Ohio State Lima Social Work: Home
Contact Us
OSU @ Lima Campus Library
There are many more resources available to help you excel on your research projects, and you can reach them from the Lima Campus Library website.
Resources
To find books, you are going to use the library's catalog, below.
The Lima Campus Library (and a great many academic libraries) is organized by a system known as 'Library of Congress'. That means that books or grouped together by subject rather than author, letting you know where you can go to browse and potentially find some interesting books on the topic.
If you want help finding a book in the library, just print out the page from the catalog and bring it to the library. We're here to help!
Listed below are databases that can lead you to articles from scholarly journals in the field of social work and related fields. If you want a refresher on using databases, please get in touch with us at the library.
For a complete list of all of OSU's databases, please click here.
- APA PsycINFO [OSU] This link opens in a new window Provides access to the international literature in psychology and material relevant to psychology
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text [OSU] This link opens in a new windowContains citations from 1982 to present with abstracts to articles published in more than 650 English-language nursing
- Social Work Abstracts [OSU] This link opens in a new window Index to journals on all aspects of social work, including homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, and substance abuse.
- SocINDEX with Full Text [OSU] This link opens in a new window Index, abstracts, and full text for publications in sociology. Includes content from the EBSCO Sociological Collection database.
- Academic Search Complete [OSU] This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection [OSU] This link opens in a new windowA comprehensive database with more than 510 full text titles covering topics such as emotional
In addition to books and academic journal articles, you'll also be able to use some websites to find information. Below are links to a handful of websites that can help get you started, but there's a lot more out there!
- Ohio Department of Health Published Reports Many reports are available for each county in Ohio, and address anything from drug use to oral health to youth risk behavior.
- Ohio QuickFacts from Census.gov You can look for Ohio Census data for counties and towns here. Business and demographic data are all here!
Citing AI in APA
As of December 2024, APA style recommends citing the AI tool company as the author and AI tool as the title, with in-text citations and references adapted from the reference template for software in Section 10.10 of the APA Publication Manual. (Generative AI in APA style)
So what is a peer-reviewed article? Peer-review is a process in which articles written by experts in a field of study are reviewed and critiqued by experts in that field before they are published. This process usually assures any reader of the quality of research. Below are the differences between peer-reviewed articles, and articles that are not peer-reviewed:
Articles that ARE Peer-Reviewed:
- Typically longer than 3 pages
- Written by an expert researcher or researchers
- Contain a list of references
- Use complex language (i.e. methodology)
- Are usually more of interest to other experts than to the general public
Articles that ARE NOT Peer-Reviewed:
- News articles (i.e. Associated Press, Reuters)
- Magazine articles (i.e. People, Time)
- Trade or Professional publications (focusing more on working in a field than research)
There are some great tips and tools that you can use to make sure you’re getting peer-reviewed results:
- Use the “Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed” limiter in a database
- Examine the publishing journal’s official website
- Ulrichsweb, a database with information about periodicals indicates if an item is peer-reviewed
- Never used Ulrichsweb before? Here's a Video Tutorial to show you how to use it!
- When in doubt, ask a librarian or your instructor