Skip to main content

COTC: Periodicals & More: Recommended Databases

Use this guide to find journal articles, both full text and abstracts, as well as comprehensive databases and indexes for conducting research.

Research Databases

Research Databases are services provided by publishers and other vendors.  Some are periodical indexes which give citations to specific articles in magazines and professional journals and have links to the full text of articles.  Others are the online versions of print sources which give various sorts of information, from statistics to demographics to encyclopedic essays.  Still others are public sites on the Internet that we link to.  The Warner Library has access to many of them. The databases below will be useful in finding periodical articles for your research needs.

You can generate a complete list of the available subscriptions in a specific subject area from the COTC Databases page.

OhioLINK

COTC belongs to OhioLINK, the network of Ohio college, university, community and technical college libraries. Items that are unavailable through the Newark Campus Library can frequently be obtained from OhioLINK. Go to OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) for online journals.

Tip: When logging into OhioLINK, your University ID number must be preceded by CT. For example, CT1234567.

Need help with OhioLink? Check out the FAQ page.

Search OhioLINK Catalog:

 

Choosing a Database in OhioLink

E-books Available through OhioLink

E-Books

EBSCO eBook Collection (formerly NetLibrary) is a library of electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. Users can preview an e-book online, peruse a page, read each page in depth, jump to specific chapters or pages, or use links in the Table of Content or Index to go directly to specific chapters of interest. Every word in every book is searchable. NetLibrary operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time.

 

OhioLink Electronic Book Center (EBC) is an excellent resource for scholarly & reference books that are readable online. 

Contact Us:

John L & Christine Warner Library
Central Ohio Technical College
Newark Campus
Visit Us:
For reference help:
740-366-9308
740-366-9306
@ OSUNCOTCLibrary

Ask Us

We are online during library hours.

Search OSU Libraries

OSU Libraries Online Catalog: Use it to find records of library materials of any kind  in the OSU Libraries’ collections. Items that are available can be requested from other OSU locations and generally arrive within three to five days, but a search can also be defaulted to just what is on the shelf in Newark.

University Libraries

Or, narrow your search by using Find Journals through the OSU Libraries Catalog.