Databases provide you with access to a wide range of articles that can be used as resources for your paper. When searching in the database, keep in mind the terms listed below. They will assist you in navigating the databases and locating resources.
By selecting the full text box in a database, you are ensuring that the database will only retrieve articles that are available in their complete format. If you do not select the full text box, you will still receive results, but you may only receive the citations.
Articles that are submitted to a scholarly journal must first be evaluated by an editorial team for the journal. This team reviews the article in order to verify that the research is authentic. If you know that you must use scholarly journals for your assignment, you should select this box.
An abstract is a short summary, detailing the main idea of a journal article. Searching within the abstracts of articles can assist you in locating information that is pertinent to your topic.
Evaluating Web Sites
Learn how to evaluate websites for credibility through lateral reading+ with Pressbooks.
The ERIC database is the world's largest source of education information,
containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice. The database covers descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, curriculum and teaching guides, instructional materials, position papers, and resource materials. In 1993, ERIC began indexing education-related books, including the output of major publishers.
MEDLINE with Full Text includes all of the content available in MEDLINE as well as cover-to-cover full text for 1,014 journals indexed as cover-to-cover in MEDLINE.
Database containing thousands of diagrams, definitions, biographies, essays, and experiments
covering animal anatomy, anthropology and archaeology, astronomy and space technology, atomic physics, biochemistry, biology, botany, chemistry, computer science, earth science, environmental science, general science, genetics, health and medicine, human anatomy and physiology, marine science, physics, and weather and climate.
Major areas of subject coverage include: Air pollution, Antidotes, Biological and adverse effects of drugs,
Carcinogenesis via chemicals, Chemically-induced diseases, Environmental chemicals and pollutants, Food additives, Genotoxicity, Hazardous materials, Health and safety Human and animal toxicity, Industrial and household chemicals, Mutagenicity Pesticides and herbicides, Radioactive materials, Risk information.
