Databases provide you with access to a wide range of articles that can be used as resources for your paper. When searching in the database, keep in mind the terms listed below. They will assist you in navigating the databases and locating resources.
By selecting the full text box in a database, you are ensuring that the database will only retrieve articles that are available in their complete format. If you do not select the full text box, you will still receive results, but you may only receive the citations.
Articles that are submitted to a scholarly journal must first be evaluated by an editorial team for the journal. This team reviews the article in order to verify that the research is authentic. If you know that you must use scholarly journals for your assignment, you should select this box.
An abstract is a short summary, detailing the main idea of a journal article. Searching within the abstracts of articles can assist you in locating information that is pertinent to your topic.
Evaluating Web Sites
Learn how to evaluate websites for credibility through lateral reading+ with Pressbooks.
The African American Biographical Database is a resource containing biographical information, including photographs and illustrations, for African Americans. From the famous to the everyday person, AABD includes profiles and full-text sketches providing both biographical detail and narratives chronicling the lives of Black Americans.
African American Newspapers provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by or for African Americans are browseable and searchable.
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans.
Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations' bulletins, annual reports, and other genres.
Comprehensive collection of scholarship focused on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture, coupled with search and browse capabilities.
Features over 7,500 articles from Oxford's reference works, approximately 100 primary sources with written commentaries, over 1,000 images, over 100 maps, over 200 charts and tables, timelines to guide researchers through the history of African Americans and over 6,000 biographies. The core content includes: Africana, which presents an account of the African and African American experience in five volumes ; the Encyclopedia of African American history ; Black women in America, 2nd ed ; and the African American national biography
"Selected Internet resources by country/region and topics. Offers, amongst others, links to a lot of primary sources (full text)." Produced by Karen Fung at Stanford University.
