LibGuides: Wooster Campus Research Library: Find Articles (Databases)

Articles and Databases

The databases listed below are commonly used for research in agriculture. However, there are many other databases available through the Ohio State University Libraries and OhioLINK. For these resources, see the Databases arranged by subject list, or consult with the Librarian.

Finding full text. Look for the Find It button Find It @ OSU in databases to find out if electronic full text is available. If an article, book chapter, or other resource is not available electronically, you may place a request through the Ohio State University Libraries' Interlibrary Services

Agricola (EBSCO) [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Contains the current file of the AGRICOLA (Agricultural Online Access) database,...
which provides citations to agricultural literature acquired by the National Agricultural Library and cooperating institutions, and subfiles of related subjects, such as food and nutrition, agricultural economics, parasitology, forestry, aquaculture, wildlife, and environmental science supplied by information centers.
CABI (Web of Science) [OSU] This link opens in a new window
CAB Abstracts covers research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, human health, human nutrition, animal health and the management and conservation of natural resources.
Includes CAB Abstracts Archive. Global Health is a public health database that provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety and hygiene, and much more. This database contains more than 1.2 million records dating back to 1973.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) [OSU] This link opens in a new window
The International Food Information Service (IFIS) produces Food Science and Technology Abstracts (FSTA),
which contains over 365,000 references; annual updates add approximately 17,000 references per year. FSTA covers all areas of food science and technology, including basic food science, nutrition, biotechnology, toxicology, packaging, and engineering.
PubMed [OSU] This link opens in a new window
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 15 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1950's
and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Scopus [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Scopus is a citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources with smart tools to track analyze and visualize research.
Tools to sort, refine and quickly identify results help researchers focus on the outcome of their work.
Web of Science [OSU] This link opens in a new window
Indexes almost 6,000 core journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities

Connect to OSU Library Resources via Google Scholar

Set up your Google Scholar "library links" to Find It @ OSU

From the main Google Scholar screen click the hamburger menu in the top left then choose Settings.
Choose Library Links from the left hand navigation.
Enter "Ohio State" in the search box
Choose The Ohio State University Libraries - Find it @ OSU
Save the settings (you must have cookies enabled)
Follow these steps on every browser you use regularly

Search Faster with the Google Scholar Button

Google Scholar Button

How? Highlight text and search Google Scholar directly from your browser.

More information. Visit Google Scholar settings.

Finding the right search terms and phrases is a key part of any successful literature search. Use the following tools to find terms, phrases, and synonyms.

NAL Thesaurus

https://agclass.nal.usda.gov/

CAB Thesaurus

http://www.cabi.org/cabthesaurus/

MeSH - Medical Subject Headings from National Library of Medicine, PubMed users should use this.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/

or the MESH browser

https://meshb.nlm.nih.gov/search