DAY TWO OBJECTIVE: The goal for Day Two is to learn how to import citations into Zotero and how to organize them.
INSTRUCTIONS:
1) Watch the brief introduction video below.
2) Complete the tasks: Navigate by using the tabs above (Task One, Two, etc.) Follow the video and written instructions within each tab to complete each task. Tasks are best completed in order -- as they build off one another.
DAY TWO TASK OVERVIEW:
1. Create a "Collection" (or folder) within Zotero Desktop
2. Practice Importing citations into a Collection using Web of Science
3. Clean up citation metadata
4. Create a note
QUESTIONS? email Gwen's email
Video Length: 1min 15sec
TASK ONE: Create a collection (folder) in the Zotero desktop
Collections (and sub-collections) are the main tools you'll use to organize your citations. These "collections" work very similarly to folders in Microsoft Office.
1. Open the Zotero desktop.
2. Create a new Collection folder:
In the upper left corner click the "New Collection" button and name the folder "Test" (or whatever you like). When you save a citation to Zotero, the citation will save to whatever collection is open.
NOTE: The Zotero Desktop has three main windows:
Left: Displays your collections and sub-collections. Think of these as your folders.
Center: Displays the citations stored in the selected collection. In this example, these are the citations from a collection titled "Professional Development for Graduate Students."
Right: Contains editable fields for the selected citation. In this case, citation information for the book Writing Your Journal Article in 12 Weeks...
video length 8:42
TASK TWO: Practice Importing citations into Zotero using Web of Science (WOS)
Zotero can easily import citations from different types of sources. Use the steps below to practice saving citations from a database and then finish up by importing a webpage. Import at least 5 citations. We'll use these for Day Three's activities.
LINK TO WEB OF SCIENCE
1. Open Zotero desktop.
Select the folder where you want to save the citation.
Note: When saving citations, Zotero will default to whichever folder is open.
2. Navigate to Web of Science (WOS).
Conduct a simple search, e.g. "maize virus," so you have some citations to practice importing.
3. Save a Single Citation:
From your (WOS) search results, open any article record, and then click the Zotero Connector button located in your browser. The citation will be saved in your open folder.
Note: The Connector will change shape based on the type of item your are saving. In this case, it is shaped like a piece of paper since we're saving an article.
4. Save a Citation + PDF:
Zotero can also save PDFs along with citations when the PDF is available. To try this in Web of Science, follow the OSU "Find It!" button to locate full-text (PDF). Click the Connector. Both the citation and the PDF should save to your open folder.
Note: Some databases include full-text articles, so you won't always need to use the "Find it!" button to navigate to full-text.
6. Save multiple citations at once: In Web of Science and most other databases there are two methods to save multiple citations. Which one works best depends on the database. In Web of Science Method one is more reliable.
Method One: Export multiple citations from the database to a RIS file. Then import the RIS file into Zotero. In WOS look for the Export option at the top of the results list. Choose RIS (other reference software). Set the export options desired and export the files, usually to your download folder.
Next import the files into Zotero. In Zotero choose select File – Import… and navigate to the RIS file you just downloaded. Then import the RIS file into the desired Zotero library folder.
Method Two: From your search results list within Web of Science, click the Zotero Connector button. You should have the option of importing all the citations on your search page. Reminder this method does not work well in WOS
Note: The Connector button changes its appearance based upon what type of citation is available to import. In this case, it should look like a folder.
7. Experiment with collecting citations in Web of Science:
Make sure to capture at least 5 citations to play with for tomorrow's (Day Three) activities when we practice citing in Word.
8. Save a webpage:
Zotero can also capture citation information from regular websites. Navigate to a website of your choosing, and click the Zotero Connector button. Check your Zotero desktop. Did the citation import? How well did it do collecting the citation information?
Video Length: 1min 18sec
TASK THREE: Clean up Imported Citations' Metadata
Zotero is a Garbage In/Garbage Out (GIGO) tool. So if you want to use Zotero to create in-text citations and bibliographies, you need to make sure the information for each citation is correct--and if it isn't, fix it. To clean up your citation's metadata, complete the steps below.
1. Select a citation to edit.
Click on the citation to select it (middle pane). The citation's metadata will be displayed in the right-hand pane.
2. Edit the citation in the right-hand pane.
Change the citation's "Item Type" and/or edit any of the available fields.
TRANSFORM TEXT. Change your citation's title from title case to sentence case in two clicks. Sentence case is used in APA and many other common citation styles. To "transform text," right click on the title field, hover over "transform text," select "Sentence case."
Title case: The Quick Brown Fox Jumped over the Lazy Dog.
Sentence case: The quick brown fox jumped over the lazy dog.
Video Length: 1min 06sec
TASK FOUR: Create a note (for a citation or collection)
With Zotero you can also attach notes to your citations and/or collections AKA folders. In this exercise, you'll create a note for one citation. However, you can also create notes within collections.
1. Open a collection.
Open a collection (AKA folder) that you created earlier today. You open a collection by clicking on it. Collections are organized in the left-hand pane.
2. Select a citation.
In the center pane, the citations in your selected collection should be listed. Select one by clicking on it.
3. Click on the "New Note" icon.
4. Select either "Child note" or "Standalone note."
Child note creates a note at the citation level, and Standalone saves a note at the collection or folder level.
5. Type note in the right-hand pane.
A child note will also show in the center window underneath the citation it is attached to. A standalone note will also appear in the middle-pane but not connected to a single citation.
