Ohio State Lima History: Home

Contact Us

Hours

8am-5pm, Monday-Friday

lima.osu.edu

Student Job Application

OSU @ Lima Campus Library

There are many more resources available to help you excel on your research projects, and you can reach them from the Lima Campus Library website.

Resources

To find books, you are going to use the library's catalog, below.

The Lima Campus Library (and a great many academic libraries) is organized by a system known as 'Library of Congress'. That means that books or grouped together by subject rather than author, letting you know where you can go to browse and potentially find some interesting books on the topic.

If you want help finding a book in the library, just print out the page from the catalog and bring it to the library. We're here to help!

OhioLINK Electronic Book Center (EBC)

Listed below are databases that can lead you to articles from scholarly journals in the field of history and related fields. If you want a refresher on using databases, please get in touch with us at the library.

For a complete list of all of OSU's History databases, please click here.

For a complete list of all of OSU's databases, please click here.

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 [OSU] This link opens in a new window
African American Newspapers provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states—including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles. Newly digitized, these newspapers published by or for African Americans are browseable and searchable.
America's Historical Newspapers [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Features cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers...
providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. For students and scholars of early America, this unique collection offers an unprecedented look back into the extraordinary history of the United States -- the story of her people, ideals, commerce and everyday life.
America: History and Life [OSU] This link opens in a new window Provides articles abstracts and citations of reviews and dissertations...
Early English Books Online [OSU] This link opens in a new window
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare,
this collection contains over 96,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475 - 1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised edition. Allows for exhaustive research requirements of graduate scholars in the areas of English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, and the fine arts.
Historical Abstracts [OSU] This link opens in a new window A bibliographic database covering the world's scholarly literature in history,
including article abstracts and bibliographical citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1550 to the present.
Historical Statistics of the United States [OSU] This link opens in a new window
This definitive reference work contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information
covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.
Humanities International Complete [OSU] This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database which includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.
International historical statistics [OSU] This link opens in a new window
JSTOR [OSU] This link opens in a new window
JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
State Papers Online [OSU] This link opens in a new window
State Papers Online, 1509-1714 is online resource for the study of Early Modern Britain and Europe. The
collection creates a new backbone for research and teaching in politics, government, social economic and religious history. State Papers Online, 1509-1714 reproduces the original historical manuscripts in facsimile linking each manuscript to its corresponding fully-searchable Calendar entry.

In addition to books and academic journal articles, you'll also be able to use some websites to find information. Below are links to a handful of websites that can help get you started, but there's a lot more out there!

American Historical Association
The World History Association
Ohio History Connection
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format. The cultural institutions participating in DPLA represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from the smallest local history museum to our nation’s largest cultural institutions.

Chicago Manual of Style - Manuscript entries

OSU History Department News Feed

Translate - Traducir - Traduire - 翻译 - Переведите - ترجمه

Last Updated: Apr 8, 2024 5:50 PM
URL: https://osu.libguides.com/historylima
Print Page