Check out these featured books available at Warner Library or search the library catalog:
Population-Based Nursing by
Runner-up for 2020 AJN Book of the Year Award: Community Public Health Praise for earlier edition: "...nicely integrates epidemiological concepts, evidence-based practice in population health, and program development and evaluation...Authors describe epidemiological research designs, research synthesis, and evidence assessment--knowledge essential for advanced practice nurses working with populations or in the community." --Journal of Community Health Nursing Delivering essential content for APRN students focusing on population health, this award-winning text addresses the nurse's role in identifying and mitigating healthcare disparities at local, national, and global levels and provides guidance on how to conduct community assessments. The substantially updated fourth edition focuses on the broad role of APRNs in today's challenging healthcare environment, along with a completely new chapter on the Principles of Public and Community Health. The addition of case studies brings the content to life and explores a wider range of nursing roles. Two new editors bring a wealth of knowledge and experience to the text. Additionally, the fourth edition is updated with current national standards including the AACN Essentials and addresses implications of and lessons learned from COVID-19. The text disseminates successful strategies nurses have used to improve population outcomes and reinforces learning with a high-level application of activities that require the synthesis and integration of information learned. Its strong foundation in epidemiologic methodology includes coverage of mortality measures, testing validity and reliability, study designs, risk and casualty assessment, and data analysis and interpretation. This comprehensive yet succinctly written text includes engaging exercises and discussion questions to help students understand how to apply the content. Purchase includes online access via most mobile devices or computers. New to the Fourth Edition: New chapter on Principles of Public and Community Health Updated to reflect latest AACN Essentials, Healthy People 2030, and other national initiatives within nursing and healthcare Discusses impact of COVID-19 with examples Provides case studies addressing a wider range of roles including ambulatory and acute care Focus is on APRN role in population health Adds PowerPoints to abundant instructor resources Key Features: The only advanced practice text to focus on core nursing competencies in population health Incorporates a strong focus on epidemiology Breaks down complex content to foster clear understanding Reinforces information with creative-thinking exercises Can serve as a primary resource for DNP Projects addressing population health
Delivering Culturally Competent Nursing Care by
Recipient of the 2019 AJN Book of the Year Award: Nursing Management and Leadership! Focusing on what it really means to be culturally competent in nursing practice, this text uses a unique framework to help nurses develop and apply these critical skills and provides numerous techniques for cultural self-assessment and cultural patient assessment. The third edition---imbued with lessons learned from the devastation wrought by COVID-19 and the death of George Floyd and their impact on nurses as frontline workers---is updated to reflect present-day dynamics. It includes three new chapters along with new case studies addressing the changing environment of diversity and inclusion. The third edition also expands on the development of critical thinking skills, aligning with the new format for the Next Generation NCLEX-RN exam. Focusing primarily on developing nurses' skills in providing care for diverse patients and populations, the text also identifies the inequities and disparities in healthcare access and clinical outcomes experienced by some groups along with strategies for their mitigation. A key element culturally competent practice is enlightened, personal insight of the nurse. The book addresses the application of a self-assessment model (the Staircase Model), enabling nurses to explore their personal biases and limitations and to develop skills in overcoming them. The book explores the use of culturally competent practice in a variety of health care scenarios, considering both nurse-patient encounters and the relationships between health care professionals that can be challenged by differences in race, gender, ethnicity, or language barriers. Purchase includes online access via most mobile devices or computers. New to the Third Edition: New chapter: Cultural Considerations When Caring for the Elderly New chapter: Cultural Considerations for Advanced Practice Nurses New chapter: Caring for Victims of Human Trafficking New case studies addressing ways to achieve culturally competent practice Expands on the development of critical thinking skills aligning with the new format for Next Generation NCLEX-RN Key Features: Emphasizes self-reflection as a first step in developing cultural competence Guides readers in using the Staircase Model to promote cultural competence when working with diverse patients Considers the wide variety of populations at risk in contemporary society with strategies for change Highlights critical aspects of case scenarios at the end of each chapter Includes Next Generation NCLEX-RN type questions Examines nurses' roles in addressing health care disparities
Co-Creating a Holistic Healing Environment in Nursing Practice by
Deeply grounded in unitary caring science, Co-Creating a Holistic Healing Environment in Nursing Practice introduces readers to the Holistic Healing Environment (HHE) Framework and guides future and practicing Nurses on the why and how of co-creating a holistic healing environment. Unit I familiarizes readers with the HHE Framework and provides them with a foundation for better understanding the Unitary-Transformative Paradigm. In Unit II, five Nurses share their practice experiences in which they co-create a holistic healing environment moment-by-moment. These practice experiences emphasize the imperative for healing within and through caring. Unit III illuminates how the HHE Framework can be introduced and integrated within all educational program levels and clinical settings. The final unit focuses on the imperative for the Nurse to co-create a holistic healing environment within the worst conditions. Throughout, opportunities for reflection, Nursing Situations that serve as an aesthetic expression of Nurses' experiences within praxis, and suggested individual and group learning activities reinforce key learnings and inspire engagement. An invaluable resource, Co-Creating a Holistic Healing Environment in Nursing Practice presents a transformative vision of Nursing praxis and the roadmap to reach it. Therefore, it is an exemplary textbook for Nursing education and practice settings.
Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2024 by
Ensure safe and effective drug therapy with this easy-to-use handbook! Saunders Nursing Drug Handbook 2024 provides you with current, detailed information on more than 1,000 generic and 4,000 trade name drugs. This handy, user-friendly guide includes updated uses, dosage forms, warnings, side effects and adverse reactions, IV drug administration, nursing considerations, and much more. Organized alphabetically by generic drug name for quick reference, this book stands out from the others in guiding the nurse through the steps essential to quality patient care. New drug monographs cover 12 new FDA-approved medications! More than 1,000 generic name drugs, encompassing over 4,000 trade name drugs, are organized alphabetically with A-to-Z tabs for quick and easy access. UNIQUE! Herbal information is included in the appendix and on the Evolve website, covering the interactions and effects of commonly encountered herbs. Detailed information for each drug includes side effects listed by frequency, and adverse effects and reactions requiring prompt intervention. Drugs by Disorder are listed in the front of the book for easy reference, showing common disorders and the drugs most often used for treatment. Drug Classifications section features an overview of actions and uses for drug families. Black Box Alerts and High Alert drugs are highlighted to promote safe administration of drugs that pose the greatest risk for patient harm, and Do Not Confuse With warnings call out drug names that sound alike or look alike. Top 100 Drugs list helps you easily identify the most frequently administered drugs. Cross-references to the 400 top U.S. brand-name drugs are located throughout the book for easy access. List of newly approved medications in the front of the book makes it easy to locate the latest drugs. Nursing considerations are organized in a functional nursing process framework and include baseline assessment, intervention/evaluation, and patient/family teaching. Information on lifespan and disorder-related dosage variations covers special considerations for pediatric, geriatric, hepatic, and immune- or renal-compromised patients. Extensive IV content includes IV compatibilities/IV incompatibilities and breaks down key information on reconstitution, rate of administration, and storage, as well as an IV Compatibility Chart foldout covering 65 intravenous drugs. Customizable and printable monographs for 100 of the most commonly used drugs are located on Evolve. NEW! Drug monographs for 12 new FDA-approved medications equip you with the most current drug information. NEW! Updates include uses, dosage forms, interactions, precautions, and other need-to-know information to help prevent medication dispensing errors.
Clinical Reasoning Cases in Nursing by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Perioperative** Learn to make sound clinical nursing judgments with the concept-based, case study approach in Harding & Snyder's Clinical Reasoning Cases in Nursing, 8th Edition. Awarded second place in the 2019 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Medical-Surgical category, this time-tested case study resource is highly regarded for its clinically relevant and thought-provoking cases. Approximately150 true-to-life case studies cover all four clinical practice areas - medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric-mental health nursing - all organized to facilitate a conceptual approach to teaching and learning. Each case covers a common patient problem drawn from actual clinical experiences and written by nurses who are clinical experts and includes a strong focus on interprofessional collaboration competencies. Cases include integrated content on pharmacology, nutrition, and diagnostic/laboratory tests to encourage you to think critically about all aspects of patient care. The 8th edition has been updated throughout to reflect the most current standards of clinical practice, including readiness for practice in the COVID-19 era. Also new to this edition, concepts and terminology related to the Next Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) are introduced in the Preface and integrated throughout to help you prepare for the new exam. Approximately 150 case studies draw from actual clinical experiences in medical-surgical, pediatric, OB/maternity, and psychiatric-mental health clinical areas to help you learn to think clinically, prioritize, and deliver proactive nursing care. UNIQUE! Concept-based organization mirrors the growing popularity of concept-based curricula and conceptual approaches to teaching and learning in nursing education. Clinical judgment approach helps you learn to identify changes, anticipate possible complications, and initiate therapeutic interventions. Progressive case complexity builds on previous learning to help you gradually develop clinical judgment skills. Strong QSEN safety emphasis is highlighted with an icon to communicate "caution" or "safety." Icons identify questions that resemble new NCLEX-RN® item types. Strong emphasis on sepsis and antibiotic resistance addresses the growing problem of sepsis (a recent Joint Commission "core measure") and antibiotic resistance, where appropriate. UNIQUE! Concepts and terminology related to the Next Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) are introduced in the Preface and integrated throughout to help you prepare for the new exam. All questions for the NGN are highlighted with a special icon for quick reference. UPDATED! Content reflects the latest evidence-based clinical practice, including national and international treatment guidelines and the latest guidelines for COVID-19 and other infectious diseases. NEW! Additional case studies and expanded content in key areas includes breastfeeding, obstetric emergency (umbilical cord prolapse or abruptio placentae) with emergency C-section, sickle cell pain crisis, and head/neck trauma with tracheostomy. Expanded pharmacology content reflects the importance of a clear understanding of drug therapy on patient safety. Additional illustrations and expanded use of image-related question types visually reinforce the material, while also promoting clinical utility and patient diversity in a sensitive and clinically relevant way. Enhanced interprofessional collaboration content emphasizes the importance of identifying opportunities for collaboration with other health professions.