Contact the Library

Calvin Cleary
Reference & Instruction Librarian
419-995-8488
cleary.110@osu.edu

Lima Campus Library Hours

Monday: 8 AM - 8 PM
Tuesday: 8 AM - 8 PM
Wednesday: 8 AM - 8 PM
Thursday: 8 AM - 8 PM
Friday: 8 AM - 5 PM

Call or e-mail the library
lima-library@osu.edu
419-995-8401

Rhodes @ Lima Campus Library

There are many more resources available to help you excel on your research projects, and you can reach them from the Lima Campus Library website.

Resources

In the healthcare professions, you come in contact with people from cultures all over the world. It's vital that you be aware of the unique needs and attitudes these cultures have towards their health so that you can serve them practically and efficiently. Over the course of this assignment, you are going to be getting to know one particular culture quite well.

You will be doing a fair bit of research to help you get comfortable with the culture of your choice, so we've prepared this brief guide to help point you towards some resources that may be helpful and give you a basic idea on how to use them. But remember: If you aren't sure where to go next, don't hesitate to ask for help! The library's contact information is on the side of the page, and this is exactly what they're here to do.

Once you write your paper, please submit it in ANGEL (log-in here) as a Microsoft Word document (.doc). Your paper should be written professionally, with a title page, an abstract, and a Reference List in APA style. You must have at least four distinct resources used in your paper, one from a book, one from an academic journal, aand the other two from reliable sources.

Below are some helpful tools for your research process.

How to Search for Resources

Whether you're looking for books or for articles, most catalogs and databases default to a 'keyword' search, looking for exactly what you type in somewhere in the author, title, subject, and description of the item (NOT in the full text or index of the book or article). So, knowing the right things to search can be a huge help! Here are a few keyword suggestions.

medical anthropology
transcultural medical care
transcultural nursing
minorities medical care
health attitudes

You could also get more specific! For example...

health care AND African Americans
Amish attitude to health
Chinese AND health care

The important thing to remember is that your search term must cover each aspect of the question you want answered. Just searching 'health care' alone will inundate you with useless articles; similarly, just looking for 'Native Americans' will cover such a wide variety of topics that you'll have trouble getting healthcare information. You need to combine both aspects to make a good search.

Some brief citation help...

Whether you get your resource from a book, an online journal, or a website, there are rules to correctly cite your source. Citing each source you use is important, both to give credit to the creator of the work and to avoid plagiarism, but it is also time consuming. These are some resources you can use to help.

  • The OWL @ Purdue - The OWL is a free online guide to citing sources quickly and correctly. While it won't cite any resource for you, if you learn how to find things on the page quickly you have an easy-to-use template for every occasion.
  • EBSCO Citation Tool - Any article you find in an EBSCO database (like Academic Search Complete, hint hint) will have a built-in citation. Just look under 'Tools' in the article's record, click 'Cite', and choose your preferred style!
  • Zotero - Zotero is a free, open-source platform that helps you organize your resources and create your citations.

Many times, resources are specialized to focus on one particular type of information. This is particularly true of databases. Often, to get the best possible information, you will find yourself searching more than one database, and it helps to choose ones that focus on your area of study. To organize all RSC databases by subject, please click here.

Below, I link to two particular medical-related databases. Using the suggested keywords on the previous page, see if you can find some helpful articles for your paper.

To find books, you are going to use the library's catalog, below. On the previous page, I posted some helpful search terms and ideas that may get you started thinking about your topic. Using those terms, can you find any books for your paper?

The Lima Campus Library (and a great many academic libraries) is organized by a system known as 'Library of Congress'. That means that books or grouped together by subject rather than author, letting you know where you can go to browse and potentially find some interesting books on the topic. Many books for this project will be near the call numbers RA418 or RT86, though there are more beyond. Bring those call numbers to the front desk of the library and they can show you to your section.

Advanced Search>>

In addition to books and academic journal articles, you'll also be able to use e-books and websites. The same basic ideas apply: Create your search term, plug it into the appropriate engine, and evaluate the resources that come back to see what looks reliable. Below, I've included links to a handful of e-books and websites that can help get you started, but there's a lot more out there!

The growing Latino population of the United States stands poised to shape the nation’s future throughout the twenty-first century, yet serious obstacles hinder the full participation of the Latino community in American society.  Access to mental health care poses a particular challenge for many segments of the population.  Although significant scholarship has focused on the delivery of culturally competent practice, few academic resources address systemic issues that affect the actual delivery of services to Latino clients.  In response, Creating Infrastructures for Latino Mental Health provides the first interdisciplinary guide aimed at improving access to mental health services.  Experts from several specialties provide state-of-the-art analyses and innovative strategies for tackling the structural, organizational, and linguistic issues that contribute to service inequities.
from the book's description on Springer.

Population-wide, the African American community has a higher mortality rate from cancer and diabetes than the rest of the population, a higher infant mortality rate, and a lower vaccination rate for influenza and pneumonia. The contributions to this comprehensive Handbook of African American Health uncover the specific demographic conditions of the African American population, and outline social interventions for both physical and mental health at the primary, secondary, and tertiary levels.
from the book's description on Springer

http://www2.etown.edu/amishstudies/Health.asp
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/hispanic-health.htm
http://www.hispanichealth.com/hhc/
http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/american-indian-health.htm

  • Last Updated: Feb 5, 2020 3:59 PM
  • URL: https://osu.libguides.com/rscd
  • Print Page