Databases provide you with access to a wide range of articles that can be used as resources for your paper. When searching in the database, keep in mind the terms listed below. They will assist you in navigating the databases and locating resources.
By selecting the full text box in a database, you are ensuring that the database will only retrieve articles that are available in their complete format. If you do not select the full text box, you will still receive results, but you may only receive the citations.
Articles that are submitted to a scholarly journal must first be evaluated by an editorial team for the journal. This team reviews the article in order to verify that the research is authentic. If you know that you must use scholarly journals for your assignment, you should select this box.
An abstract is a short summary, detailing the main idea of a journal article. Searching within the abstracts of articles can assist you in locating information that is pertinent to your topic.
Evaluating Web Sites
Learn how to evaluate websites for credibility through lateral reading+ with Pressbooks.
Compendex is a comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines.
It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. It is the online equivalent to the print title Engineering Index.
Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (CASC) covers the spectrum of the applied sciences, representing knowledge on traditional engineering challenges
and providing material for research concerning the business and social implications of new technology. CASC provides indexing and abstracting for more than 1,300 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources. Full Text is also available for more than 500 periodicals. Subject areas include the many engineering disciplines, computer theory, and new technologies. Includes Computer Source - Consumer Edition.
MathSciNet is a comprehensive database of the world's literature on mathematics and its applications in a wide range of disciplines, including statistics, computer science, operation research, econometrics,
engineering, physics, biology, and many other related areas. Based on the data in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications produced by the American Mathematical Society, MathSciNet provides coverage of Mathematical Reviews from 1940 to the present. Both bibliographic data and review texts are available from 1980-present. Bibliographic data is also available from 1940-1979. Items listed in the annual indexes of Mathematical Reviews but not given an individual review are also included. Current Mathematical Publications is a subject index of bibliographic data for recent and forthcoming publications. Most items are later reviewed in Mathematical Reviews. All items in Mathematical Reviews appear first in Current Mathematical Publications. Update Information: Current Mathematical Publications data is added daily. Mathematical Reviews data is added each month when the printed issue is complete. The Mathematical Reviews record for an item with a review replaces the Current Mathematical Publications record for that item.
