LibGuides: Rhodes African American Literature: Home

Listed below are databases that can lead you to articles from scholarly journals in the field of African American literature and other related fields. If you want a refresher on using databases, please get in touch with us at the library.

For a complete list of all of OhioLINK's databases, please click here.

Academic Search Complete
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for Amore than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Academic Search Complete Off Campus Access
Off Campus Access
Film & Television Literature Index
Index, abstracts, and full text of articles related to film and television.
is the online resource for film and television research. It is a comprehensive bibliographic and full text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film. Subject coverage includes film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals and nearly 50 books. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
Film & Television Literature Index Off Campus Access
Off Campus Access
Literary Reference Center Plus
Information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.
is a comprehensive database that provides users with a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. LRC includes: Over 1,200 Additional Full-Text Literary Reference Books/Works, including titles with a focus on plays/drama, poetry, religious literature, children's literature, Hispanic literature, and other areas; Over 200 Additional Full-Text Literary Journals & Magazines, including titles with a focus on multi-cultural studies, folklore, Latin America literature, and historical literature; 35 Volumes of New Contemporary Literature Titles from Salem Press relating to Fantasy/Science Fiction, Contemporary Literature, World Philosophy, Quotations In Context, Religious Literature, and Biographies of Nobel Literature Prize Winners; 40 Full-Text Literary study guides; plot summaries, synopses and work overviews; articles of literary criticism; full text of literary journals; author biographies; book reviews; author interviews; and images of key literary figures.
Literary Reference Center Plus Off Campus Access
Off Campus Access
MLA International Bibliography
An index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
Coverage includes literature from all over the world. Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.
MLA International Bibliography Off Campus Access
Off Campus Access
Folklore is represented by folk literature, music, art, rituals, and belief systems. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation. Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. The MLA Directory of Periodicals and the Association's proprietary thesaurus used to assign descriptors to each record in the bibliography are also included.

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and these resources are provided as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects.

MLA Formatting and Style Guide - The Purdue Owl

Your Library Catalog

New to the catalog? Click here to watch a short tutorial on using this tool!

Rhodes African American Literature: Home

Contact Us

Rhodes State @ Lima Campus Library

Course Readings

Your Library Catalog

Translate - Traducir - Traduire - 翻译 - Переведите - ترجمه