|
|
Scholarly & Research Journals |
Professional, Trade & Industry Journals |
Journals of Commentary & Opinion |
Newspapers |
Popular Magazines |
|
Examples |
American Historical Review Journal of Educational Research .Plasma Physics Social Psvcholoqy Quarterly |
RN Science Teacher Restaurants and Institutions American Libraries |
Mother Jones National Review Atlantic New Republic |
New York Times Washington Post Christian Science Monitor Wall Street Journal |
Time Newsweek Sports Illustrated Readers Digest I I |
|
Values & Uses |
Reports of original research; In depth analysis of issues related to the discipline; Academic level book reviews; Refereed or peer- reviewed |
Current trends, news & products in a field; Company, organization, & biographical information; Statistics, forecasts; Employment & career information; Book and product reviews |
Commentaries on social & political issues; Some in-depth analysis; Political viewpoints, liberal, conservative & other; Sometimes acts as voice of activist organization; Speeches & interviews; Book reviews |
Current information; Hard news; Local and regional information; Classified ads; Editorials; Speeches; Book reviews; Primary source for information on events |
Current events; Hot topics; Primary I source for analysis of I I popular culture; Short I articles; Generally not much depth; Interviews |
|
Language |
Academic; Can be very technical; Uses the language of the discipline |
Written for practitioners; Can use jargon extensively |
Written for a general educated audience |
Written for a general educated audience |
Non-technical language |
|
Authors |
Researchers, academics, professors, scholars, etc. |
Practitioners in the field or journalists with subject expertise |
Extremely variable; Can be academics, journalists, representatives of various "groups" |
Journalists |
Generally, journalists and freelance writers |
|
Sources |
Footnotes and bibliographies, Often very extensive documentation |
Occasional brief bibliographies; Sources sometimes cited in text |
Occasionally cite sources in text or provide short bibliographies |
Rarely cite any sources in full |
Rarely cite any sources |
|
Publisher |
Universities, scholarly presses or academic/research organizations |
Commercial publishers or professional and trade associations |
Commercial publishers or non- profit organizations |
Commercial publishers |
Commercial publishers |
|
Graphics |
Graphs, charts, formulas, depending on the discipline; No glossy ads here at all |
Photographs, charts, tables, illustrations of all sorts; Sometimes glossy ads |
Wide variety of appearances; Some very plain, others lots of gloss |
Pictures, charts, ads of all sorts |
Very glossy; Full of color ads of all sorts |
|
Access Tools Ask a Librarian for further details! |
Some from Academic Search Complete but more from specialized indexes like Art Source, SociNDEX, ATLA Religion Database, PsyciNFO, ComAbstracts. |
Business indexes like Business Source, or subject indexes like Education Research Complete; CINAHL. Some of the same indexes used for scholarly journals like Psyclnfo |
Academic Source Complete; Alternative Press Index; Lexis Nexis Academic; PAIS International and Archive |
Newspaper Source; Access Ohio; Individual paper indexes |
Academic Search Complete, MasterFILE Premier |
\'5""