Skip to main content

Ohio State Newark: Periodicals & More: Recommended Databases

Use this guide to help navigate online journals and databases as well as find print periodicals for your research needs.

Research Databases

Research Databases are services provided by publishers and other vendors.  Some are periodical indexes which give citations to specific articles in magazines and professional journals and have links to the full text of articles.  Others are the online versions of print sources which give various sorts of information, from statistics to demographics to encyclopedic essays.  Still others are public sites on the Internet that we link to.  The Warner Library has access to many of them. The databases below will be useful in finding periodical articles for your research needs.

You can generate a complete list of the available subscriptions in a specific subject area from the Research Databases List page. Locate specific journal titles through OSU LIbraries Online Journals List. Or, do a multi-database search using Worldcat@OSU.

Ohio State University Libraries has many helpful subject research guides; browse these guides to find more recommended databases. 

Note: To generate a list of library databases in a specific subject area on the Research Databases List go to the box on the right and find the subject you want, i. e. education.  Click to highlight it.  On the next page you will get a list of the databases that either OSU or OhioLINK subscribe to that are related to that subject.  The little description under the link to the database will indicate whether it is a source of periodical articles or something else. For more of a complete description, go to the right side of the list and click on About Resource.  

OhioLINK

The Ohio State University belongs to OhioLINK, the network of Ohio college, university, community and technical college libraries. Items that are unavailable through the Newark Campus Library can frequently be obtained from OhioLINK. Go to OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) for online journals. 

Need help with OhioLink? Check out the Help and Tips page.

Search OhioLINK Catalog:

 

Choosing a Database in OhioLink

Contact Us:

Student sitting a table in the Warner Library.

John L & Christine Warner Library
Ohio State University
Newark Campus

Visit Us: directions to the library

For reference help:
740-366-9306
740-366-9308

Search OSU Libraries

OSU Libraries Online Catalog: Use it to find records of library materials of any kind  in the OSU Libraries’ collections. Items that are available can be requested from other OSU locations and generally arrive within three to five days, but a search can also be defaulted to just what is on the shelf in Newark.

Or, narrow your search by using Find Journals through the OSU Libraries Catalog.

Ask Us

We are online during library hours.