Ohio State Lima BIO1114 Beres Sp25: Home
Contact the Library
Tina Schneider
Professor/Library Director
567-242-7214
schneider.290@osu.edu
Zach Walton
Reference & Instruction Librarian
567-242-7235
walton.485@osu.edu
Jessica Page
EEOB Librarian, Columbus Campus
614-292-8026
page.84@osu.edu
Lima Campus Library Online Hours
Monday: 8 AM - 5 PM
Tuesday: 8 AM - 5 PM
Wednesday: 8 AM - 5 PM
Thursday: 8 AM - 5 PM
Friday: 8 AM - 5 PM
Saturday/Sunday: Closed
Call or e-mail the library
lima-library@osu.edu
567-242-7330
OSU @ Lima Campus Library
There are many more resources available to help you excel on your research projects, and you can reach them from the Lima Campus Library website.
Resources
To find books, you are going to use the library's catalog, below.
The Lima Campus Library (and a great many academic libraries) is organized by a system known as 'Library of Congress'. That means that books or grouped together by subject rather than author, letting you know where you can go to browse and potentially find some interesting books on the topic.
If you want help finding a book in the library, just print out the page from the catalog and bring it to the library. We're here to help!
Listed below are databases that can lead you to articles from scholarly journals in the field of Biology and other related fields. If you want a refresher on using databases, please get in touch with us at the library.
For a complete list of all of OSU's databases, please click here.
- Academic Search Complete [OSU] This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
- BioOne [OSU] This link opens in a new windowA unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals.
- BIOSIS Previews [OSU] This link opens in a new windowContains references to journal articles, reports, literature reviews, conference papers, patents, and book synopses in the life sciences
- Credo Reference [OSU] This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference is an online reference library that provides access to over 500 highly-regarded, scholarly reference books for all subject areas.
- Science Online (from Facts on File) [OSU] This link opens in a new windowDatabase containing thousands of diagrams, definitions, biographies, essays, and experiments
- Web of Science [OSU] This link opens in a new windowIndexes almost 6,000 core journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities
In addition to books and academic journal articles, you'll also be able to use some websites to find information. Below are links to a handful of websites that can help get you started, but there's a lot more out there!
- Science.govScience.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2,200 scientific websites to provide users with access to more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information including research and development results.
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife ServiceThe U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service is the premier government agency dedicated to the conservation, protection, and enhancement of fish, wildlife and plants, and their habitats.
So what is a peer-reviewed article? Peer-review is a process in which articles written by experts in a field of study are reviewed and critiqued by experts in that field before they are published. This process usually assures any reader of the quality of research. Below are the differences between peer-reviewed articles, and articles that are not peer-reviewed:
Articles that ARE Peer-Reviewed:
- Typically longer than 3 pages
- Written by an expert researcher or researchers
- Contain a list of references
- Use complex language (i.e. methodology)
- Are usually more of interest to other experts than to the general public
Articles that ARE NOT Peer-Reviewed:
- News articles (i.e. Associated Press, Reuters)
- Magazine articles (i.e. People, Time)
- Trade or Professional publications (focusing more on working in a field than research)
There are some great tips and tools that you can use to make sure you’re getting peer-reviewed results:
- Use the “Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed” limiter in a database
- Examine the publishing journal’s official website
- Ulrichsweb, a database with information about periodicals indicates if an item is peer-reviewed
- Never used Ulrichsweb before? Here's a Video Tutorial to show you how to use it!
- When in doubt, ask a librarian or your instructor
Below are links to CSE guides that can help you learn more about this citation style. Please note that some courses, such as EEOB 4220, will require a slightly different citation style. Be sure to follow the guidelines for your specific course.