Journals & Databases - Ohio State Newark: History 4005 - Seminar in Early American History

Recommended Databases

17th & 18th Century NICHOLS Collection of UK Newspapers This link opens in a new window
The 17th and 18th Century Nichols Newspapers Collection features the newspapers and periodicals, as well as pamphlets and broadsheets, that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian Library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737, are presented in digitised format.
American Founding Era This link opens in a new window
The American Founding Era Collection contains the annotated, full-text searchable set of the personal papers and manuscripts of the founders of the American Republic. Includes the papers of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, Dolley Madison, James Madison, John Marshall, Andrew Jackson, Eliza L. Pinckney, Woodrow Wilson and Harriott P. Horry, diaries of Gouverneur Morris, the Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution and the People of the Founding Era collection.
Early English Books Online [OSU] This link opens in a new window
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare,
this collection contains over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised edition. Allows for exhaustive research requirements of graduate scholars in the areas of English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, and the fine arts.
Frontier Life [OSU] This link opens in a new window
This digital collection of primary source documents helps to understand existence on the edges of the anglophone world from 1650-1920. Discover the various European and colonial frontier regions of North America, Africa and Australasia through documents that reveal the lives of settlers and indigenous peoples in these area

Research Guides

Ohio State Newark: Research & More
by Katie Blocksidge Last Updated Apr 15, 2024 93 views this year
Ohio State Newark: Periodicals & More
by Katie Blocksidge Last Updated Jan 8, 2024 143 views this year

Helpful Websites

A Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
Journals of the Continental Congress, the Constitutional Convention, and the United States Congress are included, as are bills, resolutions, statutes, debates, private diaries, and letters of delegates.
Colonial America
Colonial America will make available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period.
Colonial North America at Harvard Library
Worlds of Change: Colonial North America at Harvard Library provides access to remarkable and wide-ranging materials digitized as part of a multi-year project to make available to the world more than 700,000 digitized pages of all known archival and manuscript materials in the Harvard Library that relate to 17th- and 18th-century North America.
Colonial State Papers
more...less...
The Colonial State Papers offers access to over 7,000 hand-written documents and more than 40,000 bibliographic records with this incredible resource on Colonial History. In addition to Britain's colonial relations with the Americas and other European rivals for power, this collection also covers the Caribbean and Atlantic world. It is an invaluable resource for scholars of early American history, British colonial history, Caribbean history, maritime history, Atlantic trade, plantations, and slavery.
Early American Imprints, Series I. Evans (1639-1800)
Early American Imprints, Series I is a sprawling digital collection of nearly every book, pamphlet, and broadside published in America over a 160-year period.
Early American Sources
Early Encounters in North America
Founders Online
Through this website, you can read and search through thousands of records from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison and see firsthand the growth of democracy and the birth of the Republic.
Library of Congress Research Guides
Alphabetic list of research guides for all time periods. Provides search strategies to get results from appropriate collections.
RUSA Colonial Primary Sources

OhioLINK Resources

COTC belongs to OhioLINK, the network of Ohio college, university, community and technical college libraries.

Items that are unavailable through the Newark Campus Library can frequently be obtained from OhioLINK. Go to OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) for online journals.

Tip: When logging into OhioLINK, your University ID number must be preceded by CT. For example, CT1234567.

Need help? Search OhioLINK here:

OhioLINK FAQ
Visit OhioLINK's Frequently Asked Questions page to learn how to request books from all over the state!
OhioLink Electronic Book Center (EBC)
OhioLink Electronic Book Center (EBC) is an excellent resource for scholarly books that are readable online.

Ohio State Newark: History 4005 - Seminar in Early American History

Using a Database

" Full Text "

Scholarly (Peer-Reviewed) Journals

Abstract

Evaluating Web Sites

Free eBook Resources

Recommended Databases

Research Guides

Helpful Websites

OhioLINK Resources