Databases provide you with access to a wide range of articles that can be used as resources for your paper. When searching in the database, keep in mind the terms listed below. They will assist you in navigating the databases and locating resources.
By selecting the full text box in a database, you are ensuring that the database will only retrieve articles that are available in their complete format. If you do not select the full text box, you will still receive results, but you may only receive the citations.
Articles that are submitted to a scholarly journal must first be evaluated by an editorial team for the journal. This team reviews the article in order to verify that the research is authentic. If you know that you must use scholarly journals for your assignment, you should select this box.
An abstract is a short summary, detailing the main idea of a journal article. Searching within the abstracts of articles can assist you in locating information that is pertinent to your topic.
Evaluating Web Sites
Learn how to evaluate websites for credibility through lateral reading+ with Pressbooks.
Provides access to the international literature in psychology and material relevant to psychology
in the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, psychiatry and communications. Includes journals and dissertations from 1967 to the present in one database, and book chapters and books from 1987 to the present in a second database.The databases are in English and the journals covered are in 30 languages from over 45 countries. The databases provide citations, content summaries (for all but the dissertations), and indexing using terms from the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Book records also contain the book's table of contents.
Gender Studies Database, produced by NISC, combines NISC’s popular Women’s Studies International and Men's Studies databases
with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. This database includes more than 696,750 records with coverage spanning from 1972 and earlier to present.
A comprehensive database with more than 510 full text titles covering topics such as emotional
and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. A subset of Academic Search Premier.
PsycTESTS is a research database that provides access to psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments as well as descriptive information about the test and its development and administration.
The Conversation US maintains a Women in Media topic page, covering issues for women in media around the world. The Conversation is an independent, not-for-profit media outlet that uses content sourced from academics and researchers.
(PDF) - An overview of a series of online discussions organized by the UN Department of Public Information in February 2010. Among the issues discussed are gender equality and the pay gap in media organizations, representation of women in the media, and violence against female journalists.
