Databases provide you with access to a wide range of articles that can be used as resources for your paper. When searching in the database, keep in mind the terms listed below. They will assist you in navigating the databases and locating resources.
By selecting the full text box in a database, you are ensuring that the database will only retrieve articles that are available in their complete format. If you do not select the full text box, you will still receive results, but you may only receive the citations.
Articles that are submitted to a scholarly journal must first be evaluated by an editorial team for the journal. This team reviews the article in order to verify that the research is authentic. If you know that you must use scholarly journals for your assignment, you should select this box.
An abstract is a short summary, detailing the main idea of a journal article. Searching within the abstracts of articles can assist you in locating information that is pertinent to your topic.
Evaluating Web Sites
Learn how to evaluate websites for credibility through lateral reading+ with Pressbooks.
Ecology Abstracts focuses on how organisms of all kinds - microbes, plants, and animals - interact with their environments and with other organisms.
Included are relevant papers on evolutionary biology, economics, and systems analysis as they relate to ecosystems or the environment. With coverage ranging from habitats to food chains, from erosion to land reclamation, the journal provides an important cross-section of current findings in target research areas. Detailed information on resource and ecosystems management and modeling contributes to the journal's practical value, as does material on the impact of climate, water resources, soil, and man or growing environmental problems such as depletion, erosion, and pollution all topics which are covered in depth.
Environment Complete contains all of the content available in Environment Index, as well as full text for 400 journals, including many of the most used journals
in the discipline, such as Environment (back to 1975), Ecologist, Conservation Biology, etc. Environment Complete also provides full text for 80 monographs, such as Encyclopedia of World Environmental History (3 volumes), Advances in Water Treatment & Environmental Management, etc. Further, the database offers full text for the conference papers of the North American Association of Environmental Education.
Global news service from the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Announces the latest findings in science, medicine, technology, health and social sciences.
Established by the National Science Foundation, LTER researchers study ecological processes at 26 diverse U.S. sites. Includes research papers, data, photographs, etc.
UC-Berkeley’s award-winning "one-stop source for information on evolution" includes tutorials on the basics, videos on phylogenetics, the history of evolutionary theory, the fossil record, and evolution in the news.
