Ohio State Lima EEOB: Home
Contact Us
Nov. 27, 2024:
Online/By appointment
Autumn Hours
Monday-Friday, 8am-5pm
OSU @ Lima Campus Library
There are many more resources available to help you excel on your research projects, and you can reach them from the Lima Campus Library website.
Resources
To find books, you are going to use the library's catalog, below.
The Lima Campus Library (and a great many academic libraries) is organized by a system known as 'Library of Congress'. That means that books or grouped together by subject rather than author, letting you know where you can go to browse and potentially find some interesting books on the topic.
If you want help finding a book in the library, just print out the page from the catalog and bring it to the library. We're here to help!
Listed below are databases that can lead you to articles from scholarly journals in the field of EEOB and related fields. If you want a refresher on using databases, please get in touch with us at the library.
For a complete list of all of OSU's databases, please click here.
- Academic Search Complete [OSU] This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
- Agricultural and Environmental Science database [OSU] This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 5690 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
- BIOSIS Previews [OSU] This link opens in a new windowContains references to journal articles, reports, literature reviews, conference papers, patents, and book synopses in the life sciences
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text [OSU] This link opens in a new windowContains citations from 1982 to present with abstracts to articles published in more than 650 English-language nursing
- Environment Complete [OSU] This link opens in a new window Environment Complete contains all of the content available in Environment Index, as well as full text for 400 journals, including many of the most used journals
- JSTOR [OSU] This link opens in a new window JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
- MEDLINE with Full Text (1949 to present) [OSU] This link opens in a new window MEDLINE with Full Text includes all of the content available in MEDLINE as well as cover-to-cover full text for 1,014 journals indexed as cover-to-cover in MEDLINE.
- New York Times [OSU] This link opens in a new window The New York Times publishes the complete text of important documents, speeches and presidential press conferences. The paper's reporters have won scores of Pulitzer Prizes throughout the publication's 150-year history.
- Web of Science [OSU] This link opens in a new window Indexes almost 6,000 core journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities
Images, like other documents, may be stronger or weaker when it comes to supporting your claims. Here is what makes an image more useful:
- know where the image comes from
- know who owns it or who created it
- know if it’s original, vs. heavily edited or AI generated
Though Google Image Search is the easiest way to find a broad group of images, you'll find that many of the images that people use on commercial websites or blogs are frequently altered, have no clear ownership, or are of poor quality. It’s often impossible to know if they’re legitimate or who you can go to for permissions. With that in mind, here's a short list of alternatives to Google Images.
- MedPix - Free database of over 53,000 images for radiologists, organized by disease, body location, and patient profiles.
- Smithsonian Open Access - Nearly 3 million 2D and 3D images from the Smithsonian Institution's 19 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archives, and the National Zoo.
- Specimens - Gross and microscopic images of pathology specimens. All should have Creative Commons Attribution (CC-BY) licenses.
In addition to books and academic journal articles, you'll also be able to use some websites to find information. Below are links to a handful of websites that can help get you started, but there's a lot more out there!
- National Agricultural Statistics ServiceGo crazy with statistics! Agricultural Statistics is published each year by the United States Department of Agriculture to meet the diverse need for a reliable reference book on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.
- NCSS Web Soil SurveyUsers can specify a geographic area of interest (AOI) and view soil and thematic maps online.
- Integrated Taxonomic Information SystemThis database has authoritative information on the names of animals, plants, fungi and microbes. Use this to find everything from kingdom to species terms.
- Science Online (from Facts on File) [OSU] This link opens in a new windowDatabase containing thousands of diagrams, definitions, biographies, essays, and experiments
- National Library of Medicine Digital CollectionDigital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online archive of biomedical books and videos.
So what is a peer-reviewed article? Peer-review is a process in which articles written by experts in a field of study are reviewed and critiqued by experts in that field before they are published. This process usually assures any reader of the quality of research. Below are the differences between peer-reviewed articles, and articles that are not peer-reviewed:
Articles that ARE Peer-Reviewed:
- Typically longer than 3 pages
- Written by an expert researcher or researchers
- Contain a list of references
- Use complex language (i.e. methodology)
- Are usually more of interest to other experts than to the general public
Articles that ARE NOT Peer-Reviewed:
- News articles (i.e. Associated Press, Reuters)
- Magazine articles (i.e. People, Time)
- Trade or Professional publications (focusing more on working in a field than research)
There are some great tips and tools that you can use to make sure you’re getting peer-reviewed results:
- Use the “Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed” limiter in a database
- Examine the publishing journal’s official website
- Ulrichsweb, a database with information about periodicals indicates if an item is peer-reviewed
- Never used Ulrichsweb before? Here's a Video Tutorial to show you how to use it!
- When in doubt, ask a librarian or your instructor
Below are links to CSE guides that can help you learn more about this citation style. Please note that some courses, such as EEOB 4220, will require a slightly different citation style. Be sure to follow the guidelines for your specific course.