Ohio State Newark: Geography

Civil War Washington examines the U.S. national capital from multiple perspectives as a case study of social, political, cultural and medical/scientific transitions provoked or accelerated by the Civil War. The project draws on the methods of many fields—literary studies, history, geography, computer-aided mapping—to create a digital resource that chronicles the war's impact on the city. Troops, fugitive slaves, bureaucrats, prostitutes, actors, authors, doctors, and laborers were among those drawn to the capital by a sense of duty, desperation, or adventure. Drawing on material ranging from census records to literary texts and from forgotten individuals to the famous (such as Abraham Lincoln and Walt Whitman) we examine how Washington changed from a sleepy Southern town to the symbolic center of the Union and nation.

The Digital Activism Research Project (DARP) was founded in the fall of 2012 in the Department of Communication at the University of Washington (UW) in Seattle. Since its founding, DARP has been committed to taking a rigorously empirical, social science approach to the study of global digital activism, civic engagement, non-violent conflict and citizen journalism. Its approach is open and collaborative, and the project has engaged students both at UW and at other universities in its work, as well as making all its work accessible to the public through Creative Commons licensing. We believe that the study of global digital activism can and must be accomplished through open access and cooperation.

A blog about digital geography software, tools, and approaches in digital mapping.

HyperCities is a digital research and educational platform for exploring, learning about, and interacting with the layered histories of city and global spaces.

ORBIS: The Stanford Geospatial Network Model of the Roman World reconstructs the time cost and financial expense associated with a wide range of different types of travel in antiquity. The model is based on a simplified version of the giant network of cities, roads, rivers and sea lanes that framed movement across the Roman Empire. It broadly reflects conditions around 200 CE but also covers a few sites and roads created in late antiquity.

The Spatial History Project at Stanford University is a place for a collaborative community of students, staff, and scholars to engage in creative spatial, textual and visual analysis to further research in the humanities.

The AAG has a long history of initiating and leading projects designed to enhance the quality of geography education at all levels. We currently offer award-winning materials for teaching geography, online modules for international collaborative learning, and tools for student projects in sustainable development.

The Charles Booth Online Archive is a searchable resource giving access to archive material from the Booth collections of the Library of the London School of Economics and Political Science and the Senate House Library. The Booth collection at LSE Library contains the original records from Booth's survey into life and labour in London, dating from 1886 to 1903. The archives of the Senate House Library contain Booth family papers from 1799 to 1967.

The National Geographic Society has been inspiring people to care about the planet since 1888. It is one of the largest nonprofit scientific and educational institutions in the world. Its interests include geography, archaeology and natural science, and the promotion of environmental and historical conservation.

by Max Fischer: "Maps can be a remarkably powerful tool for understanding the world and how it works, but they show only what you ask them to. So when we saw a post sweeping the Web titled "40 maps they didn't teach you in school," one of which happens to be a WorldViews original, I thought we might be able to contribute our own collection."