Ohio State Lima HIS 4795 Helfferich Sp24: Home
Contact Us
April 28-August 22
Online/By appointment
We are available for research consultations and class visits. Please make an appointment to pick up library materials. Thank you!
OSU @ Lima Campus Library
There are many more resources available to help you excel on your research projects, and you can reach them from the Lima Campus Library website.
Resources
To find books, you are going to use the library's catalog, below.
The Lima Campus Library (and a great many academic libraries) is organized by a system known as 'Library of Congress'. That means that books or grouped together by subject rather than author, letting you know where you can go to browse and potentially find some interesting books on the topic.
If you want help finding a book in the library, just print out the page from the catalog and bring it to the library. We're here to help!
The Ohio State University Libraries offers numerous databases that make finding primary source documents searchable, and many of these documents are available online regardless of where you are accessing them.
- African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 [OSU] This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
- America's Historical Newspapers [OSU] This link opens in a new windowFeatures cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers...
- American Founding Era This link opens in a new windowThe American Founding Era Collection contains the annotated, full-text searchable set of the personal papers and manuscripts of the founders of the American Republic. Includes the papers of George Washington, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, Alexander Hamilton, John Jay, Dolley Madison, James Madison, John Marshall, Andrew Jackson, Eliza L. Pinckney, Woodrow Wilson and Harriott P. Horry, diaries of Gouverneur Morris, the Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution and the People of the Founding Era collection.
- China: Culture and Society [OSU] This link opens in a new window Spanning three centuries (c1750-1929), this resource makes available pamphlets from Cornell University Library’s Charles W. Wason Collection on East Asia.
- Early English Books Online [OSU] This link opens in a new windowFrom the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare,
- Electronic Enlightenment [OSU] This link opens in a new window Electronic Enlightenment (EE) offers access to the correspondence between thinkers and writers of the eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers.
- Library of Latin Texts: CLCLT [OSU] This link opens in a new windowContains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965)
Additionally, there are many useful websites that make primary sources easily accessible. Some that you may find useful are:
- Ancient World Digital Library
The Ancient World Digital Library (AWDL) is an initiative of the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World at New York University. AWDL will identify, collect, curate, and provide access to the broadest possible range of scholarly materials relevant to the study of the ancient world.
- EuroDocs
Organized by Richard Hacken, European Studies Librarian at the Harold B. Lee Library at Brigham Young University, these open access sources are readily available to all -- without fees or subscriptions. Links connect to European primary historical documents that are transcribed, reproduced in facsimile, or translated.
- Europeana
The Europeana website provides cultural heritage enthusiasts, professionals, teachers, and researchers with access to Europe's digital cultural heritage. This site gives you access to millions of items from providing institutions across Europe. Discover artworks, books, music, and videos on art, newspapers, archaeology, fashion, science, sport, and much more.
- Internet History Sourcebooks Project
A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented without advertising or excessive layout for educational use. From the outset the site took a very broad view of the primary sources that should be available to students and as well as documents long associated with a "western civilization" approach to history also provides much information on Byzantine, Islamic, Jewish, Indian, East Asian, and African history. You will also find many documents especially relevant to women's history and LGBT studies.
- Papers Past
Papers Past delivers digitised full-text New Zealand and Pacific newspapers, magazines and journals, books, and other formats.
- PerseusCatalog
The Perseus Catalog was conceived in 2005 as a way to integrate two complementary kinds of resources, bibliographies of authors and editions produced by and for classicists and metadata about Greek and Latin authors in more general library systems. The goal was to create a catalog that would provide coverage of Greek, Latin, and ultimately other literatures in a way that was suitable to a digital age
Listed below are databases that can lead you to articles from scholarly journals in the field of history and related fields. If you want a refresher on using databases, please get in touch with us at the library.
For a complete list of all of OSU's History databases, please click here.
For a complete list of all of OSU's databases, please click here.
- America: History and Life [OSU] This link opens in a new windowProvides articles abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations...
- Historical Abstracts [OSU] This link opens in a new windowA bibliographic database covering the world's scholarly literature in history,
- Humanities International Complete [OSU] This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database which includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.
- JSTOR [OSU] This link opens in a new windowJSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
In addition to books and academic journal articles, you'll also be able to use some websites to find information. Below are links to a handful of websites that can help get you started, but there's a lot more out there!
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format. The cultural institutions participating in DPLA represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from the smallest local history museum to our nation’s largest cultural institutions.