Databases provide you with access to a wide range of articles that can be used as resources for your paper. When searching in the database, keep in mind the terms listed below. They will assist you in navigating the databases and locating resources.
By selecting the full text box in a database, you are ensuring that the database will only retrieve articles that are available in their complete format. If you do not select the full text box, you will still receive results, but you may only receive the citations.
Articles that are submitted to a scholarly journal must first be evaluated by an editorial team for the journal. This team reviews the article in order to verify that the research is authentic. If you know that you must use scholarly journals for your assignment, you should select this box.
An abstract is a short summary, detailing the main idea of a journal article. Searching within the abstracts of articles can assist you in locating information that is pertinent to your topic.
Evaluating Web Sites
Learn how to evaluate websites for credibility through lateral reading+ with Pressbooks.
This collection will include more than 300 dramatic works in streaming audio from the curated archive of The L.A. Theatre Works radio theatre company.
The collection presents classics of the Western canon, modern works by American luminaries, originally commissioned plays, and high profile docudramas by both renowned and emerging playwrights. Critical essays, annotated playlists, and scene-level indexing by known figures in medicine, academia, politics, and other fields will draw connections from the plays to issues and topics in the humanities, social sciences, theatre, hard sciences, law, medicine, and other fields of study. Audio Drama's teaching tools include playlists, permanent URLs for electronic course reserves, and optional downloads.
Black Drama contains plays with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,200 plays, of which some 20% have never been published before. The database will also include many more resources and related material. The plays themselves have been selected using leading bibliographies and with the editorial advice of James V. Hatch, a leading expert in this area.
Music Online allows users cross search all of the music databases published by Alexander Street Press.
Music Online can potentially cross-search any combination of these databases: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Dance in Video, Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries, and Jazz Music Library.
North American Theatre Online is a major reference tool containing tens of thousands of pages of key, in-copyright reference works
available electronically including O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series. The database also includes hundreds of thousands of bibliographic records with rich information about authors, plays, theatres, productions, production companies, casts, and related information and aims to cover the world of theatre from colonial times to the present.
North American Theatre Online is a major reference tool containing tens of thousands of pages of key, in-copyright reference works
available electronically including O’Dell’s Annals of the New York Stage, the Oxford University Press Companion series, and Greenwood’s American Theatre Companies series. The database also includes hundreds of thousands of bibliographic records with rich information about authors, plays, theatres, productions, production companies, casts, and related information and aims to cover the world of theatre from colonial times to the present.
This website is a good online resource for actors to find monologues and scenes to work on. It has over 600 pieces from films, television, books and plays.
