LibGuides: Ohio State Lima ENG1110 Wells Au23: Home

Contact Us

April 28-August 22

Online/By appointment

We are available for research consultations and class visits. Please make an appointment to pick up library materials. Thank you!

lima.osu.edu

Student Job Application

OSU @ Lima Campus Library

There are many more resources available to help you excel on your research projects, and you can reach them from the Lima Campus Library website.

Resources

To find more books, you are going to use the library's catalog, below.

The Lima Campus Library (and a great many academic libraries) is organized by a system known as 'Library of Congress'. That means that books or grouped together by subject rather than author, letting you know where you can go to browse and potentially find some interesting books on the topic.

If you want help finding a book in the library, just print out the page from the catalog and bring it to the library. We're here to help!

Listed below are databases that can lead you to articles from scholarly journals in the field of history and related fields. If you want a refresher on using databases, please get in touch with us at the library.

For a complete list of all of OSU's African American and African Studies database, please click here.

For a complete list of all of OSU's databases, please click here.

Academic Search Complete [OSU]
A comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.
APA PsycINFO [OSU]
Provides access to the international literature in psychology and material relevant to psychology
in the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, psychiatry and communications. Includes journals and dissertations from 1967 to the present in one database, and book chapters and books from 1987 to the present in a second database.The databases are in English and the journals covered are in 30 languages from over 45 countries. The databases provide citations, content summaries (for all but the dissertations), and indexing using terms from the Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms. Book records also contain the book's table of contents.
Historical Abstracts [OSU]
A bibliographic database covering the world's scholarly literature in history,
including article abstracts and bibliographical citations of books and dissertations on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1550 to the present.
Humanities International Complete [OSU]
A comprehensive database which includes all data from American Humanities Index plus bibliographic records from a multitude of international journals, books and reference works.
JSTOR [OSU]
JSTOR offers multidisciplinary and discipline-specific collections in the humanities, sciences and social sciences.
The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from 3 and 5 years. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection [OSU]
A comprehensive database with more than 510 full text titles covering topics such as emotional
and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods. A subset of Academic Search Premier.

So what is a peer-reviewed article? Peer-review is a process in which articles written by experts in a field of study are reviewed and critiqued by experts in that field before they are published. This process usually assures any reader of the quality of research. Below are the differences between peer-reviewed articles, and articles that are not peer-reviewed:

Articles that ARE Peer-Reviewed:

Typically longer than 3 pages
Written by an expert researcher or researchers
Contain a list of references
Use complex language (i.e. methodology)
Are usually more of interest to other experts than to the general public

Articles that ARE NOT Peer-Reviewed:

News articles (i.e. Associated Press, Reuters)
Magazine articles (i.e. People, Time)
Trade or Professional publications (focusing more on working in a field than research)

There are some great tips and tools that you can use to make sure you’re getting peer-reviewed results:

Use the “Scholarly/Peer-Reviewed” limiter in a database
Examine the publishing journal’s official website
Ulrichsweb, a database with information about periodicals indicates if an item is peer-reviewed
- Never used Ulrichsweb before? Here's a Video Tutorial to show you how to use it!
When in doubt, ask a librarian or your instructor

Citing Sources

The Online Writing Lab (OWL) at Purdue University houses writing resources and instructional material, and these resources are provided as a free service of the Writing Lab at Purdue. Students, members of the community, and users worldwide will find information to assist with many writing projects.

Purdue OWL MLA Formatting and Style Guide

Translate - Traducir - Traduire - 翻译 - Переведите - ترجمه

Instruction Librarian

Zach Walton

He/Him/His

Email Me

Contact:

Library, Cook Hall
4240 Campus Dr.
Lima, OH 45804

567-242-7235