Databases & Images - Ohio State Newark: English 1110 - First-Year English Composition (Loss)

Navigation Bar

Recommended Resources

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete [OSU] This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
ERIC (EBSCO version) [OSU] This link opens in a new window
The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information,
containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers.
Communication & Mass Media Complete [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index
along with numerous other journals to create a research and reference resource in the communication and mass media fields. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 300 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of over 100 more, for a combined coverage of over 400 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for nearly 200 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable citations from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated controlled vocabulary and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable citations for all peer-reviewed journals covered as core).
JSTOR [OSU] This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis ®
—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types
SocINDEX with Full Text [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for publications in sociology. Includes content from the EBSCO Sociological Collection database.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context [OSU] This link opens in a new window

Images under Creative Commons

Creative Commons Search
Flickr
"Flickr is home to over five billion of the world’s photos. Get a glimpse of another world by diving into the official White House photostream or the newest images from NASA. Or explore a moment in history with archived collections from the Smithsonian, Library of Congress and more in The Commons (Explore Flickr)."
Google Advanced Image Search
Use the drop-down for usage rights and change to Creative Commons License

Other Image Resources (Copyrighted)

Smithsonian Collections
Photographs of items owned by the various museums of the Smithsonian. Searchable by keyword.
Digital Public Library of America
Cooperative effort by cultural institutions across the US to digitize and share their unique collections.

The Vogue Archive [OSU] This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included,
with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
JSTOR [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Combined with ArtSTOR, offers some images in the results, especially a decent street art collection.
The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
PressReader [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from around the world, coverage dating back to early 2000s. In full print layout format.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Contains some images and infographics. Focus on is on controversial or contemporary issues.

University Libraries Fair Use Information

Fair Use Guidelines

Explains the four factors to consider and has a link to the interactive Fair Use Checklist from Health Sciences Library in the links section.

Creating a Search

Booleans

AND - Commands a search engine to bring back both terms

OR - Commands a search engine to bring back either of the terms

NOT - Commands a search engine to ignore all results with a certain word.

Quick tip: in Google, use a minus sign (-) instead of NOT

Quotation marks

Bring back exact search results. "Ohio State University" means only OSU, no Ohio University too.

What to learn more? Review these sections of Choosing and Using Sources

Main Concepts

Precision Searching

Search Statements

How do I type a search?

DO:

Do choose main topic words

Do use precise words

Do use Booleans!

Do use synonyms

DON'T

Don't use full sentences or sentence fragments

Don't be too vague when you are looking for something specific

Unless part of a proper name, don't include: A, The, An, etc.

AI Incident Database
A community built collection of news stories about unforeseen, dangerous, or other failures of AI. Searchable by entities (companies) or by keyword.
Chronicle of Higher Education
OSU-provided access to the Chronicle of Higher Education, the major news source for college-level education. Geared towards administrators and professors, has regular articles on hot topics, issues, or other current events, including lots about AI in higher education.
Suggested Readings on AI and Education
A list compiled by Ithaca College, of suggested resources and readings on AI and Education (mostly about a year old, so more helpful for background than current information).
AI in Higher Education (Ray Schroeder)
A collection of resources on AI and higher education, including at the very bottom, some links to other sites for current reporting).
AI Podcasts
Curated list of podcasts covering AI topics. More business, news, and tech focused.
AI in Education Podcasts
Curated list of podcasts covering topics about education and AI

Ohio State Newark: English 1110 - First-Year English Composition (Loss)

Using a Database

Using a Database

" Full Text "

Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals

Abstract

Evaluating Web Sites

Copyright Information

Copyright Guides