Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
AFAM AST 2251 Nyongesa
Things Fall Apart by "A true classic of world literature . . . A masterpiece that has inspired generations of writers in Nigeria, across Africa, and around the world." --Barack Obama "African literature is incomplete and unthinkable without the works of Chinua Achebe." --Toni Morrison Nominated as one of America's best-loved novels by PBS's The Great American Read Things Fall Apart is the first of three novels in Chinua Achebe's critically acclaimed African Trilogy. It is a classic narrative about Africa's cataclysmic encounter with Europe as it establishes a colonial presence on the continent. Told through the fictional experiences of Okonkwo, a wealthy and fearless Igbo warrior of Umuofia in the late 1800s, Things Fall Apart explores one man's futile resistance to the devaluing of his Igbo traditions by British political andreligious forces and his despair as his community capitulates to the powerful new order. With more than 20 million copies sold and translated into fifty-seven languages, Things Fall Apart provides one of the most illuminating and permanent monuments to African experience. Achebe does not only capture life in a pre-colonial African village, he conveys the tragedy of the loss of that world while broadening our understanding of our contemporary realities.
Publication Date: 1994-09-01
Weep Not Child by An extraordinary story about the effects of the Mau Mau war on the lives of ordinary men and women in Kenya.
Publication Date: 1964-01-01
Kaffir Boy by When first published 20 years ago, Kaffir Boy changed the way the West understood South Africa. As powerful today as when it was first written, Mathabane's remarkable story of life under apartheid is told with brutal honesty and gives the reader a rare glimpse, behind the protests and boycotts, of the daily fear and hunger which was so devastating to the soul. Often compared to Richard Wright's Black Boy, Kaffir Boy is a memoir of growing up in a world where poverty, hopelessness and desperation are constant companions.
Publication Date: 1998-10-07
AFAM AST 2281 Nyongesa
African American Literature by African-American Literature is a well-rounded collection of over eighty classic and contemporary readings. Overviews, biographical profiles, post-reading discussion, and writing questions make this a highly instructive anthology for a wide range of students.
Publication Date: 1997-07-01
The Prentice Hall Anthology of African-American Literature by Suitable for undergraduate and graduate African American Literature survey courses. Tracing African American literary and artistic contributions from the 1700s to the 1990s, this student- and instructor-friendly anthology presents a diverse collection that includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, speeches, songs, paintings and photography.
Publication Date: 1999-08-19
The Vintage Book of African American Poetry by In The Vintage Book of African American Poetry, editors Michael S. Harper and Anthony Walton present the definitive collection of black verse in the United States--200 years of vision, struggle, power, beauty, and triumph from 52 outstanding poets. From the neoclassical stylings of slave-born Phillis Wheatley to the wistful lyricism of Paul Lawrence Dunbar . . . the rigorous wisdom of Gwendolyn Brooks...the chiseled modernism of Robert Hayden...the extraordinary prosody of Sterling A. Brown...the breathtaking, expansive narratives of Rita Dove...the plaintive rhapsodies of an imprisoned Elderidge Knight . . . The postmodern artistry of Yusef Komunyaka.nbsp;nbsp;Here, too, is a landmark exploration of lesser-known artists whose efforts birthed the Harlem Renaissance and the Black Arts movements--and changed forever our national literature and the course of America itself. Meticulously researched, thoughtfully structured, The Vintage Book of African-American Poetry is a collection of inestimable value to students, educators, and all those interested in the ever-evolving tradition that is American poetry.
Publication Date: 2000-02-15
AFAM 3083 Nyongesa
Eyes on the Prize by The 30th-anniversary edition of Juan Williams's celebrated account of the tumultuous early years of the civil rights movement From the Montgomery bus boycott to the Little Rock Nine to the Selma-Montgomery march, thousands of ordinary people who participated in the American civil rights movement; their stories are told in Eyes on the Prize. From leaders such as Martin Luther King, Jr., to lesser-known figures such as Barbara Rose John and Jim Zwerg, each man and woman made the decision that somethinghad to be done to stop discrimination. These moving accounts and pictures of the first decade of the civil rights movement are a tribute to the people, black and white, who took part in the fight for justice and the struggle they endured.
Publication Date: 2013-09-03
Freedom on My Mind by Telling the African American story within the larger context of US history, Freedom on My Mind takes you through significant points in time from the slave trade to the present, encouraging you to carefully analyze source material. Achieve Read & Practice is now available in dedicated version for this title. Students get the complete accessible, mobile e-book combined with the acclaimed LearningCurve adaptive quizzing--all for just $30 net to the bookstore.Achieve Read & Practice can also be packaged with any bound version of these titles for the price of the book alone--no additional cost.
Publication Date: 2016-09-09
Freedom Summer by Discover what took place in Mississippi during the Freedom Summer of 1964. Through speeches, letters, reports, and activist training documents, Freedom Summer traces the story of a grassroots voter registration movement, challenging the Jim Crow system of segregation which wove its way through communities in Mississippi.
Publication Date: 2016-09-23
Window on Humanity: a Concise Introduction to General Anthropology by Written by a prominent scholar in the field, Conrad Phillip Kottak, this concise, student-friendly, current introduction to general anthropology carefully balances coverage of core topics and contemporary changes in the field. New to this edition, Connect Anthropology offers a variety of learning tools and activities to make learning more engaging for students and teaching more efficient for instructors. Window on Humanity is a perfect match for general anthropology courses that use readings or ethnographies along with a main text.
Publication Date: 2017-09-07
Our Origins by A leader in the field and an experienced teacher, Clark Larsen focuses not on encyclopedic details but on the "big picture," getting students to see and think like anthropologists. Larsen covers all the major aspects of physical anthropology, including genetics, primatology, and the fossil record. He also provides the strongest coverage of bioarchaeology on the market.
Publication Date: 2017-02-01
Laibon: an Anthropologist's Journey with Samburu Diviners in Kenya by Elliot Fratkin shares the story of his early anthropological fieldwork in Kenya in the 1970s. Using his fieldnotes and letters home to bring to life the voices of those he met, Fratkin invites the reader to experience his cross-cultural friendships with the enigmatic laibon (a diviner and healer of the Samburu and Maasai peoples) Lonyoki, his family, and the people of the nomadic community of Lukumai. Fratkin participated in the daily lives of the Ariaal livestock herders and accompanied the laibon as he performed divination and healing rituals throughout Marsabit and Samburu Districts. After Fratkin reunited Lonyoki with his son and wife, Lonyoki adopted Fratkin into his family, and Fratkin continues his close friendship with Lonyoki's son Lembalen today. Black-and-white photographs, a guide to the characters, words, and places, and a list of suggested readings supplement the engaging narrative. Laibon is more than a memoir; it delves into nitty-gritty details of fieldwork, speaks to larger questions about ethnographic research, and provides unparalleled insight into the world of the laibon.
Publication Date: 2011-09-29
Fresh Fruit, Broken Bodies by An intimate examination of the everyday lives and suffering of Mexican migrants and indigenous people in our contemporary food system. An anthropologist and MD in the mold of Paul Farmer and Didier Fassin, Seth Holmes shows how market forces, anti-immigrant sentiment, and racism undermine health and healthcare. Holmes's material is visceral and powerful. He trekked with his companions illegally through the desert into Arizona and was jailed with them before they were deported. He lived with indigenous families in the mountains of Oaxaca and in farm labor camps in the U.S., planted and harvested corn, picked strawberries, and accompanied sick workers to clinics and hospitals. This "embodied anthropology" deepens our theoretical understanding of how health equity is undermined by a normalization of migrant suffering, the natural endpoint of systemic dehumanization, exploitation, and oppression that clouds any sense of empathy for "invisible workers." Fresh Fruit, Broken Bodies is far more than an ethnography or supplementary labor studies text; Holmes tells the stories of food production workers from as close to the ground as possible, revealing often theoretically-discussed social inequalities as irreparable bodily damage done. This book substantiates the suffering of those facing the danger of crossing the border, threatened with deportation, or otherwise caught up in the structural violence of a system promising work but endangering or ignoring the human rights and health of its workers. All of the book award money and royalties from the sales of this book have been donated to farm worker unions, farm worker organizations and farm worker projects in consultation with farm workers who appear in the book.
Publication Date: 2013-05-25
My Freshman Year by After more than fifteen years of teaching, Rebekah Nathan, a professor of anthropology at a large state university, realized that she no longer understood the behavior and attitudes of her students. Fewer and fewer participated in class discussion, tackled the assigned reading, or came to discuss problems during office hours. And she realized from conversations with her colleagues that they, too, were perplexed: Why were students today so different and so hard to teach? Were they, in fact, more likely to cheat, ruder, and less motivated? Did they care at all about their education, besides their grades? Nathan decided to put her wealth of experience in overseas ethnographic fieldwork to use closer to home and apply to her own university. Accepted on the strength of her high school transcript, she took a sabbatical and enrolled as a freshman for the academic year. She immersed herself in student life, moving into the dorms and taking on a full course load. She ate in the student cafeteria, joined student clubs, and played regular pick-up games of volleyball and tag football (sports at which the athletic fifty-something-year-old could hold her own). Nathan had resolved that, if asked, she would not lie about her identity; she found that her classmates, if they were curious about why she was attending college at her age, never questioned her about her personal life. Based on her interviews and conversations with fellow classmates, her interactions with professors and with other university employees and offices, and her careful day-to-day observations, My Freshman Year provides a compelling account of college life that should be read by students, parents, professors, university administrators, and anyone else concerned about the state of higher education in America today. Placing her own experiences and those of her classmates into a broader context drawn from national surveys of college life, Nathan finds that today's students face new challenges to which academic institutions have not adapted. At the end of her freshman year, she has an affection and respect for students as a whole that she had previously reserved only for certain individuals. Being a student, she discovers, is hard work. But she also identifies fundamental misperceptions, misunderstandings, and mistakes on both sides of the educational divide that negatively affect the college experience. By focusing on the actual experiences of students, My Freshman Year offers a refreshing alternative to the frequently divisive debates surrounding the political, economic, and cultural significance of higher education--as well as a novel perspective from which to look at the achievements and difficulties confronting America's colleges and universities in the twenty-first century.
Publication Date: 2005-08-15
Conformity and Conflict by Demonstrate the nature of culture and its influence on people's lives. For over 40 years, the best-selling Conformity and Conflict has brought together original readings and cutting edge research alongside classic works as a powerful way to study human behavior and events. Its readings cover a broad range of theoretical perspectives and demonstrate basic anthropological concepts. The Fourteenth Edition incorporates successful articles from past editions and fresh ideas from the field to show fascinating perspectives on the human experience. Teaching and Learning Experience Personalize Learning - MyAnthroLab delivers proven results in helping students succeed, provides engaging experiences that personalize learning, and comes from a trusted partner with educational expertise and a deep commitment to helping students and instructors achieve their goals. Improve Critical Thinking - Articles, article introductions and review questions encourage students to examine their assumptions, discern hidden values, evaluate evidence, assess their conclusions, and more! Engage Students - Section parts, key terms, maps, a glossary and subject index all spark student interest and illustrate the reader's main points with examples and visuals from daily life. Support Instructors - Teaching your course just got easier! You can create a Customized Text or use our Instructor's Manual, Electronic "MyTest" Test Bank or PowerPoint Presentation Slides. Additionally, Conformity and Conflict's part introductions parallel the basic concepts taught in introductory courses - which allow the book to be used alone as a reader or in conjunction with a main text. Note: MyAnthroLab does not come automatically packaged with this text. To purchase MyAnthroLab, please visit www.MyAnthroLab.com or you can purchase a valuepack of the text + MyAnthroLab (at no additional cost): VP ISBN-10: 0205176011/ISBN-13: 9780205176014
Publication Date: 2011-07-01
Campbell Biology by Intended for non-majors or mixed biology courses. A conceptual framework for understanding the world of biology Campbell Biology: Concepts & Connections continues to introduce pedagogical innovations, which motivate students not only to learn, but also engage with biology. This bestselling textbook is designed to help students stay focused with its hallmark modular organization around central concepts and engages students in connections between concepts and the world outside of the classroom with Scientific Thinking, Evolution Connection and Connection essays in every chapter. The 9th Edition offers students a framework organized around fundamental biological themes and encourages them to analyze visual representations of data with new Visualizing the Data figures. A reorganized Chapter One emphasizes the process of science and scientific reasoning, and robust instructor resources and multimedia allow students to engage with biological concepts in a memorable way. Unparalleled resources let instructors develop active and high interest lectures with ease. The book and Mastering(tm) Biology work together to help students practice making these connections throughout their text. Also available with Mastering Biology or as an easy-to-use, standalone Pearson eText Mastering Biology is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment product designed to improve results by helping students quickly master concepts. Students benefit from self-paced activities that feature personalized wrong-answer feedback to emulate the office-hour experience and help keep students on track. With a wide range of interactive, engaging, and assignable activities, many of them created by the Campbell Biology: Concepts and Connections authors, students are encouraged to actively learn and retain tough course concepts. New Mastering Biology activities for this edition include "Key Topic Overview" videos that help students efficiently review key topics outside of class, "Evaluating Science in the Media" activities that help students to build science literacy skills, and more "Visualizing the Concept" animated videos help students further visualize and understand complex biological processes. Pearson eText allows educators to easily share their own notes with students so they see the connection between their reading and what they learn in class--motivating them to keep reading, and keep learning. Portable access lets students study on the go, even offline. And, reading analytics offer insight into how students use the eText, helping educators tailor their instruction. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; Mastering Biology and Pearson eText do not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with Mastering Biology or Pearson eText, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and Mastering Biology, search for: 0134240685 / 9780134240688 Campbell Biology: Concepts & Connections Plus Mastering Biology with eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0134536266 / 9780134536262 Mastering Biology with Pearson eText -- ValuePack Access Card -- for Campbell Biology: Concepts & Connections 013429601X / 9780134296012 Campbell Biology: Concepts & Connections If you would like to purchase the standalone Pearson eText, search for: 0135213827 / 9780135213827 Pearson eText Campbell Biology: Concepts & Connections -- Access Card OR 0135213843 / 9780135213841 Pearson eText Campbell Biology: Concepts & Connections -- Instant Access
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Human Biology by For courses in human biology Explore Human Biology in Relation to Current Issues, in the Text and Online Through his teaching, his textbook, and his online blog, award-winning teacher Michael D. Johnson sparks interest in human biology by connecting basic biology to real-world issues that are relevant to your life. Using a storytelling approach and extensive online support, Human Biology: Concepts and Current Issues, 8th Edition not only demystifies how the human body works but also drives you to become a better, more discerning consumer of health and science information. Each chapter opens with Johnson's popular "Current Issues" essays, and within each chapter, "BlogInFocus" references direct readers to his frequently-updated blog for breaking human biology-related news. Also available with Mastering Biology Mastering(tm) Biology is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment product proven to improve results by helping you to quickly master concepts. Benefit from opportunities to practice basic science literacy skills, using interactive resources that create engaging learning experiences. Effective activities in Mastering Biology help further visualize and understand complex biological processes. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with Mastering Biology, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. NOTE: You are purchasing a standalone product; Mastering Biology does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and Mastering Biology search for: 0134042239 / 9780134042237 Human Biology: Concepts and Current Issues Plus MasteringBiology with eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0134254902 / 9780134254906 Mastering Biology with Pearson eText -- ValuePack Access Card -- for Human Biology: Concepts and Current Issues 0134042433 / 9780134042435 Human Biology: Concepts and Current Issues Human Biology: Concepts and Current Issues, 8th Edition is also available via Pearson eText, a simple-to-use, mobile, personalized reading experience that lets instructors connect with and motivate students - right in their eTextbook. Learn more.
Publication Date: 2016-01-05
BIO 1113 & 1114
Biological Science by For introductory courses for biology majors. Uniquely engages biology students in active learning, scientific thinking, and skill development. Scott Freeman's Biological Science is beloved for its Socratic narrative style, its emphasis on experimental evidence, and its dedication to active learning. Science education research indicates that true mastery of content requires a move away from memorization towards active engagement with the material in a focused, personal way. Biological Science is designed to equip students with strategies to assess their level of understanding and identify the types of cognitive skills that need improvement. With the Sixth Edition, content has been streamlined with an emphasis on core concepts and core competencies from the Vision and Change in Undergraduate Biology Education report. The text's unique BioSkills section is now placed after Chapter 1 to help students develop key skills needed to become a scientist, new "Making Models" boxes guide learners in interpreting and creating models, and new "Put It all Together" case studies conclude each chapter and help students see connections between chapter content and current, real-world research questions. New, engaging content includes updated coverage of global climate change, advances in genetic editing, and recent insights into the evolution of land plants. Strong media Integration supports book features with MasteringBiology activities, Learning Catalytics(tm), and new whiteboard videos that guide students in completing "Making Models" assignments. Also available with MasteringBiology(tm) MasteringBiology from Pearson is the leading online homework, tutorial, and assessment system, designed to improve results by engaging students before, during, and after class with powerful content and activities. Instructors ensure students arrive ready to learn by assigning educationally effective content before class and encourage critical thinking and retention with in-class resources such as Learning Catalytics(tm). Students can further master concepts after class through traditional and adaptive homework assignments that provide hints and answer-specific feedback. The Mastering gradebook records scores for all automatically graded assignments in one place, while diagnostic tools give instructors access to rich data to assess student understanding and misconceptions. NOTE: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab(tm)& Mastering(tm) does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with MyLab & Mastering, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyLab & Mastering, search for: 0321993756 / 9780321993755 Biological Science Plus MasteringBiology with eText -- Access Card Package, 6/e Package consists of: 0134261992 / 9780134261997 MasteringBiology with Pearson eText -- ValuePack Access Card -- for Biological Science 0321976495 / 9780321976499 Biological Science
Publication Date: 2016-01-07
Biochemistry by For courses in biochemistry. Engage students in biochemistry visually and through real-world applications Biochemistry: Concepts and Connections engages students with a unique approach to visualization, synthesis of complex topics, and connections to the real world. The author team builds quantitative reasoning skills and provides students with a rich, chemical perspective on biological processes. The text emphasizes fundamental concepts and connections, showing how biochemistry relates to practical applications in medicine, agricultural sciences, environmental sciences, and forensics. The newly revised 2nd Edition integrates even more robust biochemistry-specific content in Mastering(tm) Chemistry, creating an interactive experience for today's students. New Threshold Concept Tutorials help students master the most challenging and critical ideas in biochemistry, while Interactive Case Studies connect course material to the real world by having students explore actual scientific data from primary literature. The 2nd Edition provides a seamlessly integrated learning experience via text, Mastering Chemistry, and an interactive Pearson eText. Also available with Mastering Chemistry Mastering(tm) is the teaching and learning platform that empowers you to reach every student. By combining trusted author content with digital tools developed to engage students and emulate the office-hour experience, Mastering personalizes learning and often improves results for each student. Students can further master concepts after class through traditional and adaptive homework assignments that provide hints and answer-specific feedback. The Mastering gradebook records scores for all automatically graded assignments in one place, while diagnostic tools give instructors access to rich data to assess student understanding and misconceptions. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; Mastering Chemistry does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with Mastering Chemistry , ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. 013480466X / 9780134804668 Biochemistry: Concepts and Connections Plus Mastering Chemistry with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0134641620 / 9780134641621 Biochemistry: Concepts and Connections 013474716X / 9780134747163 Mastering Chemistry with Pearson eText -- ValuePack Access Card -- for Biochemistry: Concepts and Connections
Publication Date: 2018-01-11
General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry by For courses in General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry (1 - Semester) An integrated and applied approach to General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry strengthens the evidenced strategy of integrating general, organic, and biological chemistry for a focused introduction to the fundamental connections between chemistry and life. The streamlined approach establishes a clear path through the content over a single semester. The text integrates essential topics more effectively than any text on the market, covering core concepts in each discipline in just 12 comprehensive chapters. With the 4th Edition, authors Laura Frost and Todd Deal apply their knowledge and experience in the science of learning to incorporate research and best practices based on how students learn. A stronger applied focus provides practical connections and applications, showing both allied-health and non-science majors how to use their understanding of chemistry in future health professions and in their everyday lives. Enhanced digital tools in Mastering Chemistry and embedded in the Pearson eText guide students through all stages of the course, providing support when and where students need it. Also available as a Pearson eText or packaged with Mastering Chemistry Pearson eText is a simple-to-use, mobile-optimized, personalized reading experience that can be adopted on its own as the main course material. It lets students highlight, take notes, and review key vocabulary all in one place, even when offline. Seamlessly integrated videos and other rich media engage students and give them access to the help they need, when they need it. Educators can easily customize the table of contents and share their own notes with students so they see the connection between their eText and what they learn in class -- motivating them to keep reading, and keep learning. Mastering(tm) combines trusted author content with digital tools developed to engage students and emulate the office-hour experience, Mastering personalizes learning and improves results for each student. The fully integrated and complete media package allows instructors to engage students before they come to class, hold them accountable for learning during class, and then confirm that learning after class. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; Mastering Chemistry does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with Mastering Chemistry, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and Mastering Chemistry, search for: 0134990803 / 9780134990804 General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry Plus Mastering Chemistry with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0134988698 / 9780134988696 General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry 0134990080 / 9780134990088 Mastering Chemistry with Pearson eText -- ValuePack Access Card -- for General, Organic, and Biological Chemistry
Publication Date: 2019-01-04
CS 1100 Oakes
The 9/11 Report by Approved by the original 9/11 Commission, this graphic adaptation distills the events of 9/11 and the Commission's findings into a text that is visually compelling and readable.
Publication Date: 2006-08-22
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by ANew York Times Bestseller * NamedA Best Book of the Year by the Los Angeles Times, Washington Post Book World, Chicago Tribune, St. Louis Post-Dispatch,andRocky Mountain News Nine-year-old Oskar Schell has embarked on an urgent, secret mission that will take him through the five boroughs of New York. His goal is to find the lock that matches a mysterious key that belonged to his father who died in the World Trade Center on the morning of September 11. This seemingly impossible task will bring Oskar into contact with survivors of all sorts of an exhilarating, affecting, often hilarious, and ultimately healing journey.
Publication Date: 2005-04-04
Fireboat by * "A hundred years from now, when people want to know what we told our children about 9/11, Kalman's book should be among the first answers."--Booklist, starred review * "Intelligently conveys those unfathomable events in a way that a picture book audience can comprehend. . . . With this inspiring book, Kalman sensitively handles a difficult subject in an age-appropriate manner."--Publishers Weekly, starred review * "Fireboat does many things. It sets forth an adventure, helps commemorate an anniversary, offers an interesting bit of history, celebrates the underdog, and honors the fire-fighting profession. Children and adults will respond to it in as many ways."--School Library Journal, starred review * "Exciting, uplifting, and child-sensitive. . . . Revisits the tragedy without the terror and conveys pride without preachiness."--The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books, starred review * "Quintessential New York artist Kalman gives us an idiosyncratic but informative look at a Big Apple institution. . . . Kalman's use of the events of September 11 is honest and honorable, and rarely is she as straightforward as she is here."--The Horn Book, starred review This is the inspiring true story of the John J. Harvey--a retired New York City fireboat reinstated on September 11, 2001. Originally launched in 1931, the Harvey was the most powerful fireboat of her time. After the September 11 attacks, with fire hydrants at Ground Zero inoperable and the Hudson River's water supply critical to fighting the blaze, the fire department called on the Harvey for help. There were adjustments--forcing water into hoses by jamming soda bottles and wood into nozzles with a sledgehammer--and then the fireboat's volunteer crew pumped much-needed water to the disaster site. The John J. Harvey proved she was still one of New York's Bravest! Maira Kalman brings a New York City icon to life, celebrating the energy, vitality and hope of a place and its people.
Publication Date: 2002-08-05
Nine, Ten: a September 11 Story by From the critically acclaimed author of Anything But Typical comes a touching look at the days leading up to the tragic events of September 11, 2001, and how that day impacted the lives of four middle schoolers. Ask anyone: September 11, 2001, was serene and lovely, a perfect day--until a plane struck the World Trade Center. But right now it is a few days earlier, and four kids in different parts of the country are going about their lives. Sergio, who lives in Brooklyn, is struggling to come to terms with the absentee father he hates and the grandmother he loves. Will's father is gone, too, killed in a car accident that has left the family reeling. Naheed has never before felt uncomfortable about being Muslim, but at her new school she's getting funny looks because of the head scarf she wears. Aimee is starting a new school in a new city and missing her mom, who has to fly to New York on business. These four don't know one another, but their lives are about to intersect in ways they never could have imagined. Award-winning author Nora Raleigh Baskin weaves together their stories into an unforgettable novel about that seemingly perfect September day--the day our world changed forever.
Publication Date: 2016-06-28
The Submission by Entertainment Weekly's Favorite Novel of 2011 Esquire's 2011 Book of the Year A New York Times Notable Book for 2011 A Washington Post Notable Fiction Book for 2011 One of NPR's 10 Best Novels of 2011 Ten years after 9/11, a dazzling, kaleidoscopic novel reimagines its aftermath A jury gathers in Manhattan to select a memorial for the victims of a devastating terrorist attack. Their fraught deliberations complete, the jurors open the envelope containing the anonymous winner's name--and discover he is an American Muslim. Instantly they are cast into roiling debate about the claims of grief, the ambiguities of art, and the meaning of Islam. Their conflicted response is only a preamble to the country's. The memorial's designer is an enigmatic, ambitious architect named Mohammad Khan. His fiercest defender on the jury is its sole widow, the self-possessed and mediagenic Claire Burwell. But when the news of his selection leaks to the press, she finds herself under pressure from outraged family members and in collision with hungry journalists, wary activists, opportunistic politicians, fellow jurors, and Khan himself--as unknowable as he is gifted. In the fight for both advantage and their ideals, all will bring the emotional weight of their own histories to bear on the urgent question of how to remember, and understand, a national tragedy. In this deeply humane novel, the breadth of Amy Waldman's cast of characters is matched by her startling ability to conjure their perspectives. A striking portrait of a fractured city striving to make itself whole, The Submission is a piercing and resonant novel by an important new talent.
Publication Date: 2011-08-16
They Say / I Say by "They Say / I Say" identifies the key rhetorical moves in academic writing, showing students how to frame their arguments in the larger context of what others have said and providing templates to help them make those moves. And, because these moves are central across all disciplines, the book includes chapters on writing in the sciences, writing in the social sciences, and--new to this edition--writing about literature.
Publication Date: 2016-10-27
A Writer's Reference with Exercises by Our best-selling classic tabbed handbook is available in a version that conveniently includes nearly one hundred integrated exercise sets for plenty of practice with the grammar, style, punctuation, and mechanics topics offered in the handbook. The answers to some items appear in the back of the book.
Publication Date: 2014-10-03
The Stories They Tell by This poignant selection of artifacts--and their stories--from September 11 provides an official, lasting record of that day's experience. In both text and photography, the story of September 11 is told through a selection of powerfully moving artifacts from the 9/11 museum's collection that serve as touchstones to the day and its aftermath. From crushed FDNY trucks to the steel that was pierced as planes struck the Twin Towers, from victims' property pulled from the wreckage and returned to families (who later donated the property to the museum) to spontaneous memorials collected from around Ground Zero, the array of objects tell complex and often surprising stories. Poignant artifacts as monumental as the Vesey Street staircase--which offered an escape for thousands fleeing the towers--and as intimate as a loved one's wedding band or last recorded phone message are selected to illuminate people's experiences during and after September 11, 2001, and February 26, 1993. The mission of the National September 11 Memorial & Museum is to bear solemn witness to the terrorist attacks against the World Trade Center. The museum honors the nearly 3,000 victims of these attacks and all those who risked their lives to save others. It further recognizes the thousands who survived and all who demonstrated extraordinary compassion in the aftermath.
Publication Date: 2013-09-10
ENGLISH 1109 Tibbals
The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio by The most learner-centered and assessment-driven text available With its engaging writing style and comprehensive coverage of key research, Psychology: An Exploration, 2/e, awakens students' curiosity and energizes their desire to learn more. This brief version draws readers into an ongoing dialogue about psychology, allowing them to fully grasp the subject. The authors establish clear learning objectives tied to the most recent APA-recommended undergraduate learning outcomes. MyPsychLab is an integral part of the Ciccarelli / White program. Engaging activities plus assessments provide a teaching and learning system that helps students master psychological concepts more readily. With MyPsychLab, students can watch videos on research and applications, participate in virtual classic experiments, and develop critical thinking skills through writing. This title is available in a variety of formats - digital and print. Pearson offers its titles on the devices students love through Pearson's MyLab products, CourseSmart, Amazon, and more.
Publication Date: 2005-08-30
English 1110 Dully
The Road by NATIONAL BESTSELLER * WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE * A searing, post-apocalyptic novel about a father and son's fight to survive, this "tale of survival and the miracle of goodness only adds to McCarthy's stature as a living master. It's gripping, frightening and, ultimately, beautiful" (San Francisco Chronicle). A father and his son walk alone through burned America. Nothing moves in the ravaged landscape save the ash on the wind. It is cold enough to crack stones, and when the snow falls it is gray. The sky is dark. Their destination is the coast, although they don't know what, if anything, awaits them there. They have nothing; just a pistol to defend themselves against the lawless bands that stalk the road, the clothes they are wearing, a cart of scavenged food--and each other. The Road is the profoundly moving story of a journey. It boldly imagines a future in which no hope remains, but in which the father and his son, "each the other's world entire," are sustained by love. Awesome in the totality of its vision, it is an unflinching meditation on the worst and the best that we are capable of: ultimate destructiveness, desperate tenacity, and the tenderness that keeps two people alive in the face of total devastation.
Publication Date: 2007-03-28
The Handmaid's Tale by #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * An instant classic and eerily prescient cultural phenomenon, from "the patron saint of feminist dystopian fiction" (The New York Times). Now an award-winning Hulu series starring Elizabeth Moss. Look for The Testaments, the bestselling, award-winning the sequel to The Handmaid's Tale In Margaret Atwood's dystopian future, environmental disasters and declining birthrates have led to a Second American Civil War. The result is the rise of the Republic of Gilead, a totalitarian regime that enforces rigid social roles and enslaves the few remaining fertile women. Offred is one of these, a Handmaid bound to produce children for one of Gilead's commanders. Deprived of her husband, her child, her freedom, and even her own name, Offred clings to her memories and her will to survive. At once a scathing satire, an ominous warning, and a tour de force of narrative suspense, The Handmaid's Tale is a modern classic. Includes an introduction by Margaret Atwood
Publication Date: 1998-03-16
English 2275 Dully
Bright Lights, Big City by With the publication of Bright Lights, Big City in 1984, Jay McInerney became a literary sensation, heralded as the voice of a generation. The novel follows a young man, living in Manhattan as if he owned it, through nightclubs, fashion shows, editorial offices, and loft parties as he attempts to outstrip mortality and the recurring approach of dawn. With nothing but goodwill, controlled substances, and wit to sustain him in this anti-quest, he runs until he reaches his reckoning point, where he is forced to acknowledge loss and, possibly, to rediscover his better instincts. This remarkable novel of youth and New York remains one of the most beloved, imitated, and iconic novels in America.
Publication Date: 1984-08-12
Drinking: a Love Story by Fifteen million Americans a year are plagued with alcoholism. Five million of them are women. Many of them, like Caroline Knapp, started in their early teens and began to use alcohol as "liquid armor," a way to protect themselves against the difficult realities of life. In this extraordinarily candid and revealing memoir, Knapp offers important insights not only about alcoholism, but about life itself and how we learn to cope with it. It was love at first sight. The beads of moisture on a chilled bottle. The way the glasses clinked and the conversation flowed. Then it became obsession. The way she hid her bottles behind her lover's refrigerator. The way she slipped from the dinner table to the bathroom, from work to the bar. And then, like so many love stories, it fell apart. Drinking is Caroline Kapp's harrowing chronicle of her twenty-year love affair with alcohol. Caroline had her first drink at fourteen. She drank through her yeras at an Ivy League college, and through an award-winning career as an editor and columnist. Publicly she was a dutiful daughter, a sophisticated professional. Privately she was drinking herself into oblivion. This startlingly honest memoir lays bare the secrecy, family myths, and destructive relationships that go hand in hand with drinking. And it is, above all, a love story for our times--full of passion and heartbreak, betrayal and desire--a triumph over the pain and deception that mark an alcoholic life. Praise for Drinking "Quietly moving . . . Caroline Knapp dazzles us with her heady description of alcohol's allure and its devastating hold."--Los Angeles Times Book Review "Filled with hard-won wisdom . . . [a] perceptive and revealing book."--San Francisco Chronicle "Eloquent . . . a remarkable exercise in self-discovery."--The New York Times "Drinking not only describes triumph; it is one."--Newsweek
Publication Date: 1997-05-12
Edgar Huntly or, Memoirs of a Sleep-Walker by One of the first American Gothic novels, Edgar Huntly (1787) mirrors the social and political temperaments of the postrevolutionary United States. For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700 titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust the series to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-date translations by award-winning translators.
Publication Date: 1988-01-05
ENGLISH 2367.01 Oakes
Catching Stories by In neighborhoods, schools, community centers, and workplaces, people are using oral history to capture and collect the kinds of stories that the history books and the media tend to overlook: stories of personal struggle and hope, of war and peace, of family and friends, of beliefs, traditions, and values--the stories of our lives. Catching Stories: A Practical Guide to Oral History is a clear and comprehensive introduction for those with little or no experience in planning or undertaking oral history projects. Opening with the key question, "Why do oral history?" the guide outlines the stages of a project from idea to final product--planning and research, the interviewing process, basic technical principles, and audio and video recording techniques. The guide covers interview transcribing, ethical and legal issues, archiving, funding sources, and sharing oral history with audiences. Intended for teachers, students, librarians, local historians, and volunteers as well as individuals, Catching Stories is the place to start for anyone who wants to document the memories and collect the stories of community or family.
Publication Date: 2009-05-04
ENGLISH 2367.01 Tibbals
The American Dream by At a time when we are once again talking and thinking about the meaning of America, bestselling author and award-winning journalist Dan Rather provides a powerful look at Americans who struggle to achieve their desires and ambitions. With the stories of ordinary men and women accomplishing the extraordinary, Rather demonstrates how the American dream brings us together and guides us, as it has for more than 200 years. For some, the American dream is simply to own a home or rise out of poverty. Some wish to serve God, country, or community. There are those who want to learn to read or run their own business. Still others simply wish to exercise fundamental American rights: to openly practice their religion and to speak what is in their minds and hearts. Stirring and provocative, The American Dream illustrates that the basic American desire for "life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness" is alive and well. It also confirms what our founding fathers always believed: that we are a country of visionaries, in ways big and small.
Publication Date: 2002-05-07
Nana by Born to drunken parents in the slums of Paris, Nana lives in squalor until she is discovered at the The tre des Varietes. She soon rises from the streets to set the city alight as the most famous high-class prostitute of her day. Rich men, Comtes and Marquises fall at her feet, great ladies try to emulate her appearance, lovers even kill themselves for her. Nana's hedonistic appetite for luxury and decadent pleasures knows no bounds - until, eventually, it consumes her. Nana provoked outrage on its publication in 1880, with its heroine damned as 'the most crude and bestial sort of whore', yes the language of the novel makes Nana almost a mythical figure- a destructive force preying on a corrupt society.
Publication Date: 1972-09-30
Awakening by The text is that of the first edition of the novel, published by Herbert S. Stone in 1899. It has been annotated by the editor and includes translations of French phrases and information about New Orleans locales, customs, and lore, the Bayou region, and Creole culture. "Bibliographical and Historical Contexts", expanded and introduced by a new Editor's Note, presents biographical, historical, and cultural documents contemporary with the novel's publication. Included are a biographical essay by the acclaimed Chopin biographer Emily Toth, "An Etiquette/Advice Book Sampler" with selections from the conduct books of the period in which Chopin lived and wrote, and period fashion plates from Harper's Bazar. A comprehensive "Criticism" section, introduced by a new Editor's Note, contains expanded selections from hard-to-find contemporary reviews of the novel; two letters of mysterious origin written in response to the novel; and Chopin's "Retraction," which followed The Awakening's negative reception. These are followed by twenty-seven interpretive essays, twelve of them new to the Second Edition, that provide a variety of perspectives on The Awakening, including essays by Cynthia Griffin Wolff, Nancy Walker, Elizabeth Fox-Genovese, Paula A. Treichler, Sandra M. Gilbert, Lee R. Edwards, Patricia S. Yaeger, Elizabeth Ammons, and Elaine Showalter. A Chronology of Chopin's life and an updated Selected Bibliography are also included.
Publication Date: 1993-09-17
Art History Vol 1 by For survey courses in Art History Welcoming, inclusive, engaging, and global Art History brings the history of art to life for a new generation of students. It is global in scope, inclusive in its coverage, and warm and welcoming in tone. The guiding vision of Art History is that the teaching of art history survey courses should be filled with equal delight, enjoyment, and serious learning, while fostering an enthusiastic and educated public for the visual arts. The Sixth Edition has been revised to reflect new discoveries, recent research, and fresh interpretive perspectives, as well as to address the changing needs of both students and educators. Art History, Sixth Edition is also available via Revel(tm), an interactive learning environment that enables students to read, practice, and study in one continuous experience.
Publication Date: 2017-01-08
Africa and the West: a Documentary History by Africa and the West presents a fascinating array of primary sources to engage readers in the history of Africa's long and troubled relationship with the West. Many of the sources have not previously appeared in print, or in books readily available to students. Volume 2 picks up on the theme ofconquest and covers the implementation of colonial rule, education, labor, nationalist movements, the world wars, decolonization, and independence. These documents include a German school examination for African children, the Natives Land Act from South Africa, a report on the impact of colonialismon women from the founder of the Women's League of the African National Congress, and Nelson Mandela's presidential address "No Easy Walk to Freedom."
Publication Date: 2010-02-02
A History of Modern Africa by Updated and revised to emphasise long-term perspectives on current issues facing the continent, the new 2nd Edition of A History of Modern Africa recounts the full breadth of Africa's political, economic, and social history over the past two centuries. Adopts a long-term approach to current issues, stressing the importance of nineteenth-century and deeper indigenous dynamics in explaining Africa's later twentieth-century challenges Places a greater focus on African agency, especially during the colonial encounter Includes more in-depth coverage of non-Anglophone Africa Offers expanded coverage of the post-colonial era to take account of recent developments, including the conflict in Darfur and the political unrest of 2011 in Egypt, Tunisia, and Libya
Publication Date: 2012-01-17
A Vietnam War Reader by An essential new resource for students and teachers of the Vietnam War, this concise collection of primary sources opens a valuable window on an extraordinarily complex conflict. The materials gathered here, from both the American and Vietnamese sides, remind readers that the conflict touched the lives of many people in a wide range of social and political situations and spanned a good deal more time than the decade of direct U.S. combat. Indeed, the U.S. war was but one phase in a string of conflicts that varied significantly in character and geography. Michael Hunt brings together the views of the conflict's disparate players--from Communist leaders, Vietnamese peasants, Saigon loyalists, and North Vietnamese soldiers to U.S. policymakers, soldiers, and critics of the war. By allowing the participants to speak, this volume encourages readers to formulate their own historically grounded understanding of a still controversial struggle.
Publication Date: 2010-02-15
Beginning Algebra by Intended for developmental math courses in beginning algebra, this text retains the hallmark features that have made the Aufmann texts market leaders: an interactive approach in an objective-based framework: a clear writing style, and an emphasis on problem-solving strategies. The acclaimed Aufmann Interactive Method, allows students to try a skill as it is introduced with matched-pair examples, offering students immediate feedback, reinforcing the concept, identifying problem areas, and, overall, promoting student success.
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
MATH 1130 & 1131
Introductory Mathematical Analysis for Business, Economics, and the Life and Social Sciences by Haeussler, Paul, and Wood establish a strong algebraic foundation that sets this text apart from other applied mathematics texts, paving the way for readers to solve real-world problems that use calculus. Emphasis on developing algebraic skills is extended to the exercises--including both drill problems and applications. The authors work through examples and explanations with a blend of rigor and accessibility. In addition, they have refined the flow, transitions, organization, and portioning of the content over many editions to optimize learning for readers. The table of contents covers a wide range of topics efficiently, enabling readers to gain a diverse understanding.
Publication Date: 2010-01-03
Math 1135 & 1136
Mathematics for Elementary Teachers with Activities by An inquiry-based approach to this course allows future teachers to learn through exploration and group work, leading to a deeper understanding of mathematics. Known for her contributions in math education, Sybilla Beckmann writes the leading text for this approach. In Mathematics for Elementary Teachers with Activities, students engage, explore, discuss, and ultimately reach a true understanding of mathematics. The Fourth Edition provides a new full-color design, making the math come alive. For the first time, the content and activities are combined into the same text, creating a self-contained resource for this course and beyond. Common Core State Standards are integrated to complement the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) Focal Points and Standards that appear where appropriate. New From the Field features highlight the latest research, Integrating Mathematics and Pedagogy (IMAP) videos (available separately), children's literature, views from the classroom, and lesson planning to prepare future teachers for their teaching careers.
Publication Date: 2012-12-21
Parent-Child Relations by NOTE: Used books, rentals, and purchases made outside of Pearson If purchasing or renting from companies other than Pearson, the access codes for the Enhanced Pearson eText may not be included, may be incorrect, or may be previously redeemed. Check with the seller before completing your purchase. This package includes the Enhanced Pearson eText and the print bound version. This life-span approach to parent-child relations gives students a comprehensive, contemporary look at theories, research, and techniques within historical and cultural contexts. It covers every stage of development, including older parents and their adult children, and uses an inclusive approach that looks at a variety of different family contexts, such as foster families, military families, and families with an LGBTQ member, as well as the influence of culture and ethnicity on family beliefs and behaviors. The first chapter focuses on the history of theoretical and research influences of childrearing to help students understand why parents today hold certain beliefs regarding how to raise children. Theory and research are then interwoven through the book. An early chapter on strategies and techniques also sets the stage for upcoming discussions of parent-child relations. Written with the student in mind, the book presents numerous examples. Critical thinking questions in every chapter encourage students to stop and consider their views regarding the material, and Spotlight features throughout provide examples of the influence of technology, diversity, and poverty on families. The Enhanced Pearson eText version includes embedded video examples and Test Your Knowledge quizzes with feedback that enable students to check their understanding of the material. Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad® and Android® tablet.* Affordable. Experience the advantages of the Enhanced Pearson eText along with all the benefits of print for 40% to 50% less than a print bound book. *The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later. 0134290054 / 9780134290058 Parent-Child Relations: Context, Research, and Application, 3/e Package consists of: 0134520068 / 9780134520063 Parent-Child Relations: Context, Research, and Application, 3/e, Enhanced Pearson eText -- Access Card 0134461142 / 9780134461144 Parent-Child Relations: Context, Research, and Application, 3/e, Print Bound Version
Publication Date: 2017-01-10
SOCIOLOGY 1101 Klochko
Society: the basics by Seeing Sociology in your Everyday Life Macionis empowers students to understand the world around them through a sociological lens, so they can better understand sociology and their own lives. Society: The Basics, 12th edition is written to help students find and use sociology in everyday life. With a complete theoretical framework and a global perspective, Society: The Basics offers students an accessible and relevant introduction to sociology. The new edition continues to grow to meet readers' changing needs. With a newly integrated pedagogical framework, readers are guided through both the text - and optional new MySocLab - to build their critical thinking skills while learning the fundamentals of sociology. Teaching and Learning Experience This program will provide a better teaching and learning experience - for you and your students. Here's how: Personalize Learning - The new MySocLab delivers proven results in helping students succeed, provides engaging experiences that personalize learning, and comes from a trusted partner with educational expertise and a deep commitment to helping students and instructors achieve their goals. Improve Critical Thinking -Six new learning objectives per chapter help readers build critical thinking and study skills. Engage Students - New design, everyday life and pop culture examples make sociology relevant for students today. Explore Theory -Three main theoretical perspectives are discussed in every chapter. Understand Diversity - Contemporary research informed by expert reviewers and cutting edge data sources reflect a broad range of race / class / gender. Support Instructors - Author written activities and assessment in MySocLab, the test bank and instructor's manual help provide support for instructors. Note: MySocLab does not come automatically packaged with this text. To purchase MySocLab, please visit: www.mysoclab.com or you can purchase a valuepack of the text + MySocLab (at no additional cost).
Publication Date: 2012-05-29
STAT 1450.01 Ozturk, O.
The Basic Practice of Statistics by Now available with Macmillan's new online learning tool Achieve, the ninth edition of The Basic Practice of Statistics 9e teaches statistical thinking by guiding students through an investigative process of problem-solving with pedagogy designed to help students of all levels. Examples and exercises from a wide variety of topic areas use current, real data to provide students insight into how and why statistics are used to make decisions in the real world. Achieve for The Basic Practice of Statistics connects the trusted Four-Step problem-solving approach and real world examples in the book to rich digital resources that foster further understanding and application of statistics. Assets in Achieve support learning before, during, and after class for students, while providing instructors with class performance analytics in an easy-to-use interface.
Publication Date: 2021-01-29
Swahili by Jewelry designer and heiress Ruby Seaborn will do anything to save her family's company from financial ruin. And she meansanything. Including proposing a strictly business marriage to diamond-mine magnate Jax Maroney--the only man able to restore the Seaborn jewelry empire to its former glory! She needs his moy&money; he needs her socialite credentials--it's a win-win solution. And if they indulge in certain...fringe benefits of their marriage along the way, that's fine. Because luckily Ruby's heart is as unbreakable as the precious gems she works with...isn't it?
Publication Date: 2000-08-01
Swahili Practical Dictionary by This bestselling bilingual Swahili dictionary is the also most comprehensive available, with over 35,000 entries that cover the modern vocabulary of politics, telecommunications, the Internet, tourism, business and travel. Swahili is the most widely spoken African language and the lingua franca of Eastern Africa, including Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, and eastern Congo (Zaire). Intended for both speakers of English or Swahili, the guide also includes appendices of English irregular verbs, Swahili noun classes and useful phrases and vocabulary.
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
Essential Interviewing by Interviewing is one of the most important skills that you'll use in your career. This proven text gives you the tools you need to conduct successful interviews with diverse clients in a variety of professional settings, including social work, counseling, nursing, personnel work, and human services. With an emphasis on the three major stages of interviewing: exploration, clarification, and action, ESSENTIAL INTERVIEWING offers the same programmed-learning model of interviewing that has successfully trained countless members of the helping professions for nearly 30 years. The text makes interview skills clear and specific -- and exposes you to a variety of client situations and cultures. Each chapter highlights an ethical situation you may confront in your future career, further grounding you in current standards of professional practice.
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
An Introduction to Group Work Practice by Note: This is the bound book only and does not include access to the Enhanced Pearson eText. To order the Enhanced Pearson eText packaged with a bound book, use ISBN 0134290143. Widely used by professionals, educators, and students in undergraduate and graduate courses in schools of social work throughout the United States and the world, this text presents a comprehensive, coherent, organized overview of group work practice from a generalist practice perspective. The new Eighth Edition continues to include typologies illustrating group work practice with task and treatment groups at the micro-, meso-, and macro-levels. Thoroughly updated throughout, the new edition of An Introduction to Group Work Practice includes research on virtual groups, updated and deeper content on practice with treatment and task groups, the most current literature on working with reluctant and resistant group members, updated and expanded sections on working with individuals who have difficulty engaging in and sustaining work in groups, updated material on leadership and diversity, and thoroughly updated reference material and new content from evidence-based practice sources. The Enhanced Pearson eText features embedded assessments. Improve mastery and retention with the Enhanced Pearson eText* The Enhanced Pearson eText provides a rich, interactive learning environment designed to improve student mastery of content. The Enhanced Pearson eText is: Engaging. The new interactive, multimedia learning features were developed by the authors and other subject-matter experts to deepen and enrich the learning experience. Convenient. Enjoy instant online access from your computer or download the Pearson eText App to read on or offline on your iPad® and Android® tablet.* Affordable. The Enhanced Pearson eText may be purchased stand-alone for 50-60% less than a print bound book. *The Enhanced eText features are only available in the Pearson eText format. They are not available in third-party eTexts or downloads. *The Pearson eText App is available on Google Play and in the App Store. It requires Android OS 3.1-4, a 7" or 10" tablet, or iPad iOS 5.0 or later.
Publication Date: 2016-03-04
The Wisdom of Whores by When people ask Elizabeth Pisani what she does for a living, she says, "sex and drugs." As an epidemiologist researching AIDS, she's been involved with international efforts to halt the disease for fourteen years. With swashbuckling wit and fierce honesty, she dishes on herself and her colleagues as they try to prod reluctant governments to fund HIV prevention for the people who need it most--drug injectors, gay men, sex workers, and johns.Pisani chats with flamboyant Indonesian transsexuals about their boob jobs and watches Chinese streetwalkers turn away clients because their SUVs aren't nice enough. With verve and clarity, she shows the general reader how her profession really works; how easy it is to draw wrong conclusions from "objective" data; and, shockingly, how much money is spent so very badly. "Exhibit A": the 45 billion taxpayer dollars the Bush administration is committing to international AIDS programs.
Publication Date: 2008-06-17
Gendered Voices, Feminist Visions by Gendered Voices, Feminist Visions: Classic and Contemporary Readings, Seventh Edition, is a balanced collection of classic, conceptual, and experiential selections. Accessible and student-friendly, the readings reflect the great diversity of women's experiences. Framework essays providecontext and connections for students, while features like learning activities, ideas for activism, and questions for discussion provide a strong pedagogical structure for the readings.
Publication Date: 2019-07-05