Things Fall Apart by
"A true classic of world literature . . . A masterpiece that has inspired generations of writers in Nigeria, across Africa, and around the world." --Barack Obama "African literature is incomplete and unthinkable without the works of Chinua Achebe." --Toni Morrison Nominated as one of America's best-loved novels by PBS's The Great American Read Things Fall Apart is the first of three novels in Chinua Achebe's critically acclaimed African Trilogy. It is a classic narrative about Africa's cataclysmic encounter with Europe as it establishes a colonial presence on the continent. Told through the fictional experiences of Okonkwo, a wealthy and fearless Igbo warrior of Umuofia in the late 1800s, Things Fall Apart explores one man's futile resistance to the devaluing of his Igbo traditions by British political andreligious forces and his despair as his community capitulates to the powerful new order. With more than 20 million copies sold and translated into fifty-seven languages, Things Fall Apart provides one of the most illuminating and permanent monuments to African experience. Achebe does not only capture life in a pre-colonial African village, he conveys the tragedy of the loss of that world while broadening our understanding of our contemporary realities.
Weep Not Child by
An extraordinary story about the effects of the Mau Mau war on the lives of ordinary men and women in Kenya.
Kaffir Boy by
When first published 20 years ago, Kaffir Boy changed the way the West understood South Africa. As powerful today as when it was first written, Mathabane's remarkable story of life under apartheid is told with brutal honesty and gives the reader a rare glimpse, behind the protests and boycotts, of the daily fear and hunger which was so devastating to the soul. Often compared to Richard Wright's Black Boy, Kaffir Boy is a memoir of growing up in a world where poverty, hopelessness and desperation are constant companions.
Our Origins by
A leader in the field and an experienced teacher, Clark Larsen focuses not on encyclopedic details but on the "big picture," getting students to see and think like anthropologists. Larsen covers all the major aspects of physical anthropology, including genetics, primatology, and the fossil record. He also provides the strongest coverage of bioarchaeology on the market.
Ebook: Laibon: an Anthropologist's Journey with Samburu Diviners in Kenya by
Elliot Fratkin shares the story of his early anthropological fieldwork in Kenya in the 1970s. Using his fieldnotes and letters home to bring to life the voices of those he met, Fratkin invites the reader to experience his cross-cultural friendships with the enigmatic laibon (a diviner and healer of the Samburu and Maasai peoples) Lonyoki, his family, and the people of the nomadic community of Lukumai. Fratkin participated in the daily lives of the Ariaal livestock herders and accompanied the laibon as he performed divination and healing rituals throughout Marsabit and Samburu Districts. After Fratkin reunited Lonyoki with his son and wife, Lonyoki adopted Fratkin into his family, and Fratkin continues his close friendship with Lonyoki's son Lembalen today. Black-and-white photographs, a guide to the characters, words, and places, and a list of suggested readings supplement the engaging narrative. Laibon is more than a memoir; it delves into nitty-gritty details of fieldwork, speaks to larger questions about ethnographic research, and provides unparalleled insight into the world of the laibon.
Ebook: Fresh Fruit, Broken Bodies by
An intimate examination of the everyday lives and suffering of Mexican migrants and indigenous people in our contemporary food system. An anthropologist and MD in the mold of Paul Farmer and Didier Fassin, Seth Holmes shows how market forces, anti-immigrant sentiment, and racism undermine health and healthcare. Holmes's material is visceral and powerful. He trekked with his companions illegally through the desert into Arizona and was jailed with them before they were deported. He lived with indigenous families in the mountains of Oaxaca and in farm labor camps in the U.S., planted and harvested corn, picked strawberries, and accompanied sick workers to clinics and hospitals. This "embodied anthropology" deepens our theoretical understanding of how health equity is undermined by a normalization of migrant suffering, the natural endpoint of systemic dehumanization, exploitation, and oppression that clouds any sense of empathy for "invisible workers." Fresh Fruit, Broken Bodies is far more than an ethnography or supplementary labor studies text; Holmes tells the stories of food production workers from as close to the ground as possible, revealing often theoretically-discussed social inequalities as irreparable bodily damage done. This book substantiates the suffering of those facing the danger of crossing the border, threatened with deportation, or otherwise caught up in the structural violence of a system promising work but endangering or ignoring the human rights and health of its workers. All of the book award money and royalties from the sales of this book have been donated to farm worker unions, farm worker organizations and farm worker projects in consultation with farm workers who appear in the book.
My Freshman Year by
After more than fifteen years of teaching, Rebekah Nathan, a professor of anthropology at a large state university, realized that she no longer understood the behavior and attitudes of her students. Fewer and fewer participated in class discussion, tackled the assigned reading, or came to discuss problems during office hours. And she realized from conversations with her colleagues that they, too, were perplexed: Why were students today so different and so hard to teach? Were they, in fact, more likely to cheat, ruder, and less motivated? Did they care at all about their education, besides their grades? Nathan decided to put her wealth of experience in overseas ethnographic fieldwork to use closer to home and apply to her own university. Accepted on the strength of her high school transcript, she took a sabbatical and enrolled as a freshman for the academic year. She immersed herself in student life, moving into the dorms and taking on a full course load. She ate in the student cafeteria, joined student clubs, and played regular pick-up games of volleyball and tag football (sports at which the athletic fifty-something-year-old could hold her own). Nathan had resolved that, if asked, she would not lie about her identity; she found that her classmates, if they were curious about why she was attending college at her age, never questioned her about her personal life. Based on her interviews and conversations with fellow classmates, her interactions with professors and with other university employees and offices, and her careful day-to-day observations, My Freshman Year provides a compelling account of college life that should be read by students, parents, professors, university administrators, and anyone else concerned about the state of higher education in America today. Placing her own experiences and those of her classmates into a broader context drawn from national surveys of college life, Nathan finds that today's students face new challenges to which academic institutions have not adapted. At the end of her freshman year, she has an affection and respect for students as a whole that she had previously reserved only for certain individuals. Being a student, she discovers, is hard work. But she also identifies fundamental misperceptions, misunderstandings, and mistakes on both sides of the educational divide that negatively affect the college experience. By focusing on the actual experiences of students, My Freshman Year offers a refreshing alternative to the frequently divisive debates surrounding the political, economic, and cultural significance of higher education--as well as a novel perspective from which to look at the achievements and difficulties confronting America's colleges and universities in the twenty-first century.
Conformity and Conflict by
Demonstrate the nature of culture and its influence on people's lives. For over 40 years, the best-selling Conformity and Conflict has brought together original readings and cutting edge research alongside classic works as a powerful way to study human behavior and events. Its readings cover a broad range of theoretical perspectives and demonstrate basic anthropological concepts. The Fourteenth Edition incorporates successful articles from past editions and fresh ideas from the field to show fascinating perspectives on the human experience. Teaching and Learning Experience Personalize Learning - MyAnthroLab delivers proven results in helping students succeed, provides engaging experiences that personalize learning, and comes from a trusted partner with educational expertise and a deep commitment to helping students and instructors achieve their goals. Improve Critical Thinking - Articles, article introductions and review questions encourage students to examine their assumptions, discern hidden values, evaluate evidence, assess their conclusions, and more! Engage Students - Section parts, key terms, maps, a glossary and subject index all spark student interest and illustrate the reader's main points with examples and visuals from daily life. Support Instructors - Teaching your course just got easier! You can create a Customized Text or use our Instructor's Manual, Electronic "MyTest" Test Bank or PowerPoint Presentation Slides. Additionally, Conformity and Conflict's part introductions parallel the basic concepts taught in introductory courses - which allow the book to be used alone as a reader or in conjunction with a main text. Note: MyAnthroLab does not come automatically packaged with this text. To purchase MyAnthroLab, please visit www.MyAnthroLab.com or you can purchase a valuepack of the text + MyAnthroLab (at no additional cost): VP ISBN-10: 0205176011/ISBN-13: 9780205176014
Biochemistry by
For courses in biochemistry. Engage students in biochemistry visually and through real-world applications Biochemistry: Concepts and Connections engages students with a unique approach to visualization, synthesis of complex topics, and connections to the real world. The author team builds quantitative reasoning skills and provides students with a rich, chemical perspective on biological processes. The text emphasizes fundamental concepts and connections, showing how biochemistry relates to practical applications in medicine, agricultural sciences, environmental sciences, and forensics. The newly revised 2nd Edition integrates even more robust biochemistry-specific content in Mastering(tm) Chemistry, creating an interactive experience for today's students. New Threshold Concept Tutorials help students master the most challenging and critical ideas in biochemistry, while Interactive Case Studies connect course material to the real world by having students explore actual scientific data from primary literature. The 2nd Edition provides a seamlessly integrated learning experience via text, Mastering Chemistry, and an interactive Pearson eText. Also available with Mastering Chemistry Mastering(tm) is the teaching and learning platform that empowers you to reach every student. By combining trusted author content with digital tools developed to engage students and emulate the office-hour experience, Mastering personalizes learning and often improves results for each student. Students can further master concepts after class through traditional and adaptive homework assignments that provide hints and answer-specific feedback. The Mastering gradebook records scores for all automatically graded assignments in one place, while diagnostic tools give instructors access to rich data to assess student understanding and misconceptions. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; Mastering Chemistry does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing this title with Mastering Chemistry , ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. 013480466X / 9780134804668 Biochemistry: Concepts and Connections Plus Mastering Chemistry with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package Package consists of: 0134641620 / 9780134641621 Biochemistry: Concepts and Connections 013474716X / 9780134747163 Mastering Chemistry with Pearson eText -- ValuePack Access Card -- for Biochemistry: Concepts and Connections
Chemistry: Structure and Properties by 
Chemistry for Engineering Students, Loose-Leaf Version by Organic Chemistry: Structure and Function by 
Classical Mythology by 
Iliad by 
Odyssey by 
The Prize Winner of Defiance, Ohio by
The most learner-centered and assessment-driven text available With its engaging writing style and comprehensive coverage of key research, Psychology: An Exploration, 2/e, awakens students' curiosity and energizes their desire to learn more. This brief version draws readers into an ongoing dialogue about psychology, allowing them to fully grasp the subject. The authors establish clear learning objectives tied to the most recent APA-recommended undergraduate learning outcomes. MyPsychLab is an integral part of the Ciccarelli / White program. Engaging activities plus assessments provide a teaching and learning system that helps students master psychological concepts more readily. With MyPsychLab, students can watch videos on research and applications, participate in virtual classic experiments, and develop critical thinking skills through writing. This title is available in a variety of formats - digital and print. Pearson offers its titles on the devices students love through Pearson's MyLab products, CourseSmart, Amazon, and more.
Sundiata an Epic of Old Mali by 
Beginning Algebra by
Intended for developmental math courses in beginning algebra, this text retains the hallmark features that have made the Aufmann texts market leaders: an interactive approach in an objective-based framework: a clear writing style, and an emphasis on problem-solving strategies. The acclaimed Aufmann Interactive Method, allows students to try a skill as it is introduced with matched-pair examples, offering students immediate feedback, reinforcing the concept, identifying problem areas, and, overall, promoting student success.
Beginning & Intermediate Algebra by 
Beginning and Intermediate Algebra by 
Introductory Mathematical Analysis for Business, Economics, and the Life and Social Sciences by
Haeussler, Paul, and Wood establish a strong algebraic foundation that sets this text apart from other applied mathematics texts, paving the way for readers to solve real-world problems that use calculus. Emphasis on developing algebraic skills is extended to the exercises--including both drill problems and applications. The authors work through examples and explanations with a blend of rigor and accessibility. In addition, they have refined the flow, transitions, organization, and portioning of the content over many editions to optimize learning for readers. The table of contents covers a wide range of topics efficiently, enabling readers to gain a diverse understanding.
Mathematics for Elementary Teachers with Activities by
An inquiry-based approach to this course allows future teachers to learn through exploration and group work, leading to a deeper understanding of mathematics. Known for her contributions in math education, Sybilla Beckmann writes the leading text for this approach. In Mathematics for Elementary Teachers with Activities, students engage, explore, discuss, and ultimately reach a true understanding of mathematics. The Fourth Edition provides a new full-color design, making the math come alive. For the first time, the content and activities are combined into the same text, creating a self-contained resource for this course and beyond. Common Core State Standards are integrated to complement the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM) Focal Points and Standards that appear where appropriate. New From the Field features highlight the latest research, Integrating Mathematics and Pedagogy (IMAP) videos (available separately), children's literature, views from the classroom, and lesson planning to prepare future teachers for their teaching careers.
Calculus for Scientists and Engineers Early Transcendentals by 
College Physics by
This introductory, algebra-based, two-semester college physics book is grounded with real-world examples, illustrations, and explanations to help students grasp key, fundamental physics concepts. College Physics can be can be downloaded now by clicking on the "Get this book" button below. This online, fully editable and customizable title includes learning objectives, concept questions, links to labs and simulations, and ample practice opportunities to solve traditional physics application problems.
Please take this survey to help us better suit your needs.
Physics for Scientists and Engineers with Modern Physics by
Maximize your course success by making the most of what Serway/Jewett's PHYSICS FOR SCIENTISTS AND ENGINEERS WITH MODERN PHYSICS, Tenth Edition, has to offer. From a host of in-text features to a range of outstanding technology resources, you'll have everything you need to understand the natural forces and principles of physics. New context-rich exercises, Think-Pair-Share problems and MCAT-style passage problems enable you to put what you learn into practice. Also available, WebAssign is the world's easiest to use homework system. Throughout every chapter, the authors have built in a wide range of examples, exercises and illustrations that will help you understand the laws of physics AND succeed in your course!
Physics for Scientists and Engineers with Modern Physics by
Maximize your course success by making the most of what Serway/Jewett's PHYSICS FOR SCIENTISTS AND ENGINEERS WITH MODERN PHYSICS, Tenth Edition, has to offer. From a host of in-text features to a range of outstanding technology resources, you'll have everything you need to understand the natural forces and principles of physics. New context-rich exercises, Think-Pair-Share problems and MCAT-style passage problems enable you to put what you learn into practice. Also available, WebAssign is the world's easiest to use homework system. Throughout every chapter, the authors have built in a wide range of examples, exercises and illustrations that will help you understand the laws of physics AND succeed in your course!
University Physics Volume 2 by 
Society by
Seeing Sociology in your Everyday Life With a complete theoretical framework and a global perspective, Society: The Basics, 13/e offers students an accessible and relevant introduction to sociology. John Macionis, author of the best-selling Introductory Sociology franchise over the last three decades, empowers students to see the world around them through a sociological lens, helping them to better understand their own lives. This informative, engaging, and entertaining title will change the way readers see the world and open the door to many new opportunities. MySocLab is an integral part of the Macionis learning program. Engaging activities and assessments provide a teaching a learning system that helps students see the world through a sociological lens. With MySocLab, students can develop critical thinking skills through writing, explore real-world data through the new Social Explorer, and watch the latest entries in the Core Concept Video Series. Society: The Basics, Thirteenth Edition is also available via REVEL(tm), an immersive learning experience designed for the way today's students read, think, and learn. Learn more.
Statistics: Concepts and Controversies by 
The Basic Practice of Statistics by
Now available with Macmillan's new online learning tool Achieve, the ninth edition of The Basic Practice of Statistics 9e teaches statistical thinking by guiding students through an investigative process of problem-solving with pedagogy designed to help students of all levels. Examples and exercises from a wide variety of topic areas use current, real data to provide students insight into how and why statistics are used to make decisions in the real world. Achieve for The Basic Practice of Statistics connects the trusted Four-Step problem-solving approach and real world examples in the book to rich digital resources that foster further understanding and application of statistics. Assets in Achieve support learning before, during, and after class for students, while providing instructors with class performance analytics in an easy-to-use interface.
Probability and Statistics for Engineering and the Sciences by 
Swahili by
Jewelry designer and heiress Ruby Seaborn will do anything to save her family's company from financial ruin. And she meansanything. Including proposing a strictly business marriage to diamond-mine magnate Jax Maroney--the only man able to restore the Seaborn jewelry empire to its former glory! She needs his moy&money; he needs her socialite credentials--it's a win-win solution. And if they indulge in certain...fringe benefits of their marriage along the way, that's fine. Because luckily Ruby's heart is as unbreakable as the precious gems she works with...isn't it?
Swahili Practical Dictionary by
This bestselling bilingual Swahili dictionary is the also most comprehensive available, with over 35,000 entries that cover the modern vocabulary of politics, telecommunications, the Internet, tourism, business and travel. Swahili is the most widely spoken African language and the lingua franca of Eastern Africa, including Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, and eastern Congo (Zaire). Intended for both speakers of English or Swahili, the guide also includes appendices of English irregular verbs, Swahili noun classes and useful phrases and vocabulary.
