DAY THREE OBJECTIVE: The goal for Day Three is to learn how to use Zotero in Word to create in-text citations and create a bibliography or reference list from those citations.
INSTRUCTIONS:
1) Watch the brief introduction video below.
2) Complete the tasks: Navigate by using the tabs above (Task One, Two, etc.) Follow the video and written instructions within each tab to complete each task. Tasks are best completed in order -- as they build off one another.
DAY THREE TASK OVERVIEW:
1. Create in-text citations in Word
2. Create a bibliography from your in-text citations
3. Learn how to "fix" a citation
4. Change your citation style in Word
QUESTIONS? email Gwen's email
Video Length: 2min 38sec
TASK ONE: Create in-text citations in Word
Zotero can easily create in-text citations in Word. Using those in-text citations, Zotero can then automatically build a bibliography or reference list. This task will guide you thru creating a few in-text citations which we'll later turn into a sample reference list.
1. Open both Microsoft Word & the Zotero desktop app:
Both programs need to be open for this activity to work properly.
2. Type a sentence into the Word document:
You can type anything you like. For example, "this is in-text citation one." This step is just meant to approximate adding a quote or paraphrase to a document.
3. Add an in-text citation using the Zotero tab:
Place the cursor where you want the citation to go. For example, after the sentence you just typed. Click the Zotero tab, and click then "Add/Edit Citation." Select your Citation style and click OK.
NOTE: You'll have the option to select your citation style the first time you add or edit a citation in a document. Afterwards, you'll need to manually change it (see Task Four today).
NEXT, from the Zotero popup window, select a source to create an in-text citation from.
NOTE: You can choose to add page numbers, suppress the author, or include multiple sources in one citation.
You might find the Classic Add Citation dialog box easier to use than the default search bar when searching for citations to add to the document. See Day One, Task Three (step 3) for instructions (the image below is of the Classic Add Citation box).
4. Repeat step 3 until you have created at least 5-in text citations.
We will use these to create a reference list or bibliography.
TROUBLESHOOTING: If you DO NOT have a Zotero Tab in Word, you will need to reinstall the Word add-in. See Day One, Task Three (step 3) for instructions.
Video Length: 0min 58sec
TASK TWO: Create a bibliography in Word from your in-text citations
Here we'll use the citations we created in TASK ONE to populate a bibliography.
1. Position your cursor:
Within your Word document, position your cursor where you want the bibliography to go.
2. Create your bibliography:
Within Word, click the Zotero tab. Then click Add/Edit Bibliography and Zotero will automatically create your bibliography from the document's in-text citations.
NOTE: Both Word & the Zotero desktop need to be open for this activity to work properly.
Video Length: 1min 54sec
TASK THREE: Learn how to "fix" a citation
What happens if a citation is wrong in Word? If you find any citations in your Word document that need corrected, any needed corrections MUST be made in the Zotero desktop. If you edit a citation in Word, it will revert back to whatever is in Zotero the next time you open your document.
We covered this in Day Two (Task Three: Clean up Imported Citations' Metadata), but we'll review the process in Step 1 below.
1. Edit the citation:
From the Zotero desktop app, click on the citation you want to edit. The citation's editable fields will show in the right pane.
You can now change the citation's "Item Type" and/or manually change any of the displayed fields.
TRANSFORM TEXT. Change your citation's title from title case to sentence case in two clicks. Sentence case is used in APA and many other common citation styles. To "transform text," right click on the title field, hover over "transform text," select "Sentence case."
Title case: The Quick Brown Fox Jumped over the Lazy Dog.
Sentence case: The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog.
2. Refresh your Word document:
After you fix the citation, go back to Word. With the Zotero tab open, click refresh to see your updated changes.
Video Length: 0min 53sec
TASK FOUR: Change your citation style in Word
You can change your citation style in your Word document at any point.
1. Click the Zotero Tab and select "Document Preferences."
Choose your preferred style from the available list. Then click OK.
2. Don't see your style?
If the style you want is not available, click "Manage Styles" -- and then click "Get additional styles..." Zotero has thousands of citation styles to choose from. Click the style you want and Zotero will add it to the Style Manager.
NOTE: You can also add additional styles from within the Zotero Desktop Standalone (Preferences -- Cite -- Styles -- Get additional Styles)
3. Click refresh (if needed).
If your document doesn't update automatically, from the Zotero tab click Refresh.