LibGuides: Ohio State Newark: English 4563 Contemporary Literature: Journals & Databases

Recommended Databases

MLA International Bibliography [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, books, dictionaries, dissertations, and conference papers on literature, languages, folklore and linguistics.
Includes critical writings on literature and human languages, including both naturallanguages and invented languages, e.g., Esperanto. Citations in a non-Roman alphabet are translated into the Roman alphabet.
Literature Criticism Online [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Essays on literary criticism, covers all literary genres from 1400 to the present.
The publisher was not able to obtain digital copyright for all entries; the phrase "text not viewable online" appears.
Literary Reference Center Plus [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Literary Reference Center Plus features all of the content in Literary Reference Center with additional full text resources.
This comprehensive database provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Content includes literary study guides, plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles of literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, author interviews, and images of key literary figures. Topics covered include plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, children's literature, and Hispanic literature, multi-cultural studies, folklore, Latin America literature, and historical literature. The database contains full text reference works and literary journals as well as Salem Press Contemporary Literature Titles relating to Fantasy/Science Fiction, Contemporary Literature, World Philosophy, Quotations In Context, Religious Literature, and Biographies of Nobel Literature Prize Winners
JSTOR [OSU] This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Humanities International Complete [OSU] This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database which includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.
Environment Complete [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Environment Complete contains all of the content available in Environment Index, as well as full text for 400 journals, including many of the most used journals
in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Environment Complete also provides full text for 80 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc. Further, the database offers full text for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.

OSU Citation Databases

Science Citation Index Expanded (ISI Citation Databases) [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) is a cross-searchable interface
for numerous Thompson Reuters databases including: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, BIOSIS Previews, Derwent Innovations Index, and Journal Citation Reports
Scopus [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track analyze and visualize research.
Tools to sort, refine and quickly identify results help researchers focus on the outcome of their work.

OSU Databases

The following links to an extensive list of research databases under the subject History:

Language and Literature

OSU Online Journals

The following links to an extensive list of online journals under the subject History:

Languages and Literature

Finding Articles and Using the Databases

Databases provide you with access to a wide range of articles that can be used as resources for your paper. When searching in the database, keep in mind the terms listed below. They will assist you in navigating the databases and locating resources.

"Full Text": By selecting the full text box in a database, you are ensuring that the database will only retrieve articles that are available in their complete format. If you do not select the full text box, you will still receive results, but you may only receive the citations.

Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals: Articles that are submitted to a scholarly journal must first be evaluated by an editorial team for the journal. This team reviews the article in order to verify that the research is authentic. If you know that you must use scholarly journals for your assignment, you should select this box.

Abstract: An abstract is a short summary, detailing the main idea of a journal article. Searching within the abstracts of articles can assist you in locating information that is pertinent to your topic.