Skip to main content

Ohio State Marion: Library: Resources

Library website for Ohio State Marion Faculty, Staff and Students

Resources available at the Marion Campus Library

As part of both the Ohio State University Libraries and OhioLINK libraries system, there are many resources available to students utilizing the Marion Campus Library.  If you have any questions as you browse the catalogs, databases, and helpful tutorials - please ask our friendly staff at the circulation desk for assistance.

Collections

Audio-Visual - located on the first floor near reference, it can be searched in the catalog  or by browsing the collection itself and can be checked out for one week.

Virginia Allen Children's Literature - collection of children's books for Pre-K through Young Adult. Located on the 2nd floor, they can be searched in the catalog and can be checked out for six weeks; three weeks for Courtesy Borrowers.

Music CD's - located next to the audio-visual collection in a filing cabinet. These can be searched in the catalog and can be checked out for one week.

Reference -  a small collection of materials for checking quick facts, dictionaries, almanacs, encyclopedias, etc. Located across from the Circulation desk on the first floor, they are non-circulating. Many other reference-type materials are shelved with the regular collection and can be checked out.

Microfilm - rolls of microfilm for the newspapers New York Times and some years of the Marion Star. Located on the first floor near the microfilm reader, they are non-circulating. 

Wellness- A Marion Campus Library collection of titles designated for more non-academic use by students and intended to help students cope with all aspects of the student college experience.  It is located near the reference collection.

Cite-It-Right- collection of materials for student use when writing papers for course work and features materials for all styles of citations.  It is located across from the circulation desk and is non-circulating.

Searching the local catalog

In the local catalog, each library location will be listed in the location part of a record. For Marion Campus Library listings,  you will be able to find the book in our campus library. If it shows "Available" then it should be on the library shelf. If there are other statuses listed, then you may need to request another copy or check the OhioLINK catalog for copies.

If the item is not at Marion, then you can "Request" the item to be sent. Items requested take 5-8 business days to arrive at your selected pick-up library.

You will enter your first name and last name with a space followed by your University/OSU ID number.

(We recommend that you choose the Marion Campus Library - MAR library option).

 

E-books are books that are electronically available through a link in the catalog book record. Usually you just need to click on the title and then the link and it will open for you to read. If you are unsure about an e-book, please ask library staff to help you with the e-book record. E-books in the local catalog are only accessible in the library using library computers.