Databases provide you with access to a wide range of articles that can be used as resources for your paper. When searching in the database, keep in mind the terms listed below. They will assist you in navigating the databases and locating resources.
By selecting the full text box in a database, you are ensuring that the database will only retrieve articles that are available in their complete format. If you do not select the full text box, you will still receive results, but you may only receive the citations.
Articles that are submitted to a scholarly journal must first be evaluated by an editorial team for the journal. This team reviews the article in order to verify that the research is authentic. If you know that you must use scholarly journals for your assignment, you should select this box.
An abstract is a short summary, detailing the main idea of a journal article. Searching within the abstracts of articles can assist you in locating information that is pertinent to your topic.
Evaluating Web Sites
Learn how to evaluate websites for credibility through lateral reading+ with Pressbooks.
Provides access to the international literature in psychology and material relevant to psychology
in the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, psychiatry and communications. Includes journals and dissertations from 1967 to the present in one database, and book chapters and books from 1987 to the present in a second database.The databases are in English and the journals covered are in 30 languages from over 45 countries. The databases provide citations, content summaries (for all but the dissertations), and indexing using terms from the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Book records also contain the book's table of contents.
This resource offers annotated bibliographies and research guides on the subject of social work. It covers discoveries, interpretations, and theories in this field grounded in social theory and the improvement of peoples’ lives.
Social Work Online is a first-of-its-kind resource that pairs recently published social work textbooks along with compelling documentaries clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners.
