Databases provide you with access to a wide range of articles that can be used as resources for your paper. When searching in the database, keep in mind the terms listed below. They will assist you in navigating the databases and locating resources.
By selecting the full text box in a database, you are ensuring that the database will only retrieve articles that are available in their complete format. If you do not select the full text box, you will still receive results, but you may only receive the citations.
Articles that are submitted to a scholarly journal must first be evaluated by an editorial team for the journal. This team reviews the article in order to verify that the research is authentic. If you know that you must use scholarly journals for your assignment, you should select this box.
An abstract is a short summary, detailing the main idea of a journal article. Searching within the abstracts of articles can assist you in locating information that is pertinent to your topic.
Evaluating Web Sites
Learn how to evaluate websites for credibility through lateral reading+ with Pressbooks.
A comprehensive database which includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.
Literary Reference Center Plus features all of the content in Literary Reference Center with additional full text resources.
This comprehensive database provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. Content includes literary study guides, plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, articles of literary criticism, author biographies, book reviews, author interviews, and images of key literary figures. Topics covered include plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, children's literature, and Hispanic literature, multi-cultural studies, folklore, Latin America literature, and historical literature. The database contains full text reference works and literary journals as well as Salem Press Contemporary Literature Titles relating to Fantasy/Science Fiction, Contemporary Literature, World Philosophy, Quotations In Context, Religious Literature, and Biographies of Nobel Literature Prize Winners
Index to journals, books, dictionaries, dissertations, and conference papers on literature, languages, folklore and linguistics.
Includes critical writings on literature and human languages, including both naturallanguages and invented languages, e.g., Esperanto. Citations in a non-Roman alphabet are translated into the Roman alphabet.
Online version of the 1914 Oxford edition of the Complete Works of William Shakespeare which ranks among the most authoritative published this century.
The 37 plays, 154 sonnets and miscellaneous verse constitute the literary cornerstone of Western civilization.
The most comprehensive site covering English-language poets. Sponsored by the Academy of American Poets it includes biographies, bibliographies, texts of poems, audio, video. Easy to search.
