Check out Univeristy Libraries extended collections of E-books:
COTC belongs to OhioLINK, the network of Ohio college, university, community and technical college libraries.
Items that are unavailable through the Newark Campus Library can frequently be obtained from OhioLINK. Go to OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) for online journals.
Tip: When logging into OhioLINK, your University ID number must be preceded by CT. For example, CT1234567.
Need help? Search OhioLINK here:
Check out these featured books, or search the library catalog:
An introduction to intercultural communication : identities in a global community
Undergraduate students of intercultural communication.
Beyond news : the future of journalism
Introduction: quality journalism reconsidered -- Principles, opinions, sentiments, and affections: the journalism out of which the United States was born -- "Yesterday's doings in all continents": the business of selling news -- Circulators of intelligence merely: the devaluation of news -- Bye-bye to the old "who-what-when-where": the return of interpretation -- Much as one may try to disappear from the work: the argument against objectivity -- The world's immeasurable babblement: what does and does not make journalism wise -- Shimmering intellectual scoops: the wisdom journalist, the journalism organization, their audiences, and our politics
Composing Research, Communicating Results by
Composing Research, Communicating Results: Writing the Communication Research Paper provides communication students with the knowledge and necessary tools to compose a variety of course-required papers that are scholarly, accessible, and well-written. The first work of its kind to take students from brainstorming to outlining to sentence and paragraph construction to paper presentation, drawing on student-written examples Easy-to-understand explanations of passive voice, point of view, commonly accepted citation styles, and more, with current and relatable student-written examples Covers common writing assignments in communication and related courses, including the literature review, application paper, and empirical research paper Four pedagogical features enhance comprehension and support learning: "Write Away" quick exercises, integratable "Building Blocks" assignments, "Engaging Ethics" tips, and "Student Spotlight" examples
The Routledge International Handbook of Communication and Gender by
This volume provides an extensive overview of current research on the complex relationships between gender and communication. Featuring a broad variety of chapters written by leading and upcoming scholars, this edited collection uses diverse theoretical frameworks to provide insight into recent concerns regarding changing gender roles, representations, and resources in communication studies. Established research and new perspectives address vital themes in this comprehensive text, including the shifting politics of gender, ethical and technological trends in gendered media, and gender in daily life. Comprising 39 chapters by a team of international contributors, the Handbook is divided into six thematic sections: - Gendered lives and identities - Visualizing gender - The politics of gender - Gendered contexts and strategies - Gendered violence and communication - Gender advocacy in action These sections examine central issues, debates, and problems, including the ethics and politics of gender as identity, impacts of media and technology, legal and legislative battlegrounds for gender inequality and LGBTQ] human rights, changing institutional contexts, and recent research on gender violence and communication. The final section links academic research on gender and communication to activism and advocacy beyond the academy. The Routledge Handbook of Gender and Communication will be an invaluable reference work for students and researchers working at the intersections of gender studies and communication studies. Its international perspectives and the range of themes it covers make it an essential and pragmatic pedagogical resource.
How Highly Effective People Speak by
Why do we think what we think? Think we know what we think we know? Believe what we believe? Like what we like? Do what we do? Why do others trust or distrust us? Respect or disrespect us? Listen to or ignore us? Reach out to or neglect us? Like or dislike us? Praise or slander us? Believe or doubt us? That's not all... Why do others follow our lead or stand in our way? Give us opportunities or send them elsewhere? Support our striving for success and appreciate our message or toss it - and us - aside? Decades of cutting-edge (but unheard-of) scientific research presents an answer... Because hidden, little-known secrets of psychology influence everything about us... Neglecting them is swimming upstream. You can't change minds, win friends, or influence people. You can't earn undivided attention or get the respect you deserve. You undermine your professional image, stagnate your career, and destroy your confidence until communication makes you anxious. You don't deserve this. Neither did I. I remember wondering, "Why do people never support my ideas? Why am I drowning in a sea of 'sorry, maybe later' (AKA never)? Why have I stopped succeeding?" Luckily, everything changed when I answered one question... What are the communication habits of highly effective people? It comes down to one secret: Highly effective people speak how the human mind evolved to interpret information. The result? They easily persuade and instantly influence, turning communication from an obstacle into an opportunity. They enrich their careers, get more done, and advance with stunning speed. They impact and inspire others, rising to positions of leadership. They quickly succeed, excel with ease, and shape the world. They attract support, feel confident, and smash goal after goal. Who are they? Presidents and CEOs; top-performers and respected professionals; leaders and visionaries. And here's my question to you: Will you be one of them? In How Highly Effective People Speak, you'll discover 194 communication habits of highly effective people (proven by 57 scientific studies) including: How to get more done with less effort by influencing others to support you How to attract others (instead of turning them away and seeming unfriendly) with the correct type of body language How to make people systematically, predictably, and reliably overweigh your opinion by activating the availability bias How to charge more or pay less (for the same product) and win every negotiation with the anchoring effect How to effortlessly make others want something by activating one little-known cognitive bias (called "essential" by billionaire investor Charlie Munger, partner to Warren Buffet) How to lead with ease and reliably influence teams by using the contrast effect How to effortlessly speak with memorable eloquence by applying 2,000-year-old secrets of powerful language How to ace every interview, meeting, and presentation with ease by activating agent detection bias How to quickly diffuse all objections by activating the little-known (but extremely powerful) zero-risk bias How to make people believe something even if they think the exact opposite with the illusory truth effect How to appear authoritative, trustworthy, and capable in 10 seconds by activating the halo effect How to combine the science of psychology with the art of communication and create a critical competitive advantage in life
How Digital Communication Technology Shapes Markets by
This Palgrave Pivot explores how communication technology such as the Internet has changed the nature of trade, focusing especially on economy-wide reductions in company size (granularity) and the role of retailers (disintermediation). By increasing access to comparative data, influencing conceptions of time, and reducing the number of intermediaries between creator and consumer, technological connectivity is changing the very definition of competition. In the new network economy, disintermediation and granularity are turning cooperative information gathering and sharing into a vital market institution. To exemplify the effects of communication technology, Bhatt focuses on two markets with particularly powerful effects on the economy: labor and education, and CIME (communication, information services, media, and entertainment). Mobile connectivity is radically changing the extent, capabilities, and operations of these markets, both in terms of the services they provide and how they interact with consumers. Bhatt also explores how these benefits intersect with new concerns about privacy and security when the line between public and private information is becoming ever more fluid.
Small Group and Team Communication by
Much of contemporary communication occurs between and among small groups, whether in person in a work setting or on the Internet via email, Facebook, or instant messages. How we engage in our small-group communication in each medium matters. To be effective we have to consider our group roles, norms, cohesion, process, and phases of development, as well as our personal verbal and nonverbal communication and listening styles. To succeed as a member of a team, we need to consider the limits of our personal experience and perspective, recognize the creative strength of diverse perspectives in decision making and problem solving, develop our conflict-management skills, and strengthen our leadership skills. To be successful necessitates an understanding of group process, participation style, ethical group behavior, and the influences of the medium.Small Group and Team Communication explores all these different interconnections and the communication strategies we use in our work and social groups. The authors use the systems perspective as their core approach throughout the text, treating small groups as complex open systems reliant upon communication to achieve success. Many chapters highlight the importance of considering ethics and diversity in relation to a variety of topics. Harris and Sherblom address the growing influence of computer-mediated communication to this discipline. Real-world, applied examples show students that what they're learning aren't simply abstract concepts, but knowledge that will serve them outside the classroom.
The Concise Encyclopedia of Communication by
This concise volume presents key concepts and entries from the twelve-volume ICA International Encyclopedia of Communication (2008), condensing leading scholarship into a practical and valuable single volume. Based on the definitive twelve-volume IEC, this new concise edition presents key concepts and the most relevant headwords of communication science in an A-Z format in an up-to-date manner Jointly published with the International Communication Association (ICA), the leading academic association of the discipline in the world Represents the best and most up-to-date international research in this dynamic and interdisciplinary field Contributions come from hundreds of authors who represent excellence in their respective fields An affordable volume available in print or online
Conflict Management and Intercultural Communication by
In the globally interconnected world, conflicts often arise as a result of tensions between different cultural perceptions and diverse social preferences. Effectively managing conflicts and harmonizing intercultural relationships are essential tasks of intercultural communication research. This book seeks to find effective intercultural conflict management solutions by bringing together a group of leading international scholars from different disciplines to tackle the problem. Consisting of two parts, this book covers major theoretical perspectives of conflict management and harmony development in the first and conflict management and harmony development in different cultural contexts in the second. Integrating the latest work on conflict management and intercultural harmony, Conflict Management and Intercultural Communication takes an interdisciplinary approach, adopts diverse perspectives, and provides for a wide range of discussions. It will serve as a useful resource for teachers, researchers, students and professionals alike.