Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that provides 12 million students and faculty with access to more than 26,000 films each year. Kanopy works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
This database offers full text including images for several African-American newspapers from the 20th century, together in a searchable interface.
The Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988)
Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-1991)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
Black Studies Center is a fully cross-searchable gateway to black studies including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, historical newspaper articles, and reference books. It combines resources for research and teaching including The Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience, Index to Black Periodicals Full Text, Black Literature Index, and the Chicago Defender historical newspaper from 1912-1975.
Comprehensive database of material (including source material) on the history and culture of African-Americans. Includes some audio content (interviews, songs, etc.)
African American World is a resource compiled and produced by PBS with information about the history of African Americans in the United States as documented by programs on PBS and NPR. Includes sections about history, arts and culture, race and society, and profiles of prominent African Americans.
Women and Social Movements 1600-2000 contains several document projects and archives that interpret and present the history of women
in social movements in the U.S. between 1600 and 2000. Content includes full text primary sources, a dictionary of social movements and organizations, a chronology of U.S. women's history, and book and web site reviews. This Scholar's Edition includes all content in the Basic Edition, with additional digital archives from the Commissions on the Status of Women and the biographical dictionary Notable American Women.
Index and abstracts for publications covering gender-engaged scholarship.
combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources. Several thousand links to freely available and indexed full-text articles and documents on the Web are available, including carefully selected and important Websites.
