There are many more resources available to help you excel on your research projects, and you can reach them from the Lima Campus Library website.
To find books, you are going to use the library's catalog, below.
The Lima Campus Library (and a great many academic libraries) is organized by a system known as 'Library of Congress'. That means that books or grouped together by subject rather than author, letting you know where you can go to browse and potentially find some interesting books on the topic.
If you want help finding a book in the library, just print out the page from the catalog and bring it to the library. We're here to help!
Listed below are databases that can lead you to articles from scholarly journals that can support you as you get started with research in this class. If you want a refresher on using databases, please get in touch with us at the library.
In addition to books and academic journal articles, you'll also be able to use some websites to find information. Below are links to a handful of websites that can help get you started, but there's a lot more out there!
Access a large collection of maps, apps, and data layers from around the globe in categories such as basemaps, imagery, boundaries, people, infrastructure, and environment. Content marked as Premium requires an ArcGIS Online organizational account to access. To create your Ohio State ArcGIS Online account, refer to the getting started documentation at go.osu.edu/esri.
Visual data. "A collection of digitized images of buildings and cities drawn from across time and throughout the world, available to students, researchers and educators on the web." Quote from the Home page.
DataUSA provides a vast amount of national data across a broad variety of fields, including demographic numbers, industry profiles, and statistics of political interest. Data is collated from various reputable nonprofit and government sources, and each chart and graph is cited for transparency. This site also provides more specific data from the US Census than is easily available using the tools available on the Census's own webpage.
The International Historical Geographic Information System provides data tables from population, housing, and agricultural censuses from around the world, along with corresponding GIS boundary files.
Internet Archive
The Internet Archive is an American digital library founded on May 10, 1996, and chaired by free information advocate Brewster Kahle. It provides free access to collections of digitized materials including websites, software applications, music, audiovisual and print materials.
The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and these resources are provided as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects.
