Databases & Images - Ohio State Newark: English 1110 - First-Year English Composition

Primary Sources

America's Newspapers - Ohio [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Toledo Blade 1/1/1996-Present; Cincinnati Post 4/1/1990-12/31/2007; Dayton Daily News 1/1/1990-Present; Cleveland Plain Dealer 6/1/1991-Present; Columbus Dispatch 7/6/1985-Present.
The National Security Archive [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Declassified documents, pictures, and recordings obtained through the Freedom of Information Act
by the National Security Archive, an independent non-governmental research institute and library
ProQuest Historical Newspapers [OSU] This link opens in a new window
This database offers full text including images for several prominent newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries, together in a searchable interface.
Coverage includes:
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Chicago Tribune (1849-1987)
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
Los Angeles Times (1881-1987)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
The New York Times (1851-2007) with Index (1851-1993)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
The Times of India (1838-2001)
The Washington Post (1877-1994)
Wall Street Journal (1889-1995)
Public Health Archives [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970 documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States
through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. For scholars in the fields of American history, American studies, history of science and medicine, public health studies, sociology, political science, psychology, and economics, it documents through primary sources that record the evolution and impact of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at the local, national, and federal levels, opening for researchers a new window on the roles played by key organizations and individuals to advance public health practices and outcomes.
The Vogue Archive [OSU] This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included,
with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Additional Resources

Billy Ireland Cartoon Library
The Billy Ireland Cartoon Library & Museum houses the world’s largest collection of materials related to cartoons and comics, including original art, books, magazines, journals, comic books, archival materials, and newspaper comic strip pages and clippings.
Ohio Public Policy Archives
Ohio Public Policy Archives compiles, preserves, and makes accessible the unique historical materials documenting the immediate and long-term impact of Ohio members of the U.S. Congress.

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete [OSU] This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text [OSU] This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing.
It has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
Gender Studies Database [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database, produced by NISC, combines NISC’s popular Women’s Studies International and Men's Studies databases
with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.
JSTOR [OSU] This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis) [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni™ features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis ®
—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types
Opposing Viewpoints in Context [OSU] This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Index, abstracts, and full text for publications in sociology. Includes content from the EBSCO Sociological Collection database.

Image & Video Resources

Billy Ireland Cartoon Library
Creative Commons Search
Flickr
"Flickr is home to over five billion of the world’s photos. Get a glimpse of another world by diving into the official White House photostream or the newest images from NASA. Or explore a moment in history with archived collections from the Smithsonian, Library of Congress and more in The Commons (Explore Flickr)."
Google Images
Kanopy Streaming Service
Kanopy is a streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons is a source of freely reusable media files. There may be limits on how an item can be reused because much of the material is still owned by the individual creator. Check the license before using any item.

Additional Databases

Oxford Art Online [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Contains 45,000 articles on every aspect of the visual arts painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture,
decorative arts and photography from prehistory to the present day. Topics include, artist biographies, patrons, writers, cultures, countries, towns, styles, movements, theories, subject matters, iconography and more.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Primary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels.
The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines.
The Vogue Archive [OSU] This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included,
with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.

Creating a Search

Booleans

AND - Commands a search engine to bring back both terms

OR - Commands a search engine to bring back either of the terms

NOT - Commands a search engine to ignore all results with a certain word.

Quick tip: in Google, use a minus sign (-) instead of NOT

Quotation marks

Bring back exact search results. "Ohio State University" means only OSU, no Ohio University too.

What to learn more? Review these sections of Choosing and Using Sources

Main Concepts

Precision Searching

Search Statements

How do I type a search?

DO:

Do choose main topic words

Do use precise words

Do use Booleans!

Do use synonyms

DON'T

Don't use full sentences or sentence fragments

Don't be too vague when you are looking for something specific

Unless part of a proper name, don't include: A, The, An, etc.

Ohio State Newark: English 1110 - First-Year English Composition

Using a Database

" Full Text "

Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals

Abstract

Evaluating Web Sites

Copyright Guides