Ohio State Lima Geography 2400 Schul Au2020: Home

Contact the Library

Tina Schneider
Professor/Library Director
567-242-7214
schneider.290@osu.edu

Zach Walton
Reference & Instruction Librarian
567-242-7235
walton.485@osu.edu

Lima Campus Library Hours

Monday: 8 AM - 8 PM
Tuesday: 8 AM - 8 PM
Wednesday: 8 AM - 8 PM
Thursday: 8 AM - 8 PM
Friday: 8 AM - 5 PM

Call or e-mail the library
lima-library@osu.edu
567-242-7330

OSU @ Lima Campus Library

There are many more resources available to help you excel on your research projects, and you can reach them from the Lima Campus Library website.

Resources

The primary value of a business plan is to create a written outline that evaluates all aspects of the economic viability of your business venture including a description and analysis of your business prospects.

Creating a business plan will help you achieve your entrepreneurial goals. A clear and compelling business plan provides you with a guide for building successful enterprise focused on achieving your personal and financial goals.  It can also help persuade others, including banks, to invest in what you are creating.

Below are a few resources that will help with creating a business plan:

US Small Business Administration - Write your Business Plan

Franchise Solutions - Franchise Results for Ohio

FranchiseOpportunities.com

Business data:

Bizminer

BizMiner provides industry analysis and market research reports on more than 16,000 lines of business in national and local markets. Types of reports include Industry Financial Profiles, Market Research Reports, Area Demographic Profiles, Business Failure Rate Index, Sole Proprietor/Startup Profit & Loss, and Local Market Vitality Profiles.

 

Mergent Intellect

Mergent Intellect is a web-based application that features a collection of business information that enables companies to generate business intelligence. Coupling Mergent with D&B®'s, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients an opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.

 

NetAdvantage

NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information that offers online access to Standard & Poor's research-related products such as industry surveys, stock reports, corporation records, The Outlook, mutual fund reports and more. Click on "Companies" and then type in the name of your company for more information.

Business articles:

Academic Search Complete: selected articles in full text:

Academic Search Complete is comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

 

Business Source Complete: selected articles in full text:

Contains indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly, peer-reviewed business journals back to 1886. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,200 journals. 

 

EconLIT

EconLIT provides comprehensive information on accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more. EconLit records include abstracts of books, journal articles, and working papers published by the Cambridge University Press.

 

Factiva

Factiva provides global content, including Dow Jones and Reuters Newswires and The Wall Street Journal - unduplicated in a single service elsewhere. It is the only single content solution with multiple language interfaces and multilingual content covering nearly 8,000 sources. 

 

Nexis Uni

Nexis Uni provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. Various portions of the database are updated daily and most information is full text.

 

Small Business Reference Center

Offers full text for consumer small business reference books, as well as tools to address small business topics. It includes business videos, a help and advice section and details on how to create business plans. Also included are state-specific resources, start-up business plans, and industry information.

Citation Help

Links to online citation styles information and help

Primary, Secondary, and Tertiary Sources

This guide will describe the three types of sources and give examples of each so that students will be able to select good sources for course assignments

What is a Credible Source

This guide is created to assist students with knowing how to determine a credible source.

Local banks:

Fifth Third Bank 419-229-3060 https://locations.53.com/oh/lima/225-north-west-street.html 

The Union Bank 419-229-6500 https://www.theubank.com/

Superior Credit Union 419-223-9746 https://www.superiorcu.com/home/home

Huntington Bank 419-225-5030 https://www.huntington.com/Community/branch-info?locationId=201

Citizens National Bank 419-224-0400 https://www.cnbohio.com/

State Bank 419-228-3361 https://www.yourstatebank.com/

Chase Bank 419-221-5000 https://www.chase.com/

First Federal Bank 419-224-2265 https://www.first-fedbanking.com/

Woodforest National Bank 419-224-1714 https://www.woodforest.com/

TopMark Federal Credit Union 419-223-5886 https://www.topmarkfcu.com/

 

Local organizations:

Greater Lima Region 419-222-7706 https://greaterlimaregion.com/

Lima/Allen County Chamber of Commerce 419-222-6045 https://limachamber.com/

Allen County Auditor 419-223-8520 http://allencountyohpropertytax.com/

 

 

Local real estate agencies:

Acheson Realty 419-222-2560 http://achesonrealty.com

Cowan Realtors 419-222-1212 https://cowanrealtors.com

Hartsock Realty 419-222-0447 http://www.hartsockrealty.com/

M J Rupert Realty 419-225-7681 

Oakridge Realty 419-991-2020 https://oakridge-realty.com/

Real Living CCR 419-222-0555 https://www.realliving.com/ccr-realtors

Ron Spencer Real Estate 419-228-8899 https://www.rsre.com/

Superior PLUS Realtors 419-222-3040 https://www.superiorrealtors.com/

Tips for Making Effective PowerPoint Presentations
 

  • Use the slide master feature to create a consistent and simple design template. It is fine to vary the content presentation (i.e., bulleted list, 2-column text, text & image), but be consistent with other elements such as font, colors, and background.
  • Simplify and limit the number of words on each screen. Use key phrases and include only essential information.
  • Limit punctuation and avoid putting words in all capital letters. Empty space on the slide will enhance readability.
  • Use contrasting colors for text and background. Light text on a dark background is best. Patterned backgrounds can reduce readability of text.
  • Avoid the use of flashy transitions such as text fly-ins. These features may seem impressive at first, but are distracting and get old quickly.
  • Overuse of special effects such as animation and sounds may make your presentation “cutesy” and could negatively impact your credibility.
  • Use good quality images that reinforce and complement your message. Ensure that your image maintains its impact and resolution when projected on a larger screen.
  • If you use builds (lines of text appearing each time you click the mouse), have content appear on the screen in a consistent, simple manner; from the top or left is best. Only “build” screens when necessary to make your point because builds can slow your presentation.
  • Limit the number of slides. Presenters who constantly “flip” to the next slide are likely to lose their audience. A good rule of thumb is one slide per minute.
  • Learn to navigate your presentation in a non-linear fashion. PowerPoint allows the presenter to jump ahead or back without having to page through all the interim slides.
  • Know how to and practice moving forward AND backward within your presentation. Audiences often ask to see the previous screen again.
  • If possible, view your slides on the screen you’ll be using for your presentation. Make sure slides are readable from the back row seats. Text and graphical images should be large enough to read, but not so large as to appear “loud.”
  • Have a Plan B in the event of technical difficulties. Remember that transparencies and handouts will not show animation or other special effects.
  • Practice with someone who has never seen your presentation. Ask them for honest feedback about colors, content, and any effects or graphical images you’ve included.
  • Do not read from your slides. The content of your slides is for the audience, not for the presenter.
  • Do not speak to your slides. Many presenters face the direction of their presentation rather than their audience.
  • Do not apologize for anything in your presentation. If you believe something will be hard to read or understand, don’t use it.
  • When possible, run your presentation from a flash drive. 

Fonts

  • Select a single sans-serif fonts such as Arial or Helvetica. Avoid serif fonts such as Times New Roman or Palatino because these fonts are sometimes more difficult to read.
  • Use no font size smaller than 24 point.
  • Use the same font for all your headlines.
  • Select a font for body copy and another for headlines.
  • Use bold and different sizes of those fonts for captions and subheadings.
  • Add a fourth font for page numbers or as a secondary body font for sidebars.
  • Don’t use more than four fonts in any one publication.
  • Clearly label each screen. Use a larger font (35-45 points) or different color for the title.
  • Use larger fonts to indicate importance.
  • Use different colors, sizes and styles (e.g., bold) for impact.
  • Avoid italicized fonts as these are difficult to read quickly.
  • Avoid long sentences.
  • Avoid abbreviations and acronyms.
  • Limit punctuation marks.
  • No more than 6-8 words per line
  • For bullet points, use the 6 x 6 Rule. One thought per line with no more than 6 words per line and no more than 6 lines per slide
  • Use dark text on light background or light text on dark background. However, dark backgrounds sometimes make it difficult for some people to read the text.
  • Do not use all caps except for titles.
  • Put repeating elements (like page numbers) in the same location on each page of a multi-page document.
  •  To test the font, stand six feet from the monitor and see if you can read the slide.

Design and Graphical Images

  • Use design templates.
  • Standardize position, colors, and styles.
  • Include only necessary information.
  • Limit the information to essentials.
  • Content should be self-evident
  • Use colors that contrast and compliment.
  • Too may slides can lose your audience.
  • Keep the background consistent and subtle.
  • Limit the number of transitions used. It is often better to use only one so the audience knows what to expect.
  • Use a single style of dingbat for bullets throughout the page.
  • Use the same graphical rule at the top of all pages in a multi-page document.
  • Use one or two large images rather than several small images.
  • Prioritize images instead of a barrage of images for competing attention.
  • Make images all the same size.
  • Use the same border.
  • Arrange images vertically or horizontally.
  • Use only enough text when using charts or graphical images to explain the chart or graph and clearly label the image.
  • Keep the design clean and uncluttered. Leave empty space around the text and graphical images.
  • Use quality clipart and use it sparingly. A graphical image should relate to and enhance the topic of the slide.
  • Try to use the same style graphical image throughout the presentation (e.g., cartoon, photographs)
  • Limit the number of graphical images on each slide.
  • Repetition of an image reinforces the message. Tie the number of copies of an image to the numbers in your text.
  • Resize, recolor, reverse to turn one image into many. Use duplicates of varying sizes, colors, and orientations to multiply the usefulness of a single clip art image.
  • Make a single image stand out with dramatic contrast. Use color to make a dramatic change to a single copy of your clip art.
  • Check all images on a projection screen before the actual presentation.
  • Avoid flashy images and noisy animation effects unless it relates directly to the slide.

Color

  • Limit the number of colors on a single screen.
  • Bright colors make small objects and thin lines stand out. However, some vibrant colors are difficult to read when projected.
  • Use no more than four colors on one chart.
  • Check all colors on a projection screen before the actual presentation. Colors may project differently than what appears on the monitor.
  • Color combinations to avoid because they are a potential issue for persons with certain types of vision problems:
    • Green & Red
    • Green & Brown
    • Green & Blue
    • Green & Gray
    • Green & Black
    • Light Green & Yellow
    • Blue & Purple
    • Blue & Grey

General Presentation

  • Plan carefully.
  • Do your research.
  • Know your audience.
  • Time your presentation.
  • Speak comfortably and clearly.
  • Check the spelling and grammar.
  • Do not read the presentation. Practice the presentation so you can speak from bullet points. The text should be a cue for the presenter rather than a message for the viewer.
  • Give a brief overview at the start. Then present the information. Finally review important points.
  • It is often more effective to have bulleted points appear one at a time so the audience listens to the presenter rather than reading the screen.
  • Use a wireless mouse or pick up the wired mouse so you can move around as you speak.
  • If sound effects are used, wait until the sound has finished to speak.
  • If the content is complex, print the slides so the audience can take notes.
  • Do not turn your back on the audience. Try to position the monitor so you can speak from it.