Journals & Databases - Ohio State Newark: Mathematics 1135 - Number & Operations for Teachers

Recommended Databases

JSTOR [OSU] This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.

arXiv.org [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Open access to 583,000+ e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics.
Current Index to Statistics [OSU] This link opens in a new window
The Current Index to Statistics is a bibliographic index to publications in statistics and related fields. References are drawn from 162 core journals (as of 2003)
that are fully indexed, non-core journals from which articles are selected that have statistical content, proceedings and edited books, and other sources. The Current Index to Statistics is a joint venture of the American Statistical Association and the Institute of Mathematical Statistics.
MathSciNet [OSU] This link opens in a new window
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database of the world's literature on mathematics and its applications in a wide range of disciplines, including statistics, computer science, operation research, econometrics,
engineering, physics, biology, and many other related areas. Based on the data in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications produced by the American Mathematical Society, MathSciNet provides coverage of Mathematical Reviews from 1940 to the present. Both bibliographic data and review texts are available from 1980-present. Bibliographic data is also available from 1940-1979. Items listed in the annual indexes of Mathematical Reviews but not given an individual review are also included. Current Mathematical Publications is a subject index of bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. Most items are later reviewed in Mathematical Reviews. All items in Mathematical Reviews appear first in Current Mathematical Publications. Update Information: Current Mathematical Publications data is added daily. Mathematical Reviews data is added each month when the printed issue is complete. The Mathematical Reviews record for an item with a review replaces the Current Mathematical Publications record for that item.
Web of Science [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Indexes almost 6,000 core journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities

OSU Databases

The following links to an extensive list of research databases under the subject Mathematics and Statistical Methods:

Mathematics and Statistical Methods

Finding Articles and Using the Databases

Databases provide you with access to a wide range of articles that can be used as resources for your paper. When searching in the database, keep in mind the terms listed below. They will assist you in navigating the databases and locating resources.

"Full Text": By selecting the full text box in a database, you are ensuring that the database will only retrieve articles that are available in their complete format. If you do not select the full text box, you will still receive results, but you may only receive the citations.

Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals: Articles that are submitted to a scholarly journal must first be evaluated by an editorial team for the journal. This team reviews the article in order to verify that the research is authentic. If you know that you must use scholarly journals for your assignment, you should select this box.

Abstract: An abstract is a short summary, detailing the main idea of a journal article. Searching within the abstracts of articles can assist you in locating information that is pertinent to your topic.