Primary Sources - Ohio State Newark: History 2701 - History of Technology

A Sampling of Kinds of Primary Sources

Patents (U.S.) [OSU]
Search for previously issued United States from 1790-present. Also contains a database of the text and drawings from all issued patents.
Patents (European and World) [OSU]
Provides access to more than 50 million patent documents from all over the world, most of which are patent applications, not granted patents.
America's Historical Newspapers [OSU]
Features cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers...
providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. For students and scholars of early America, this unique collection offers an unprecedented look back into the extraordinary history of the United States -- the story of her people, ideals, commerce and everyday life.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers [OSU]
This database offers full text including images for several prominent newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, together in a searchable interface.
Coverage includes:
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1987)
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1987)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
The New York Times (1851-2007) with Index (1851-1993)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Times of India (1838-2001)
The Washington Post (1877-1994)
Wall Street Journal (1889-1995)

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Digitized resources from the Library of Congress. Many possibilities, but especially good for Alexander Graham Bell, transportation, industrial revolution, and early 20th century entertainment.
Digital Public Library of America
Original sources digitized by libraries, archives, and museums from across the United States. Particularly strong from Civil War (1850s) onward.
Technical Report Archive & Image Library
The Technical Report Archive & Image Library (TRAIL) identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports. TRAIL currently consists of over four dozen member institutions whose annual membership fees and volunteered staff time further the efforts of the project.

World's Fairs
Explore the phenomenon of world's fairs from the Crystal Palace in 1851 and the proliferation of North American exhibitions, to fairs around the world and twenty-first century expos. Through official records, monographs, publicity, artwork and artifacts, this resource brings together multiple archives for research opportunities in this diverse topic

Making of the Modern World
The Making of the Modern World is an extraordinary series which covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, and steel industries, the railway industry, the cotton industry, banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. It is also strong in the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century.