It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study.
designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for Amore than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Now offered as part of the American and English Literature Collection. Use Search by Collection pull down menu to limit search to only African-American Poetry.
includes the full text of almost 3000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. African-American Poetry is a resource for literary scholars and for researchers in black studies, linguistics, women's studies, black literary heritage, and comparative studies. The poetry explores a multitude of topics, including abolition, children, civil rights, dreams, education, fugitive slave law, Indian raids, liberty, political issues, prejudice, and slavery. The variety of poem types is equally broad. The database includes allegories, broadsides, children's poems, elegiac poems, epics, hymns, odes, patriotic poems, and sonnets. The poets are among those included in the William French et al. bibliography, Afro-American Poetry and Drama, 1760-1975. The full-text of the poems is included and is fully searchable.
Citations for journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports related to agriculture.
provides citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines including plant and animal sciences, forestry, entomology, soil and water resources, agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, agricultural products, alternative farming practices, and food and nutrition. Auxiliary subjects that support NAL's Information Center activities, such as agricultural trade and marketing, rural information, and animal welfare are also included in the database. Some institutions use a web-based citation manager called RefWorks. For help, check with your library staff.
Index, abstracts, and full text covering complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers an immediate resource of full text articles, from more than 170 international, and often peer reviewed, reports, proceedings, association and consumer newsletters. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
America: History and Life is the index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is an important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history. The database also includes citations and links to book and media reviews. Strong English-language journal coverage is balanced by an international perspective on topics and events, including abstracts in English of articles published in more than 40 languages.
Full text of books and other sources of poetry, drama and prose originally published in print. Also includes 21 historic editions of the Bible in English.
contains many works of poetry, drama, and prose, based on books and other sources originally published in print. Collections include: 20th Century African American Poetry Collection; 20th Century American Poetry Collection; 20th Century English Poetry Collection; African American Poetry 1700-1900 Collection; American Poetry 1600-1900 Collection; Bible in English; Bibliography of American Literature; Early American Fiction 1774-1850; Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare; Eighteenth-Century Fiction 1700-1800; English Poetry 600-1900 Collection; English Prose Drama 1280-1915; English Verse Drama 13-19th Centuries; W.B. Yeats Collections.
Includes the following databases:
Advertising Periodicals, 1815-1888
Agricultural Periodicals from the Northeastern US, 1789-1879
Agricultural Periodicals from the Southern, Midwestern, and Western US, 1800-1878
Alternative Faith and Philosophy Periodicals, 1789-1878
Alternative Medicine and Health Periodicals, 1810-1877
American Civil War Periodicals, 1855-1868
American Literary Periodicals, 1782-1834
American Literary Periodicals, 1835-1858
American Literary Periodicals, 1859-1891
American Medicine, Surgery, Dentistry Periodicals, 1786-1877
American Political and Social Movements Periodicals, 1815-1884
American Political Periodicals, 1715-1891
Baptists, Quakers, and Independent Church Periodicals, 1797-1881
Business and General Education Periodicals, 1800-1885
Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1774-1858
Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1859-1870
Business, Industrial and Professional Periodicals, 1871-1901
Canadian Periodicals, 1790-1877
Catholic, Lutheran, Methodist, and Episcopal Periodicals, 1797-1904
College and Student Periodicals, 1806-1877
Commercial Periodicals from the Southern US, 1811-1877
Congregational, Presbyterian, and Reformed Church Periodicals, 1803-1902
Cultural Periodicals from the Southern US, 1797-1877
Current Events and History Periodicals, 1691-1912
Drama, Humor, and Fine Arts Periodicals, 1764-1877
Emerging American Religions, 1821-1895
Fireside Companions and Family Literature Periodicals, 1805-1877
Foreign Language Periodicals in America, 1684-1904
General Interest Christian Periodicals, 1743-1889
Hobbies, Socialization, and Sport Periodicals, 1775-1889
Literary Periodicals of New England, 1789-1878
Masons, Odd-Fellows and Other Societal Periodicals, 1794-1877
Military and Law Enforcement Periodicals, 1691-1877
Missionary and Charity Periodicals, 1793-1902
Musical Periodicals, 1781-1879
Periodicals from Around the World, 1691-1880
Periodicals of the American West, 1779-1881
Periodicals of the British Empire and Its Colonies, 1702-1879
Popular Educational Periodicals, 1758-1889
Religious Periodicals for Women, Children, and Families, 1804-1878
Religious Periodicals from the Southern US, 1801-1904
Scientific Periodicals, 1771-1901
Slavery and Abolition, 1789-1887
Story Papers, Dimes and Dollar Periodicals, 1828-1877
Sunday School Periodicals, 1818-1885
Temperance Periodicals in America, 1826-1877
Theology and Biblical Studies Periodicals, 1760-1877
Women’s Periodicals of the Eighteenth and Nineteenth Century, 1733-1844
Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1845-1865
Women’s Periodicals of the Nineteenth Century, 1866-1891
Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
contains page images of more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers. These resources illuminate the development of American culture, politics, and society across some 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, and words in the complete text. The collection is arranged in three series: 1741-1800, the period of transition from British colony to emerging nation; 1800-1850, pre-Civil War and the era of debate over slavery; and 1850-1900, Civil War and Reconstruction. Magazines of these periods cover the literature, science, religion, arts, and history of the time.
Now offered as part of the American and English Literature Collection.
is a collection of 1,200 books and anthologies of early American poetry providing access to 40,000 poems of American writers from the 17th to the early 20th century. This database contains the works of all major American poets, including Emily Dickinson, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Phillis Wheatley, Walt Whitman, and John Greenleaf Whittier. It also covers many less familiar names. An eminent editorial advisory board selected the authors and editions for inclusion in American Poetry. It used as its principal bibliographic source, the Bibliography of American Literature, Yale University Press, 1955-1991, and supplemented this with additional poets to provide a more thorough and rounded collection. The complete text of each poem is included. Any accompanying text written by the original author and forming an integral part of the work, such as notes, dedications, and prefaces to individual poems, is also generally included.
Index, abstracts, and full text for articles in art.
offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. Full-text coverage for selected periodicals is also included. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.
is an index of the items listed on table of contents pages of over 12,000 journals. This index covers articles, news stories, letters and other items on topics as diverse as business, humanities, medicine, popular culture, sciences, social sciences, and technology. For most items, the database also provides a list of libraries that hold the journal.
provides users access to over half a century of art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes high-quality indexing of nearly 600 publications, many of which are peer-reviewed, and citations of over 25,000 book reviews.
Open access to over 750,000 e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics
is a highly-automated electronic archive and distribution server for research articles. Covered areas include physics, mathematics, computer science, nonlinear sciences, quantitative biology and statistics.
Index to articles, book reviews, and essays in religion and theology.
is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Subjects: antiquities and archaeology, Bible, church history, ecumenism, ethics, missions, pastoral ministry, philosophy, religions and religious studies, theology. The ATLA Religion Database includes a full range of index citations to journal articles, essays in multi-author works, and book reviews from four ATLA print/online indexes.