you can preview or read for free.
Listed below are some databases that are good starting points to find education-related articles. See the full list of University Libraries' database subscriptions here. Use the search box under Find a Database to find a particular database or select a subject area from the list on the right to locate a database. Access the list of Education databases below.
Open source journals can also be useful.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) DOAJ is an online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
In addition to books and articles, websites are another information source. Below are links to a handful of websites that your instructor has indicated useful/relevant.
General
Education-Related
- NAEYC The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) is a professional membership organization that works to promote high-quality early learning for all young children, birth through age 8, by connecting early childhood practice, policy, and research.
- AMLE The Association for Middle Level Education (AMLE) is the leading international organization advancing the education of all students ages 10 to 15, helping them succeed as learners and make positive contributions to their communities and to the world. AMLE is committed to helping middle grades educators
- American Federation of Teachers The American Federation of Teachers is a union of professionals that champions fairness; democracy; economic opportunity; and high-quality public education, healthcare and public services for our students, their families and our communities.
- Association of American Educators (AAE) The Association of American Educators (AAE) is the largest national, non-union, professional educators' organization, advancing the profession by offering a modern approach to teacher representation and educational advocacy, as well as promoting professionalism, collaboration and excellence without a partisan agenda.
- The Center for Education Reform It is the mission of the Center for Education Reform to accelerate the growth of the education reform movement in ways that make available to families new and meaningful choices, give parents fundamental power over their children’s education, and allow teachers and schools to innovate in ways that transform student learning.
- Magnet Schools of America Providing leadership for high quality innovative instructional programs that promote choice, equity, diversity, and academic excellence for all students.
- National Association for Year-Round Education The National Association for Year-Round Education promotes the concept of year-round education by providing leadership and service to individuals and organizations on all aspects of time and learning. As the chief repository research and literature related to best practice, it serves as a clearinghouse for information on year-round education (YRE) and the balanced school calendar. The association encourages research, produces publications, provides consultants to schools and districts, and provides the most up-to-date information available to educators and community members.
- National Board for Professional Teaching Standards The founding mission of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards is to advance the quality of teaching and learning by: Maintaining high and rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know and be able to do; Providing a national voluntary system certifying teachers who meet these standards; Advocating related education reforms to integrate National Board Certification in American education and to capitalize on the expertise of National Board Certified Teachers.
- National Center for Education Statistics The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
- National Commission on Teaching & America's Future The National Commission on Teaching & America’s Future (NCTAF) was founded in 1994 as a bipartisan effort to engage education policymakers and practitioners to address the entrenched national challenge of recruiting, developing, and retaining great teachers in order to ensure that all students have access to quality teaching in schools organized for success. For 20 years, NCTAF has worked to drive and inform the national dialogue about the importance of great teaching, especially in hard-to-staff schools. NCTAF’s research and recommendations inform innovations and improvements in teaching quality nationwide, focus attention on the importance of equitable distribution and retention of teachers, and promote promising practices for the development of teachers’ skills and career pathways.
- National Council of Teachers of Mathematics The National Council of Teachers of Mathematics is the public voice of mathematics education, supporting teachers to ensure equitable mathematics learning of the highest quality for all students through vision, leadership, professional development, and research.
- NEA: National Education Association The National Education Association (NEA), the nation's largest professional employee organization, is committed to advancing the cause of public education.
- National Educational Technology Standards for Students Developed by the International Society for Technology in Education
- Occupational Outlook Handbook This is a guide to career information about hundreds of occupations!
- Ohio Department of Education The Ohio Department of Education oversees the state’s public education system, which includes public school districts, joint vocational school districts and charter schools. The department also monitors educational service centers, other regional education providers, early learning and childcare programs, and private schools.
- Ohio Education Association OEA represents more than 121,000 teachers, faculty members and support professionals who work in Ohio's schools, colleges and universities to help improve public education and the lives of Ohio's children. OEA members provide a wide range of professional education services in communities throughout the state.
- TED TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less).
Useful Subjects
Education Resources
The Library has a nice collection of Children's Literature books that can be used to assist with Education assignments. There are two sources linked below for your use. One is Education Resources and the other is a Bibliotherapy list by topic.
Student Success 101
APA examples for in-text citation and resource citation
In-text example: APA in-text citation style uses the author's last name and the year of publication, for example: (Field, 2005). For direct quotations, include the page number as well, for example: (Field, 2005, p.14). For sources such as websites and e-books that have no page numbers, use a paragraph number.
APA 7th Edition: (References): Reichert, M.C. (2016). Unlocking Boys' Potential. Educational Leadership, 74(1), 22-26.
APA 7th Edition with doi: (References)
McLeskey, J., Landers, E., Williamson, P., & Hoppey, D. (2012). Are We Moving Toward Educating Students With Disabilities in Less Restrictive Settings? Journal of Special Education, 46(3), 131–140. https://doi.org/10.1177/0022466910376670
Tutorials and Help
- Interlibrary Loan System that allows you to request articles and other materials from non-OSU libraries